We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wanted to love it but missed the mark...”
Review of Ajua Maya - CLOSED

Ajua Maya
Price range: $7 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Fine dining in a casual sophisticated atmosphere with live Latin jazz and salsa every night. Specializing in Flambes at your table, Lobster, Steaks, authentic Mayan and Mexican cuisines, Mestizo recipes and, of course, our fabulous staff and excellent service. Perfect for a romantic dinner or a group event, wedding receptions or rehearsal dinners.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wanted to love it but missed the mark...”
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

We followed the reviews from its former location here and figured we couldn't lose, but unfortunately we felt a little disappointed by this place. The service was EXCELLENT, I will start by saying that. The place was empty, sure, but we were still flanked by what seemed like every server in the joint. I'm not the best Spanish speaker but I read and understand a lot; when I said as much I liked that they continued to speak to me in Spanish and humored my poor replies. Necesito practicar! A single server brought our mineral water and a Mai Tai out stacked on his head - what an awesome touch!

My bf loves appetizers for his meal and got the beef satay and coconut shrimp. The beef was eh. Pretty stringy and without any semblance of a typical peanut sauce which would have been an improvement I think. The rice that came with the shrimp was great. The shrimp itself was good but thickly battered which was unexpected and not as good as other styles we've had.

I ordered the 8oz skirt steak which compared to the rest of the menu was a reasonable $195MX. It was decent but honestly I have had much better skirt steaks in the US. It was passable but nothing special.

We wouldn't return here for what we spent. There are so many other places in Playa where you can eat like a king for under $50 USD. Maybe the empty restaurant was a sign beyond the location as you can feel things drop off somewhere around calle 28 or 30 anyway. We thought it was just the lack of people in the area but based on our experience the food is really not as good as the reviews for the old location said it was.

Helpful?
Thank laurengineered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, Owner at Ajua Maya, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
We are quite sorry you did not receive the quality experience you had anticipated. It is quite rare for us to receive a less than positive review and we take them seriously. I have shared your comments with our chef. We will be making a change in our Beef Satay recipe, to have a more authentic experience and will be using beef tenderloin in the future.

It seems you were with us right before Christmas weekend ... a time of year when most of the upscale restaurants are not busy since high season actually starts around the 23rd each year. Prior to that date, Playa is very quiet and business is more similar to September, the cheapest time of the year to travel to Playa. Couple this "mini-low season after Thanksgiving" with our new location, it would be reasonable to find many tables available on any given night at Playa's upscale restaurants.

I did upload photos of Ajua right after your visit to show we were standing room only for the 24th and the 25th, to ensure those who read your review would be able to put it in context. We had rave reviews these nights from our clients, both for service and for the excellence in our cuisine.

Again we do honestly regret you did not have this experience and invite you to try some of our signature dishes such as Ceasar Salad prepared tableside, flambé filet mignon and lobster, Venison salpicon, and more the next time you are in Playa. Please let me know when you are coming and i will be happy to provide a drink and appetizer free for you so you will try us again.

Sincerely,
Brenda Long Alfaro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    9
    2
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunset Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
90 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“ajua maya - moved to 5th avenue and 38th”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Great restaurant.
Great service.
Loved the flambe choices.
Loved the restaurant!!!
Staff is wonderful.
The owners are also there most nights to greet you and make sure your experience at the restaurant is wonderful.
Try a flambe entree or flambe dessert. You won't be disappointed!!!
Look forward to returning to this restaurant on our next trip back to the area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajua B, Owner at Ajua Maya, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you so much for enjoying our new 5th Avenue restaurant. If you have time, would you be kind enough to write one for Ajua Maya - 5a Avenida, which will become our new TripAdvisor page.

Have a great holiday season and we hope to see you back again soon,
Brenda and Jorge Alfaro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“They moved - new location 5th between 38/40”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Same great food, same great service, new location! Worth the cab ride, drive or walk down!

We thought they simply closed until we took a good look at the old location and found the new address!

Great price for the portions!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BostonTwinzmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajua B, Owner at Ajua Maya, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you so much for enjoying our new 5th Avenue restaurant. If you have time, would you be kind enough to write one for Ajua Maya - 5a Avenida, which will become our new TripAdvisor page.

Have a great holiday season and we hope to see you back again soon,
Brenda and Jorge Alfaro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
48 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“As good as ever at a better location”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

They just moved to 38th
A better location on new 5th away from all the hustle of downtown
Still great food /staff/music
Ez parking right in front
Give them a try- you won't be disappointed

Helpful?
Thank jeevers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajua B, Owner at Ajua Maya, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you so much for enjoying our new 5th Avenue restaurant. If you have time, would you be kind enough to write one for Ajua Maya - 5a Avenida, which will become our new TripAdvisor page.

Have a great holiday season and we hope to see you back again soon,
Brenda and Jorge Alfaro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ajua Maya also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing