We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Mexican Food”
Review of Carboncitos

Carboncitos
Ranked #39 of 1,257 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: ****** We Do Not Accept Credit Cards ******Carboncitos serves authentic Mexican, Mayan, Charcoal Grilled Steaks & Seafood at an attractive price. Be it breakfast, lunch, happy hour, or dinner; it's the consistently delicious meals served that keeps guests returning again and again.
Milan, Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Food”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

My husband and I decided we would try a new place to eat this visit to Playa. We choose Carboncitos and it ended up to be a good choice. Food was very good, service was very good, but they were out of cheese. Can you believe it? Out of cheese? Given that set back everything was delicious! They even serve your drink on their heads, but then you have people trying to copy it and all kinds of water bottles falling on the ground, crazy! We definitely recommend this restaurant as a must visit when in Playa.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PlayaTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Carboncitos, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you Playa Travelers for taking the time to write your review

So sorry about the cheese, we have been going through so much food due to a high turnover and it has been difficult to keep up on the ordering, but stll, this should not have happened, so please accept our apologies

We really appreciate the kind words ,even with the set back & we are delighted that we were able to help create a great dining experience for you & your husband.

Thank you for unserstanding

Playa Travelers, we know there are many restaurants in Playa del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Carboncitos & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Mayan Riviera
Owner
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,555
    560
    146
    50
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hot & Juicy”
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Simply delicious. Much better than the food at our resort, it was nice to have something hot and fresh to eat for once. The tortilla chips are excellent, although it did take awhile to get our appetizers. I had the regional Maya plate and it was sublime.

Helpful?
Thank jr18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Carboncitos, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you Jr for taking the time to write your review

We really appreciate the kind words, we are delighted that you enjoyed your self & had a great dining experience

Glad you enjoyed our regional Mayan dish.... we just added several new Mayan dishes to the menu..

Jr, we know there are many restaurants in Playa del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Carboncitos & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Mayan Riviera


And Please, dont forget....Hotel Cielo & Carboncitos are approaching their "10 YEAR ANNIVERSARY !!! "

Keep checking in on us at Face Book, Hotel Cielo Playa del Carmen or our Hotel Cielo website …. wait until you see what we have in store for YOU !!!

We will be Celebrating the whole Entire Year with specials….it’s gonna be BIG !!!!
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
80 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Awesome service and food!”
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

There were 6 of us so we had to put our name in and wait a half hour but it was definitely worth the wait! The servers were so friendly and entertaining and served drinks on their heads! Most of us had mexican food which we all enjoyed and my husband had the Mayan dish and loved it! Would definitely recommend this place!

Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Carboncitos, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you Amanda for taking the time to write your review

Our apologies about the wait but we are glad you thought it was worth it.

Thank you for mentioning the staff, they are part of our extended family & they are a large part of our success.


Amanda, we know there are many restaurants in Playa del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Carboncitos & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Mayan Riviera


And Please, dont forget....Hotel Cielo & Carboncitos are approaching their "10 YEAR ANNIVERSARY !!! "

Keep checking in on us at Face Book, Hotel Cielo Playa del Carmen or our Hotel Cielo website …. wait until you see what we have in store for YOU !!!

We will be Celebrating the whole Entire Year with specials….it’s gonna be BIG !!!!
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
“Carboncitos has my exuberant recommendation!”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I brought a group of 30 people to have dinner at Carboncitos. Management and staff were incredibly accommodating and super easy to work with. The food and service was impeccable. I am picky (especially with 30 people in tow) and it was a truly perfect experience. I did my research and I am super happy we landed here. Price was totally fair for all the drinks and deliciousness we enjoyed. Each person had a fantastic meal no matter what they ordered on the menu. Thanks Caroboncitos and Hotel Cielo for hosting us! It was a magical night. And thanks TripAdvisor reviewers for guiding me to such a great find. I highly recommend Carboncitos to anyone.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Carboncitos, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you Colleen for taking the time to write your review

We are delighted that you & your group enjoyed your selves & had a great dining experience

Thank you for the recommendations & we really appreciate the kind words

Colleen, we know there are many restaurants in Playa del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Carboncitos & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Mayan Riviera


And Please, dont forget....Hotel Cielo & Carboncitos are approaching their "10 YEAR ANNIVERSARY !!! "
Keep checking in on us at Face Book, Hotel Cielo Playa del Carmen or our Hotel Cielo website …. wait until you see what we have in store for YOU !!!
We will be Celebrating the whole Entire Year with specials….it’s gonna be BIG !!!!
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Consistently fresh and delicious food”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

The seafood was amazing, both its freshness and the many different ways it was prepared. It is a lovely place to sit outside for breakfast in the morning, variety of fresh fruits, pancakes, eggs, etc. In the evening, you can again sit outside or inside, depending on the weather and enjoy delicious Mexican food, fabulous steaks and the fantastic Gulf Coast seafood. Never ate anyplace else because the food was so great.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank scrblb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Carboncitos, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you Scrblb for taking the time to write your review

We are delighted that you enjoyed your self to eat with us every day & as much as we love this , we really encourage you to try some other restaurants here in Playa, they are many good foodie spots, but thank you for loving us so much.

Scrblb, we know there are many restaurants in Playa del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Carboncitos & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Mayan Riviera


And Please, dont forget....Hotel Cielo & Carboncitos are approaching their "10 YEAR ANNIVERSARY !!! "
Keep checking in on us at Face Book, Hotel Cielo Playa del Carmen or our Hotel Cielo website …. wait until you see what we have in store for YOU !!!
We will be Celebrating the whole Entire Year with specials….it’s gonna be BIG !!!!
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carboncitos also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Carboncitos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing