We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for second year in a row!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Palms Condominiums
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Place for second year in a row!”
Reviewed February 6, 2011

Friendly,Clean,Close to Mamitas beach and fifth ave (the quiet end) Close to fabulous restaurants and galleries. Really friendly staff Shout out to Juan and Claudette !Looking forwards to seeing you again this year.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hermistresstika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    7
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
23
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bella Vista, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2011

I loved my stay in Royal Palms Condo. It is so close to everything. Love the pool, the people, the Condo itself was very beautiful. the staff was so friendly and accomodating. They even have a library to check out books to take to the beach.!! All the comforts of home. I felt very safe even at night going anywhere. There are great restaurants and comfortable bars within a block and the Mega-Mart is a short walk away. The Mega-Mart offers anything and everything from food and drink to clothing and toys, fresh fruit and meats. I have stayed in the hotels and this condo was so much better!! I am going back this year. OH!! Yeah!! the Beach is a couple of blocks but so beautiful!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanie_rebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2009

For the third year our family has enjoyed the Royal Palms Condominiums. We have stayed a month in Playa del Carmen each year since 2003 and Royal Palms has given us the best combination of convenience, great service and outstanding accommodations.

In the heart of "la pequena italia" on the northern end of Avenida Quinta (5th Ave.) Royal Palms is with in a few blocks of some of the best restaurants in town. It is a short walk from the Playa Mamitas beach club (and Playa Kool as well). A beautiful quiet courtyard insulates you from the noise and business of Avenida Quinta. I do recommend, especially if you retire early, that you ask for one the units that do not face directly onto the avenue.

Claudette, David and Juan are the management team and a eager to meet our every need while we are here. Extra amenities, like clothes washers and dryers, broadband internet service, bottled water and twice weekly maid service, all of which are included in the basic price make this a real value. Moreover, every apartment is different in configuration; you can find one that meets you particular needs. For instance, we love the very open feel of our loft bedroom in unit #5, but we also enjoy having family and friends visit us for shorter periods while we are here. The solution: unit #5 has a downstairs bedroom with a king sized bed and its own full bath that our family and other guests can use when they are here. It also has a built in desk with an internet connection so that I can use it for an office when we don't have guests.

Come and see.

Alexander Greene
Denver, Colorado

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sangreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2009

6 family members stayed in suite 7. The suite interior was beautifully decorated. The roof top garden, a true delight and the garden pool perfect for cooling off or sitting in the shade reading, dipping, reading, dipping--it is hot in June. We stayed 11 nights and got into the groove of Playa really quick with a massage at Veronica's. The condo is managed by Juan who provided excellent service and great tips for food. The beach is two blocks away, but the view from the Royal Palms to the beach is unobstructed. There was construction going on and 5th Avenue can be quite noisy on certain nights. I'd say if you prefer the quiet side, ask for the suites that face east. Of the 11 days, we ate at La Frigata on 26th and 1st Ave about 8 times--it was so fresh and reasonably priced. Loved this whole trip for my family, even the grouchy one. Definitely, I can see me going back there many times in our future. A very good bargain for amenities at this condo.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank srscientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2008

We stayed at the Royal Palms condos in Playa del Carmen from November 24th to December 8th.

The condo complex is located in the north end of Playa (AKA Little Italy) and is 2 blocks off the beach. It is a great location (Calle 26 and Fifth Avenue which is pedestrian-only) within a couple blocks of the best beach in Playa (Tukan/Coco beaches) and close to both Kool and Mamitas beach clubs, where we went quite a few days. Within easy walking distance to pretty much everywhere you would want to go as a tourist in Playa.

We stayed in Loft 5 for the first three night, which is a 2 BR 2 BA unit with windows facing into the courtyard- fairly quiet at night. We loved this unit, very cozy and peaceful with the water fountain next to the sunken living room tinkling away all day. The master bedroom is huge and airy and the ensuite bathroom has a washer/dryer and tub/shower. Both bedrooms have king beds and there are privacy blinds on all windows. The kitchen had everything you would desire including a blender and coffee maker, and drinking water and Microdyne for purifying veg and fruit is supplied in all kitchens.

We moved to Suite 8 after the first three nights; it was being renovated/redecorated and it was gorgeous. HUGE, with a big granite topped island and fridge with an icemaker in the completely supplied full kitchen, bar with wine fridge, large dining table. Satellite TV/DVD player in main living area and a TV with DVD in the master bedroom. Also 2 BR and 2 BA, and both beds are kings. Double sink in master ensuite with a jetted tub and a large walk-on shower with rain showerhead. The unit also has a private rooftop patio with eating area, large area with built-in cushioned seating and three lounge chairs, and a hot tub (the water is not heated but the jets work- great for cooling off as that rooftop gets HOT). Three of the other units also have private roof patios. There was also a large balcony linking both bedrooms that overlooked Fifth.

The only negatives about the place I would mention (and they are not necessarily negatives) are the noise from the 'Fe' bar (Iron bar??) across the street from our bedroom windows in Suite 8. This music and yelling/partying noise tended to keep us awake until the wee hours of the morning, so in self defense we just started drinking more. *wink*
It really wasn't much of a hardship, and after a couple of nights we did get more used to it- and I am a very light sleeper.

The other thing is the lack of a pool. I do like to have a pool on vacation and this complex just has a courtyard meandering pool which is shallow and pretty small. You could still use it as a plunge/soaking pool, but we never saw anyone in it- in December it maybe wasn't hot enough either as the area is all shaded. It is very pretty though.

It is very secure with a locking gate and a night guard- and the managers Claudette and Dave and Juan are all very helpful and friendly. In fact, everyone we met there was great -one of the condo residents even offered us a ride to the airport the day we were leaving but we had already bought our bus tickets so we declined.

PM me if you have more questions.

Maggie

  • Liked — the huge unit and rooftop patio, and the great location in north-end Fifth.
  • Disliked — The noise level at night.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Rissask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2008

I have stayed in Suite 9 twice and everytime it has been wonderful. I was there in July for my bday, and had a blast - The staff at Royal Palms is wonderful, the location of the condo can NOT BE BEAT. right off 5th and seconds from KOOL beach club and Mamitas...I will hopefully be able to go back many times to the Royal Palms and suite 9

  • Liked — The condo itself is beautiful and the location
  • Disliked — i cant think of one thing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank eep789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2008

We stayed at the Royal Palms Condominiums in PDC, suite 9 for 8 days through April 4th. Overall, we were very happy with our stay there. It was difficult to find reviews before we traveled, so here are the pros and cons for anyone considering a stay. They do ask for a wire transfer to Canada of the rental fee ahead of time, which may seem risky, however we had a similar situation for a condo in Hawaii, which worked out fine for us, so we went ahead with it. Since our bank charged a $40 fee for a wire, we asked and were able to send a check to the bank ahead of time.

There are only about a dozen units in the complex. There is a beautiful small courtyard in the middle with tall palms and a very small swimming area, good for kids, too small for adults. Suite 9 is on the between the 1st and top levels. It has very nice modern furnishings with everything you might need: air conditioner (necessary at least during the day), washer/dryer (with detergent), refrigerator, stove, bottled water, filtered ice, king-sized bed (see pictures).

The location in Playa is really great – you are on the north end of 5th avenue on 26th st. called “Little Italy” due to the Italian visitors and restaurants in the area. 5th avenue is the main drag and most of it is blocked off for pedestrian traffic. You are within walking distance of almost everything. We never took a taxi in the time that we were there. However, you are far enough from the busiest part of Playa where more of the traffic is and the cruise ship passengers come in, around 6th or 10th.

Now for the downside: there is construction going on in the attached building that starts after 7am and ends around 5pm. Saturday it ends early and Sunday, well, sleep in on Sunday! Although not constant, it was not uncommon to hear a hammer, jackhammer or drill going throughout the day. We joked that there was one guy with a hammer on the other side of the wall that knew just when we needed a nap. The construction is slower than in the states and I doubt it will be completed anytime soon. There are several projects going on in adjacent buildings, as well. There is a lot of construction in various stages around Playa, so I would think this is a potential risk wherever you stay.

You do have a small private patio with a view of a gravel lot. Not much to look at, but serviceable. The managers are friendly and available for any issues you might have with your unit. You’d be best scheduling your own tours, etc. on your own, although Juan was very helpful and did make phone calls to inquire about an evening catamaran for us (they were booked). Make sure to check out the restaurant reviews that are left for you – one of the managers is a “foodie” and leaves a detailed review of many PDC restaurants that we found very accurate and carried with us regularly. We never had a bad meal and there are plenty of restaurants to choose from.

Although the construction noise was frustrating, we would definitely stay here again because it is a great value for the money (4 out of 5 stars) and a great location.

A few favorites stops: La Cueva del Chango for breakfast, El Fogon on 30th Ave for a local low cost dinner of tacos el pastor (pork tacos) and Deseo rooftop bar for drinks. We found the best mojitos at Club Havana, 100% Natural, or Tequila Barrel.

  • Liked — great location, very nice condo
  • Disliked — construction noise
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank khot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.8 mi away
Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel
Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel
#166 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
375 reviews
0.6 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#14 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
613 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach C...
#27 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#35 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,337 reviews
0.5 mi away
Suites Corazon
Suites Corazon
#1 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
280 reviews
0.5 mi away
Playa Palms Beach Hotel
Playa Palms Beach Hotel
#4 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Condominiums

Property: Royal Palms Condominiums
Address: 26th Street And 5th Avenue, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 201 Specialty Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Palms Condominiums 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Palms features our high-end, luxury collection of private homes for rent.The Royal Palms is a boutique collection of 10 private condo homes, each offering a vast and unique array of amenities and serviced by Playa del Carmen's leading vacation condo rental company, BRIC Vacation Rentals. The Royal Palms offers 1, 2 and 3 bedroom homes, available for weekly and daily rentals with the benefits of hotel like service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Royal Palms Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Condominiums Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Palms Condominiums Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing