We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of our best meals” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Byblos

Byblos
Ranked #68 of 1,217 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Follow us on Facebook: Byblos Playa d. Carmen-The French Restaurant
Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of our best meals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

We ended up here late afternoon, after fellow residents at our resort recommended it. They did not steer us wrong. The escargot was the best ever, even asked for more bread to soak up the butter sauce. The prices are very reasonable. We are at the grand mayan, with only a few dinner options, and even with the $45-50 round trip cab fare, this is the same, if not less. The mega resorts are no longer my cup of tea because they prevent exploring and finding a gem like this.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    43
    8
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pound Ridge, New York
2 reviews
“Wow...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

The owner/chef Sylvie and her husband Christian welcomed us in, and we were immediately charmed by the warm vibe in the dining room. After looking at the menu and getting some recommendations on food and wine from the chef herself, we had high expectations for the food - and they were totally blown away. We ordered appetizers, main courses and desserts, and everyone in our party (there were 5 of us) was melting with total bliss. Everything tasted so fresh and flavorful, going back to the food at my resort (despite it being a 5-star all inclusive) felt like a total bummer. If only Sylvie was the chef there!

From the warmth of the owners to the ultra-attentive staff, this place is a hidden gem in Playa. Parking really isn't that hard to find if you drive around the block, but worst case you walk a few blocks from your car. Parking is tough no matter where you are in Playa del Carmen, that's hardly any fault of Byblos. I haven't had a meal this good in a really, really long time, including at the Ritz Carlton restaurant in Madrid, which was excellent, but still just not on the same level. I forgot food could be this rich. Byblos is a must-visit, even if you're all the way up in Cancun. DEFINITELY make reservations. You'll be blown away. Perfect for couples. After all, it's owned by a husband and wife!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Wonderful Escape From AI Resort Meals!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

My wife and I have been staying at a nearby resort and eating "gourmet" meals from an all-inclusive package. The meals have not been gourmet and we needed to have a great meal. We first went to Oh Lala but they had no reservations available. The kind man at the restaurant recommended Byblos and it was excellent. Sylvie and her husband are great hosts and we could tell they know quality ingredients and how to use them. We highly encourage people who are looking for good food in a romantic setting with thoughtful and caring owners to try Byblos.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BrianEmily2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
63 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Classic French cuisine returns”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

The best French restaurant here; pates, foie gras, kidney, lamb, rabbit, seafood, and much more. Excellent wines, cooled if desired and then decanted. The service was perfect. Not every time has been perfect; but, I have seldom had a better meal in Playa. They have a low priced menu from 3:00 to 7:30.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Xcalacoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An oase in busy playa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

If you want something else than the crowded 5th avenue, this is the place to be! Very nice atmosphere, excellent service and great food and wines. It was our best in playa!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Byblos also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Byblos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing