We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A traditional Mayan cuisine restaurant.”
Review of Yaxche Maya Cuisine - CLOSED

Yaxche Maya Cuisine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Yaxche (pronounced jag-shey) Maya cuisine restaurant is located in Playa del Carmen, Mexico. We serve the Maya culinary art in a unique style. Dining at Yaxche will be a quest into the Mayan World where you will find the flavors of the region in a unique environment that combines both ancient and cosmopolitan elements..
lookout mountain,tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A traditional Mayan cuisine restaurant.”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

It was delicious! Our family of 4 wanted a special dinner to end our trip. This restaurant was pricier than most, but the food and service made it worth it. We spent 200.00 dollars for 4 with appetizers, wine, wonderful meal and tip. We had incredible seafood here.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    791
    370
    174
    80
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“lovely and different”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

excellent service and food and great value for money (2 courses for about £40 in our case). different food from the usual Mexican dishes

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rianneandalex91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fabulous shrimp”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

On the recommendation of our condo representative we decided to have dinner at Yaxche which specializes in Mayan cuisine.

I ordered the Chac Mool Shrimps (a little spicy - just the way I like it) and I must say it was the best shrimp that I've ever eaten. The shrimp were covered with some very tasty tangerine sauce. Wonderful nutty black rice, sautéed vegetables and corn finished the dish.

It is a beautiful restaurant right on 5th Avenue. The wait staff is very friendly and did not tire of our numerous questions.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rowing_Queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Very friendly staff and brilliant flavors. We knew nothing about Mayan cuisine, and the staff took time to explain different entrees as well as give us small samples of some items. We had a marvelous time and were not disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank charcoll99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Mayan cuisine”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My favorite place to eat in Playa Del Carmen.
Try a Chayanade with a shot of vodka
Order a sampler platter

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yaxche Maya Cuisine also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing