We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tacos al Pastor for me, Grouper for my wife.”
Review of Carboncitos

Carboncitos
Ranked #38 of 1,310 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: ****** We Do Not Accept Credit Cards ******Carboncitos serves authentic Mexican, Mayan, Charcoal Grilled Steaks & Seafood at an attractive price. Be it breakfast, lunch, happy hour, or dinner; it's the consistently delicious meals served that keeps guests returning again and again.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We've been coming here for 3 years, and Carboncitos is one of my favorite places to stop and get the tacos al pastor platter and a bucket of cervezas for happy hour, right after coming up from the beach. My wife was burned out on tacos, because that's all I seem to eat, so she ordered the grouper one afternoon. It looked fabulous, and she said it was simply fantastic. We also came here for dinner another night, and I once again got the tacos al pastor, but this time she ordered the lobster. She said to die for! Also, check out their breakfast if you want some great enfrijolados or huevos a la Mexicana. A must stop while you're in Playa del Carmen! And the price and service is just right.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DanChirico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Carboncitos, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you Dan for taking the time to write your review.

It was a pleasure to have met you and your family & we are delighted that you really enjoyed yourselves .

We really appreciate the kind words & the recommendation.

Dan, we know there are many restaurants here in Playa del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Carboncitos & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Mayan Riviera
Owner
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,182 - 1,186 of 2,425 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

We keep coming back this is what Playa del carmen is about......this is real Mexican food and drink in a casual setting.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank noconnor54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Carboncitos, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you Noconnor for taking the time to write your review.

We really appreciate that you enjoy your selves enough to keep coming back & for the kind words.

Noconnor, we know there are many restaurants here in Playa del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Carboncitos & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Mayan Riviera
Owner
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This simply the best mexican food in the world.

Me and my wife been there to have our first meal every time we go in Playa del Carmen.

It been 8 year that we travel to Mexico for a few months and we been to hundreds of places, nothing compare to the Carboncitos.

Now our daugther loves it as much as we do.

The staff and the owner are awesome and will never try to rip you off with the prices, the tip or other classic Mexican tactics.

Every one speak english and smile all the time, you can tell that they love the place even more than we do.

Long life to the Carboncitos.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Nicolas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Carboncitos, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you Nicolas for taking the time to write your review.


We are just delighted that you feel we are the best in the world & you had a great dining experience.

Thank you for the kind words & we really appreciate the fact that you have been our guests for over 8 years, it really means a lot to us.

Nicolas, we know there are many restaurants in Playa del Carmen so thank you for choosing Carboncitos & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Mayan Riviera

Owner
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

i have traveled to over thirty countries and Carboncitos is in my list of favorites. I always love any place that I can feel and experience the passion that the chefs and owners have. I have met the owner and some of the staff and what I found was that the food taste so great as a result of their passion and knowledge of food. I have never had or heard of pumpkin salsa before or after Carboncitos, and its just incredible. The pumpkin salsa is worth the trip.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank harry011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Carboncitos, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you Harry for taking the time to write your review.

We see you have the love for travel & we are delighted that we were able to wet your pallet & impress you with our Famous Pumpkin Salsa.....it is a must if you are in Playa

We are just delighted that you enjoyed your self, you had a great dining experience & thank you for the kind words, we really appreciate it.

Harry we know there are many restaurants in Playa del Carmen so thank you for choosing Carboncitos & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Mayan Riviera

Owner
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Divino el mejor restaurante en el area!
Exellent the food is amazing service is the best drinks are really good!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Valentina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Carboncitos, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you Valentina for taking the time to write your review.


We are just delighted that you enjoyed your self & you had a great dining experience.

Thank you for the kind words, it really means a lot to us.

Valentina, we know there are many restaurants in Playa del Carmen so thank you for choosing Carboncitos & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Mayan Riviera

Owner
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carboncitos also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Carboncitos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing