We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Authentic Mayan Cuisine”
Review of Yaxche Maya Cuisine - CLOSED

Yaxche Maya Cuisine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Yaxche (pronounced jag-shey) Maya cuisine restaurant is located in Playa del Carmen, Mexico. We serve the Maya culinary art in a unique style. Dining at Yaxche will be a quest into the Mayan World where you will find the flavors of the region in a unique environment that combines both ancient and cosmopolitan elements..
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Authentic Mayan Cuisine”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

There are so many restaurants in Playa Del Carmen but we were looking for some good Mayan food for our last night. Our hotel recommended this restaurant and it fit all of our criteria. The menu is very large and so took a while to chose but the waiter was really helpful in helping us pick a variety of dishes. I would recommend booking as it was very busy while we were there. Definitely try the Mayan Margarita (made with Chaya and chilli) - it packs a fair punch!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank londontraveller678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    791
    369
    174
    80
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Don't Worry It's Still Good”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I was last at Yaxche three years ago when it was in the other location. I was a little concerned reading the recent reviews because this was the only restaurant I remembered in Playa from my previous trip. That's how good it was. But fans shouldn't fear. Yes, the new location feels a bit more commercial but the food is just as good as before.

You really can't go wrong with most of the dishes. The combination of flavors is what keeps bringing me back. I sat at a table right ON 5th Avenue which made for great people watching (including those who stopped to peruse the menu before walking on.)

The staff was great- from the hostess to the waiters, who spoke great English. The waiters also were good at recommending dishes.

I didn't have a reservation but went early enough in the evening that I didn't need one. Yaxche is more upscale than many of the other restaurants in town (and the prices are too) but for me, it was worth it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoGirl2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“New incarnation, still good”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The food and atmosphere were good. Our table was upstairs, overlooking 5th avenue, excellent people watching. We had been to Yaxche previously, when they were located on a side street and had a stunning courtyard dining/garden area. Enjoyed both locations

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank slengler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Authentic and contemporary”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

From our welcoming margarita made with local ingredients to the dessert, everything at Yaxche was delicious and uinusual. It's hard to imagine ancient Mayans eating this way, but I am certain they did use all the ingredients. There were choices galore including some scrumptious vegetarian dishes. The service was impeccable. We sat outside and watch the steady stream of tourists pass us by and we enjoyed a long leisurely lunch that left us too full for dinner.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Authentic”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This restaurant is a dining experience not to be missed. Fantastic drinks and cochinita pibil that melts in your mouth...first class. Friendly and professional service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank solchica1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yaxche Maya Cuisine also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing