We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Lobster

Blue Lobster
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Lobster is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #57 of 1,217 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Mexican, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 1a sur y 5ta
Description: In July 1996 Blue lobster opens in Playa del Carmen to become a favorite of locals and tourists to enjoy a delicious lobster, fish and seafood. Built with tropical wood, stone slab, thatched roofs and waterfalls that give an extra relaxation touch. We always try to satisfied and exceed our customers’ expectations. Excellent food, polite waiters and a fantastic view of the fifth Avenue will make you spend an unforgettable night.We have capacity for 130 persons on two levels and an air conditioning area to 22. Blue lobster makes a compromising bet on mexican wine and regional sea dishes that result in a perfect union. They have created perfect unions for their wines’ selection through a very special menu that proposes the perfect combination between their gastronomy and their wines. As three dishes’ menu with different wine suggestions in order to please every palate: reds, whites, roses and foamy wines.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Wish we had chosen the "other " place two doors down. Nice decor here didn't makeup for the rest of the meal. Started off with bread basket containing something like a dry biscuit and went downhill from there. Did not have same experience as other TripAdvisors and doubt we will return.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relaciones Publ... B, Public Relations Manager at Blue Lobster, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear CaliSally,

We are very sorry you didn´t like Blue Lobster, we appreciate your feedback to improve.

Best Regards,

Blue Lobster team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    725
    361
    105
    48
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had a craving for good seafood and found this gem of a place. As soon as we arrived we were seated next to the indoor fountain that was very nice. We were given a big board menu at our table, which worked out perfect because hubby forgot his glasses. The seafood feast for 2 was excellent everything was cooked to perfection and the wine was excellent.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hartley67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relaciones Publ... B, Public Relations Manager at Blue Lobster, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear costumer,

We are really happy you enjoyed your time with us! We hope to see you soon in Blue Lobster again!

Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“BEST MEAL OF THE VACATION!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

It was the second last day of our trip and we were having some serious seafood cravings, so we stopped in at Blue Lobster for lunch. Probably the best decision we made! The staff were all very nice, and although the view isn't of the ocean, the décor is really great. We ordered the grilled lobster tail with pasta and it was INCREDIBLE! I will dream about that lobster tail. It was very fresh and didn't have a fishy flavor at all. I ordered the smallest sized tail and it was very filling! The pasta is a linguine with white wine sauce and it is scrumptious. If you are looking for a great meal, check this place out! I will dream about that lobster tail...

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank misslyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relaciones Publ... B, Public Relations Manager at Blue Lobster, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Costumer,

We are really very glad you liked our lobster and that you are dreaming in it! We hope to see you soon in Blue Lobster again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Surf and Turf”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Wow what a great place to dine, the service was outstanding. Best Wine selection we found in Playa. The Steaks and Lobsters were amazing. Fantastic presentation

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank rl5551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relaciones Publ... B, Public Relations Manager at Blue Lobster, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear costumer,

We are very happy you liked our dishes, presentation and wines! We hope to see you again in Blue Lobster soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We ate here last night and had a wonderful dining experience! I had the jumbo shrimp with cilantro rice, husband had lobster risotto and our 7 yr old had jumbo shrimp and fries. It was the first time he'd cleared his plate since we got here! The food was cooked to perfection and the staff were friendly and attentive. What more could u ask for? Oh yeah the price tag was good for what we had too!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ACESTAR76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relaciones Publ... B, Public Relations Manager at Blue Lobster, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear costumer,

We are very glad you enjoyed our food, it's nice to hear all your family had good time with us.

We hope to see you soon again!

Blue Lobster Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Lobster also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Blue Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing