We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must stop when we are in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pez Vela

Pez Vela
Ranked #164 of 1,234 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Cuisines: Mexican, Bar, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Warba, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A must stop when we are in town”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I love this place and have been stopping in for the Lime Soup since I was a teenager vacationing with my family!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sara l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preciado2013, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Pez Vela, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thanks for your comment!
I will let our chef to know tha tyou love his lime soup!
is great to see that we are part of our customers / friends regular vacation stop on 5th avenue.



José Preciado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    158
    56
    26
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just a Swinging!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Had a great time with my friends from Oslo, Switzerland. It is a swing seated bar and resturant on 5th Ave in Playa. Has a great view of 5th Ave and the food and drinks are very good. I lot of people I have met there over the last few years always say this is there first stop when they get back to Playa. Will back back there in November 2014!!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank takingcare0fbusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preciado2013, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Pez Vela, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thanks for your visit to our swing bar! we are pleased that your visit was a success and we are looking forward to see you back in november, (make sure you live a bill with your name on in one of the palapa posts so we could remember you every time we look at them!!!)





José Preciado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Meh drinks”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stopped here for a drink mostly because of the swings (they are not very comfortable but still fun). I would not recommend it here. The juice is not fresh here which is unusual for the area and the pina colada ordered was really quite bad. We barely got through half.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank f44444444f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preciado2013, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Pez Vela, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear f44444444f:
thanks for your comment we were able to find out about the taste of our Margaritas we put hands in to it and talked to the bartenders... Now we are please to announce you that the taste is great and if you come back you must try our newones with amaretto.
Thanks to commens as yours we are improoving day after day.
We are looking forward to see you in a near future.


José Preciado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Swinging Good Time”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Pez Vela offers a swing seated bar in a great location. The food was delicious and the drink specials provided an extra good time! The staff is super friendly and engaging however if they ask to take your picture it will most likely end up on a personalized tequila bottle. It is a great souvenir to take home but costs an additional $20 dollars. Frequented this restaurant a few times will in La Playa and each experience was great!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank L2TOwens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preciado2013, Public Relations Manager at Pez Vela, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
L2TOwens: We are Please that your visit was memorable for you. we are looking forward to see you in a near future on your next visit to Playa Del Carmen, we are trying to improve day after day to offer you an exellent service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, Belize
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“stuffed!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Really good food for the price, we all were satisfied with our food and full too wich is surprising because some restaurants have expensive plates and there isnt much food on the plate when u receive it. The restaurant it self has pool table for those of u that like shooting pool, made the wait for the food not seem long at all and it was a pretty full house.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jody L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preciado2013, Public Relations Manager at Pez Vela, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Jody: we are please to see that your visit was a success thanks for you comment and qualification, we are looking forward to see you in a near future to please you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pez Vela also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Pez Vela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing