We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food!”
Review of Yaxche Maya Cuisine - CLOSED

Yaxche Maya Cuisine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Mexican, Latin, Central American, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Yaxche (pronounced jag-shey) Maya cuisine restaurant is located in Playa del Carmen, Mexico. We serve the Maya culinary art in a unique style. Dining at Yaxche will be a quest into the Mayan World where you will find the flavors of the region in a unique environment that combines both ancient and cosmopolitan elements..
Nyon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food!”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Came as a family and we truly enjoyed our food!Fish cooked for the adults and fajitas for the kids.more authentic than some other restaurants. I think its a must stop!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KG_pofok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    791
    370
    174
    80
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best find”
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

I'm so glad partner decided to seek Mayan food. Touristy Mexican places are all over on 5th and why choose one over any other? Mayan however helped make our trip memorable.

Nice decor inside and attentive staff. The Rosa Maya drink is delicious. After they brought the four dishes of salsa and chips (complimentary) we already knew we'd be back for a second visit. Flavorful, fresh food, NOT your standard Mexican fare that can be found in the US. And multiple options for vegetarians!

Appetizer would have been enough food for both of us as a lunch, but we also got the fajitas. Still stuffed hours later but going to make room as we want to try the Mayan Brownie!

I'd call this place a must visit in taking in the benefits that being here offers. Attentive staff, delicious food, nice atmosphere. Pretty presentation and price not bad. $27 for alcoholic drink, appetizer, and entree.

Helpful?
Thank Mel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

The couple we were with had gone fishing the day before. They brought their catch in, and the kitchen prepared the fish several different ways. The ceviche was some of the best I've even had. So was fish marinated in axiote and the delicious garlic butter fish. Pretty much everything they brought to the table was mouth-watering. (the fish, a few other ways, and the sides)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank alexander_k_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“LOVED YAXCHE!”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Loved the atmosphere! Great enjoy and indulge at a beautiful, authentic restaurant while being in the midst of the energy in downtown Playa. The food was amazing, the coconut shrimp dish was AMAZING! The lobster was great too.

Very interesting menu and a lot to choose from. The appetizer platter was a great sampling of all their most popular apps.

I loved the jungle like music they played while you dined, as well as the jungle décor.. pretty lanterns and big flowering plants really sets the mood for dining in Mexico!

Would definitely go back.. loved it, great way to end our trip.

Roberto and Ricardo were very funny. Both brothers working at Yaxche. Roberto waited on us and was a great server, very attentive and gave us details on the menu.

Great experience!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Britt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

One of the best restaurants with typical Mexican food. The service is outstanding and the plates are delicious! The coconut king prawns are worth trying.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lonrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yaxche Maya Cuisine also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing