We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is ok... But not the best seafood in Playa del Carmen”
Review of Blue Lobster

Blue Lobster
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Lobster is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #60 of 1,305 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 1a sur y 5ta
Description: In July 1996 Blue lobster opens in Playa del Carmen to become a favorite of locals and tourists to enjoy a delicious lobster, fish and seafood. Built with tropical wood, stone slab, thatched roofs and waterfalls that give an extra relaxation touch. We always try to satisfied and exceed our customers’ expectations. Excellent food, polite waiters and a fantastic view of the fifth Avenue will make you spend an unforgettable night.We have capacity for 130 persons on two levels and an air conditioning area to 22. Blue lobster makes a compromising bet on mexican wine and regional sea dishes that result in a perfect union. They have created perfect unions for their wines’ selection through a very special menu that proposes the perfect combination between their gastronomy and their wines. As three dishes’ menu with different wine suggestions in order to please every palate: reds, whites, roses and foamy wines.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

My husband and I went here for our Christmas dinner, we didn't have reservations but they managed to accomodate us in such a busy night, which was really nice!!! The food is ok, the service is great and the location is fantastic, just where the "action" is in the middle of the 5th avenue, but it is expensive and not the best seafood you can have in Playa del Carmen.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jeanny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relaciones Publ... B, Public Relations Manager at Blue Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

We appreciate your visit to blue lobster,
& We look forward to the opportunity to serve you
and again to suit your taste.

Thank you thank you very much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,356)
There are newer reviews for Blue Lobster
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

576 - 580 of 1,357 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2013

This is the third time we've been to Blue Lobster and, as always the food and service are really good. It's on our list of go-to restaurants in Playa and I would recommend it. I'd suggest making a reservation as it can get pretty busy

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank erinvickers71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relaciones Publ... B, Public Relations Manager at Blue Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

We appreciate your visit and recommendation,
It is an honor for us to know that Blue Lobster is within
of their favorite restaurants in playa del carmen.

Please return soon will be a pleasure to serve you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

great meal good service a little more pricer then others on 5th.if u order lobster be prepared to pay at least 40 dollars per person with drink

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tony m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relaciones Publ... B, Public Relations Manager at Blue Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Thank you very much for your visit and for your comments, hope to see you soon at Blue Lobster.

For the quality of our products sometimes is not easy to maintain the lowest prices, but our quality standards will always be the highest.

Thanks again and we hope to serve you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

On the outside, this place looks like your run-of-the-mill dining spot in Playa. But what sets it apart from many other places to eat in this downtown beach town is it's service.

The wait staff was *extremely* patient with our group of three, as one of us (my buddy Irv) took what seemed to be forever to order his meal. Despite his indecision, our waiter implored us to take our time and not to rush.

Another thing: This place has a sort of an upscale-ness to it. The waiters come and replace your silverware as soon as you're done eating one portion of your meal, or they'll give you extra cloth napkins if they see you've used yours already... Even down to the way the waiters put your utensils on the table, you can definitely notice that there's a level of sophistication in how this place does business.

Oh and yeah...The food was also very good!!

Thank jacobandjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relaciones Publ... B, Public Relations Manager at Blue Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

We very much appreciate your comments and your visit much more, we have been at this location for many years, we have worked hard to make blue lobster an icon in playa del carmen.

Our staff is constantly trained in order to offer a real pleasant experience.

Thank you very much and look forward to your return

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I've been coming to playa and the blue lobster since I was 15 and can honestly say it was great then and great now, nothing has changed! Wonderful atmosphere, incredible prices and the best grilled lobster you will ever have. A must stop while visiting playa del Carmen.

1  Thank MrsFDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relaciones Publ... B, Public Relations Manager at Blue Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

It is an honor for us to know that we have customers who return year after year to Blue Lobster.
You witnessed how Blue Lobster has worked over the years to stay in the taste of our visitors.
Thank you very much for choosing us and hope to see you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Lobster also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Blue Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing