We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a PDC favorite for years now!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carboncitos

Carboncitos
Ranked #36 of 1,217 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: ****** We Do Not Accept Credit Cards ******Carboncitos serves authentic Mexican, Mayan, Charcoal Grilled Steaks & Seafood at an attractive price. Be it breakfast, lunch, happy hour, or dinner; it's the consistently delicious meals served that keeps guests returning again and again.
verde valley
Level Contributor
418 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“a PDC favorite for years now!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

i found this gem of a place 5 years ago when it was in the TA top-10. and i have eaten here every year i have been in PDC, and my favorite restaurant never disappoints!

every page on the menu seems to have several wonderful choices, which is unusual for any restaurant.

the waiters really put on a show for serving drinks, with two margaritas are balanced on the waiters head!

LOVE THIS PLACE!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank arizona-mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Carboncitos, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you Mark for taking the time to write your review

We really appreciate the kind words & we are delighted that we were able to help create a great dining experience for you.


It really means a lot to us when guests like yourselves return, it lets us know we are headed in the right direction & thank you for noticing.



Mark, we know there are many restaurants in Playa, so thank you for choosing Carboncitos & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Mayan Riviera
Owner
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,524
    545
    144
    47
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dix hills
1 review
“Best 5 days ever!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

So much to say about a beautiful, inviting hotel and staff! Was there in May 2013 for a wedding! Amazing rooftop rehearsal dinner with breathtaking views and delicious authentic cuisine from the Carnoncitas Restaurant! Definitely will return with our whole family for a great vacation with many convenient amenities! The shops, beaches and local day trips great for all ages!!! The owners made us feel at home with there hospitality! Very inviting!!! Class act!!! Beautiful decor !!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Phialyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Carboncitos, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you Phialyn for taking the time to write your review

We really appreciate the kind words & we are delighted that we were able to help create a great vacation experience for you.

Thank you for mentioning the staff, they are part of our extended family & they are a large part of our success.

We are delighted that you had a chance to experience our warmth & charm.

Phialyn, we know there are many in Playa, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & Carboncitos, we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Mayan Riviera
Owner
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Springs, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent every time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We have been to Carboncitos many times while visiting Playa del Carmen and are always impressed. The food is outstanding as well as the service. The wait staff is very friendly and accomodating. It's nice knowing there is a restaurant we can count on to always be great each time we visit. I would highly recommend checking this place out at least once. There Maragritas are delicious also!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shawna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Carboncitos, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you Shawna for taking the time to write your review

Well we really appreciate the kind words & we are delighted that we were able to yet again create a great dining experience for you.

It really means a lot to us when guests like your selves return, it lets us know we are headed in the right direction & thank you for noticing.

Shawna, we know there are many restaurants in Playa, so thank you for continuing to choose Carboncitos.
Owner
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“We'll be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

It was a fantastic experience! Everything was excellent, the food, service and the ambiance.
Even the owner came over to make sure we were enjoying ourselves. The staff were friendly
and made a perfect night. Thanks Steve and Carboncitos, we'll see you next time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dinaaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Carboncitos, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you Dinaaz for taking the time to write your review

We are delighted that had a great dining experience & that we were able to create a perfect night for you

Tank you for the kind words, it really means a lot to us

Dinaaz, we know there are many restaurants in Playa, so thank you for choosing Carboncitos.
Owner
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We tried it on a whim and all four of us fell in love! From the wait staff to the food it was amazing. We probably said about 50 times through dinner how great everything was. A must try!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank O M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Carboncitos, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you OM for taking the time to write your review

Well we really appreciate the kind words & we are delighted that we were able to create a great dining experience for you.

Your review really means a lot to us, '"50"" Times......thats enough for me !!! And this really lets us know we are headed in the right direction & thank you for noticing.

OM, we know there are many restaurants in Playa, so thank you for continuing to choose Carboncitos.
Owner
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carboncitos also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Carboncitos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing