We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place is no joke” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carboncitos

Carboncitos
Ranked #36 of 1,217 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: ****** We Do Not Accept Credit Cards ******Carboncitos serves authentic Mexican, Mayan, Charcoal Grilled Steaks & Seafood at an attractive price. Be it breakfast, lunch, happy hour, or dinner; it's the consistently delicious meals served that keeps guests returning again and again.
Marina del Rey, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This place is no joke”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

L.O.V.E.
Burritos are amazing, big beautiful tasty margaritas, queso fundido w/poblano peppers and chorizo made me so happy, and we were scraping the sizzling skillet of the shrimp appetizer with tortillas. Our waiter (I can't remember his name!) was charming but most importantly well versed on the menu. Keep an eye on the staff...they're little pranksters :)

BRING CASH....they have to take credit card transactions to the hotel and there's a surcharge.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LRinLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Carboncitos, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you LRin LA for taking the time to write your review

LOVE.....now thats what I'm talking about, and we love that you have this love for us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your selves & that we were able to create a great dining experience

Thank you for the kind words

LRin LA, we know there are many restaurants in Playa del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Carboncitos & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Mayan Riviera


And Please, dont forget....Hotel Cielo & Carboncitos are approaching their "10 YEAR ANNIVERSARY !!! "
Keep checking in on us at Face Book, Hotel Cielo Playa del Carmen or our Hotel Cielo website …. wait until you see what we have in store for YOU !!!
We will be Celebrating the whole Entire Year with specials….it’s gonna be BIG !!!!
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,524
    545
    144
    47
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Breakfast was Muy Bueno!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Service was great! Food is excellent! I can't tell you the name of the traditional dish I ordered, started with an "E". It was delicious.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WYSOKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Carboncitos, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you WYSOKC for taking the time to write your review

Well, we are delighted that you enjoyed your breakfast, not sure what you had, for we have a quite a few dishes that start with the letter E, but we are just glad you enjoyed it & we appreciate the kind words

WYSOKC, we know there are many restaurants in Playa del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Carboncitos & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Mayan Riviera


And Please, dont forget....Hotel Cielo & Carboncitos are approaching their "10 YEAR ANNIVERSARY !!! "
Keep checking in on us at Face Book, Hotel Cielo Playa del Carmen or our Hotel Cielo website …. wait until you see what we have in store for YOU !!!
We will be Celebrating the whole Entire Year with specials….it’s gonna be BIG !!!!
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Fabulous spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Their breakfast and lunch was absolutely fabulous and quite filling! And if you order a drink, the server will put on a show carrying it on his head. Totally recommend checking this place out!

Helpful?
Thank Dgibs14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Carboncitos, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you Dgibs for taking the time to write your review

We are delighted that you enjoyed your selves for breakfast and it means a lot to us that you returned for lunch, it really lets us know that we are headed in the right direction.

Thank you for the recommendations & we really appreciate the kind words

Dgibs, we know there are many restaurants in Playa del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Carboncitos & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Mayan Riviera


And Please, dont forget....Hotel Cielo & Carboncitos are approaching their "10 YEAR ANNIVERSARY !!! "
Keep checking in on us at Face Book, Hotel Cielo Playa del Carmen or our Hotel Cielo website …. wait until you see what we have in store for YOU !!!
We will be Celebrating the whole Entire Year with specials….it’s gonna be BIG !!!!
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Never disappointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

This quaint little restaurant in Playa del Carmen will not dissapoint. The food is excellent, mostly Mexican fare. Our favourite is the sizzling shrimp appetizer - brought to your table sizzling hot and spicy. The service is second to none. The waiters are all friendly and entertaining. We would recommend it to anyone visiting Playa.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Carboncitos, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you Diane for taking the time to write your review

Thank you for mentioning the staff, they are part of our extended family & they are a large part of our success.


Thank you for the recommendations


We really appreciate the kind words, we are delighted that you enjoyed your Sizziling Shrimp & had a great dining experience


Diane , we know there are many restaurants in Playa del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Carboncitos & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Mayan Riviera
Owner
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantagh, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ate here EVERY night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

OMG! I knew the food here was terrific from my last trip, but then my mom loves it so much she don't want to go anywhere else. Steak and lobster, steak and lobster, fluffy pancakes and bacon. I love every meal on the menu!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Carboncitos, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you Jennifer for taking the time to write your review

Although we are grateful that you ate with us so many times, you really should venture out, there are many good restaurants here in Playa & we encourage you to do so....but please , dont get me wrong.....we love that you loved us so much. !!!!

In addition, really means a lot to us when guests like your selves return, it lets us know that we are definitely headed in the right direction & thank you for noticing.


Jennifer, we know there are many restaurants in Playa del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Carboncitos & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Mayan Riviera

And Please, dont forget....Hotel Cielo & Carboncitos are approaching their "10 YEAR ANNIVERSARY !!! "

Keep checking in on us at Face Book, Hotel Cielo Playa del Carmen or our Hotel Cielo website …. wait until you see what we have in store for YOU !!!
We will be Celebrating the whole Entire Year with specials….it’s gonna be BIG !!!!

Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carboncitos also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Carboncitos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing