We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not there anymore!”
Review of Ajua Maya - CLOSED

Ajua Maya
Price range: $7 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Fine dining in a casual sophisticated atmosphere with live Latin jazz and salsa every night. Specializing in Flambes at your table, Lobster, Steaks, authentic Mayan and Mexican cuisines, Mestizo recipes and, of course, our fabulous staff and excellent service. Perfect for a romantic dinner or a group event, wedding receptions or rehearsal dinners.
Akumal, Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“not there anymore!”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

it is closed and people say it has been closed since a while.
i don't think they will reopen again,but i dont know.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank viajerodelmundoazul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    9
    2
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tabernacle, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ruined 20th Anniversary”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by the Olympus Tours rep at our hotel ( I also saw other people that were sent by the concierge or travel rep from their hotels). First, we told them that it was our anniversary and that we would like lobster. No problem. We were seated and everything was very slow. We ordered mojitos and when they finally arrived, they were made with tequila instead of rum. We tried telling the waiter but he shrugged it off. After we ordered and ate our appetizers and had ordered our dinner (and a very long wait) we were told that they did not have lobster which was very disappointing and the main reason we came to town to eat. We ordered other entrees and waited some more. In the meantime a very obnoxious foursome was seated next to us. They were loud, arrogant, cursing and horrible. They spoke loudly about a number of offensive subjects and only got louder and gave dirty looks when asked to watch their language. Instead of trying to make them quiet down or ask them to leave, management catered to them and they even gave them better service than we had. Meanwhile, we waited for our dinner that ended up being just OK. My wife had coconut shrimp that ended up being fried shrimp with some coconut sprinkled on top. I had the barbeque that was very spicy (it said mild on the menu) and the chicken was dry.When we complained to management about the people who were seated next to us, they gave a half assed apology and said what could they do, they were sent by a hotel? What does that mean? Anyway, we are posting so that no other travelers get sent here by a concierge and think they are going to a good restaurant only to have as dissapointing night as we did.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank PlayaFun46861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmundston, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Went to Ajua on the recommendation of Isabelle at the resort and was not disappointed. Good waiters, good service and food. Very fun night in Playa del Carmen!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gizmotibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Lively place but probably better places to go for the money”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

A lot of seafood and steak on the menu with a Mayan flair. I would not call this a mexican restaurant if you are looking for tacos and enchiladas. The waiters carry drinks on their heads and the service is wonderful. Fresh tossed caesar salad made right in front of you. Food cooked at your table was enjoyable to watch. Fun atmosphere. The food was decent. Not terribly expensive but wouldn't say it was a value. However, the kids quesadilla was terrible. I tried it and told my child not to eat it. Later that night my tummy had rumblings. Not sure if it was the eggs in the caesar or the ice in the drink but it was the only time in my trip that the food did not agree with me. So many hip and hot restaurants downtown that I wish we would have researched a bit more.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NikShim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We helped to host our daughter's wedding reception at the Ajua Maya. We were so pleased and everything was great. Brenda and her staff were easy to work with in planning the party. Everything was set up beautifully and they even incorporated some decorations we had brought down. The food and service were both excellent. The staff made it a very fun and enjoyable experience. Thanks to Brenda, Jorge and all the staff who helped us make an important day even more memorable.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ajua Maya also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing