We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic eating experience in Playa!”
Review of Carboncitos

Carboncitos
Ranked #49 of 1,435 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: ****** We Do Not Accept Credit Cards ******Carboncitos serves authentic Mexican, Mayan, Charcoal Grilled Steaks & Seafood at an attractive price. Be it breakfast, lunch, happy hour, or dinner; it's the consistently delicious meals served that keeps guests returning again and again.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We hit Carboncitos before noon in early October...and the experience was definitely fulFILLING. WoW! I had the tacos al pastor and my wife enjoyed the shrimp quesadillas. It was very delicious and our waiter was as nice as can be. Skip any queso on the side...not the same creamy consistency I'm used to in Texas. We will definitely visit Carboncitos again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Colton W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Carboncitos, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you Colton for taking the time to write your review

We are delighted that you enjoyed your self & we really appreciate the kind words

Colton, we know there are many restaurants in Playa del Carmen so thank you for choosing Carboncitos.
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,626)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,293 - 1,297 of 2,626 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

My and I ordered the same thing we wanted a shrimp dinner and Carboncitos advertised jumbo shrimp. We are from Wisconsin so Jumbo shrimp there are kind of small. We got JUMBO shrimp. 6 of them each taking at least three bites to consume. Maybe we have petite mouths but I doubt it. The shrimp was great, vegetables were presented in a unique way and were Roasted. we had chips with pumpkin seed dip what a gas it was great. Jorge also brought us a couple of drinks that were complimentary. One balanced on his head and other on finger tips. So much fun.. All of that being said you would expect the dinner to be costly and that was far from true. The meal was $30 US or 360 Pesos. More than worth what we paid. There are a few low ratings and my experience is directly opposite.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fourreel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Carboncitos, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you Fourreel for taking the time to write your review

We are delighted that you enjoyed your selves & had a great dining experience .

We are delighted that you really enjoyed our Jumbo shrimp, they are delicious....one of my favorites.

Fourereel we know there are many restaurants in Playa del Carmen so thank you for choosing Carboncitos.
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We ate here twice! Good quality tasty, delicious Mexican food at good value prices! This hidden gem in PDC deserves to be in top 10 of Trip Advisor and has our full recommendation.

Thank HertsMickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Carboncitos, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you Herts Mickey for taking the time to write your review.

We really appreciate the kind words & we are delighted that you really enjoyed yourselves.

Just the fact that you decided to eat with us yet again lets us know we are headed in the right direction & thank you for the top 10 comment ......in due time.

Herts, we know there are many restaurants in Playa del Carmen so thank you for choosing Carboncitos
Owner
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Really tasty and mixed food with a great staff serving it. Had a Parrilla for 2 and it had meat, shimrps, chicken, pork, pastor, chile poblano, nopales, mushrooms, frijoles charros, rice, guacamole and tortillas. Plus a couple soups where you pour part of the rice in and wow! Try stopping by if you want a nice Mexican dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RaulEstrada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Carboncitos, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you Raul for taking the time to write your review.

We see you traveled a great distance for your vacation & we are proud to be a great partof your journey.

Thank you for the kind words, we really appreciate it & we are delighted that you really enjoyed our Parrila, its one way to cover all the food groups at once...LOL


Raul, we know there are many restaurants in Playa del Carmen so thank you for choosing Carboncitos
Owner
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

After reading all the reviews on here, we had to give this place a try. SO glad we did. The service was outstanding and the food even better. My husband had the tacos al pastor and I had the shrimp quesadillas. The portions were huge and the prices were very inexpensive for all you get. I would definitely recommend and will be returning when we get back to Playa!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nixmomntx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Carboncitos, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you Nixmomntx for taking the time to write your review.

Yummy !!!! Yeah, we like that & thanks for noticing.

We are delighted that you both enjoyed yourselves & that you had a great dining experience.

Nixmomntx, we know there are many restaurants in Playa del Carmen so thank you for choosing Carboncitos & we are looking forward to when you return
Owner
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carboncitos also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Carboncitos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing