We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot!”
Review of Carboncitos

Carboncitos
Ranked #36 of 1,279 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: ****** We Do Not Accept Credit Cards ******Carboncitos serves authentic Mexican, Mayan, Charcoal Grilled Steaks & Seafood at an attractive price. Be it breakfast, lunch, happy hour, or dinner; it's the consistently delicious meals served that keeps guests returning again and again.
Dundas, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Spot!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is a great spot to sit outside and enjoy the atmosphere. Each time we go to Playa we eat here. The food is good and the service is terrific. Highly recommend a visit to everyone...you will not be disappointed. We love the chicken and beef fajitas.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank DL M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Carboncitos, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you DLM for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted the you had a great experience & enjoyed our restaurant. Thank you for choosing Carboncitos & we hope to see you when your return to Playa Del Carmen.
Owner
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,580
    571
    147
    50
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munising, Michigan
2 reviews
“Right on tripadvisor!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We recently visited Playa del Carmen for the second time and once again stayed at an All- inclusive resort. We love to venture downtown however. After reading the rave reviews from tripadvisor we had to try Carboncitos. We ended up going twice! Yes, the waiters do carry multiple levels of drinks on their heads and it is awesome. They are very friendly and love to chat with you. The food is outstanding. The manchego cheese and the guacamole are to die for! I had the Poblanito (chicken with poblano peppers, not spicy at all) and it was so good. My husband had the filet minion flambeed at the table into a stroganoff. Oh my!!! Our friends had the Arrachera burritos and said they were wonderful. The waiter, Jorge, was outstanding. I was not feeling good the first night we went, too much sun. He was so attentive. He rushed me bottled water and a mixture of coke and seltzer as well as a bag of ice for the back of my neck, continuing to check and make sure I was okay. The second night we were there he brought us a yummy complimentary after dinner shot and had one with us! You can eat inside or as we prefer outside in the warm evening breezes.GO HERE! It's all I can say, You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarciaL1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Carboncitos, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you Marcia L for taking the time to write your review. We really appreciate the kind words & that you had enjoyed your self on multiple levels. Yes , Jorge & the rest of our staff really care, they will always do their best for you to leave our restaurant Happy !!!

We know there are many restaurants in Playa Del Carmen so we thank you for choosing Carboncitos & we hope to see you when your return to The beautiful Riviera Maya.
Owner
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food... and entertainment!”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Were walking around 5th avenue looking for a place to eat. Carboncitos appealed to us with its charming atmosphere and friendly waiters. We were not disappointed: we were offered a complimentary drink and our food was delicious. As for the entertainment: the waiters would deliver drink orders by balancing them on their heads (sometimes 3 large margaritas at a time!), joking around with the clients and finally cooking elaborate dishes right at your table, like crepe Suzette and Ceasar salad. Well worth the money.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SylvieMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Carboncitos, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you Sylvie for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you decided to stop by & try our restaurant Carboncitos & had a great experience. We hope to see you when you return to the beautiful Riviera Maya.
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“HAVE TO TRY IT!”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Been to Playa a ton of times...and would not miss this restaurant on our return again! Migel the waiter.....AWESOME>>>in fact...ALL of them are... Your margaritas, or drinks of any sort are brought to you balanced upon the HEAD of the waiter...so much fun...such GREAT food...WHAT a menu!!!!!!!! Love the chorizo funidido....the fried cheese...the shrimp dishes are terrific esp the one with the tequila cream sauce...OMG>>>>craving!!!!!!!!!!!!! If you want to feel like you are in Mexico....and want the REAL deal...go there!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gizmo10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Carboncitos, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you Gizmo for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate the kind words & we are delighted that you enjoyed your self. We hope to see you when you return to Playa del Carmen
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great selection-great food & drink”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Based on Tripadvsor reviews, we decided to try Carboncitos and were not disappointed. I had the arrachera burrito with sauce and cream on top. Very good. Guacamole was great as was the blended strawberry margarita. The waiters put on a great show when they deliver your drinks balanced on their head.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carboncitos also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Carboncitos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing