We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thumbs Up to Luna Encantada Unit C 3”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Luna Encantada Vacation Condos
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Thumbs Up to Luna Encantada Unit C 3”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Only 3 days into a 7 day stay and we are extremely pleased. This is a resort town folks and it is next to a jumping bar. Don't rent if you cannot shut out the noise. Very minimal annoyance once you add in the great location, the beach, the unit itself and the wonderful staff. Have done all-inclusives in Cancun, Puerto Vallerta and Playa for years and we cam back here after last year in unit B 3. Roof top patios are fantastic and Adine on the beach is as good as ever. Will probably come back again. SO much more quiet than Cancun and the food in this town off the beaten path is awesome...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IowaPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    46
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
102
42
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shoreview, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We travelled with another couple in february for a week. THe 2 BR unit is very nice with a great ktichen, marble countertops, nice bathrooms, a terrific wrap around deck. Its about 50ft out the back toa great beach with soft white sands and chairs and drinks that can be provided for a fee. We loved the wrap around balcony as its the front unit. THe beach below seems a favorite and is great for people watching while having a cokctail or morning coffee. The front of the complex of about 24 units sits right on 5th ave. There are many great bars and restaurants within a few blocks. We loved Mediteraneo and Romanos and 100% neatural for breakfast. The entrie area feels very safe walking about at night and is a crwoded promenade full of bar and restaurant patrons, souvenir shoppers, etc. Theres a lovele infinity pool at the complex. A bit small and overrun with kids while we were there but very nice. Its a 5 min walk to the pier that has ferries to Cozymel.
A few glitches marred our stay. A couple of times there was a faint sewer smell. Not often but still not nice. The air conditioning in the rooms would only cool to 24 degrees. Not uncomfortable but I wonder if it gets hotter out if its a problem. The maintenance staff were grouchy when I discussed the air conditioning and when I brought a burned out light asking them to fix it. They did claim to put more gas in the A/C which seemed to help but the next day the water went out completely. They brought up a portable water pump truck that got it flowing. The next day we noted water leaking from the guest bath ceiling and had repair men in and out all day working on it. Also, for a while they were grinding and painting the railings next door which was a bit annoying at about 5pm during cocktails on the deck. THe restaurant Fusion next door has god food and drinks but is fairly loud unitl about 10pm so keeping the doors open for the ocean breeze doesn't work until late at night or morning All in all, a great trip and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: D1 and C1are ocean front and great spots but just a bit above the ground. C2, D2 are great spots. On...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

This is our 4th trip to Luna Encantada and have enjoyed everyone of them. The units are spacious and fairly well maintained. We've travelled here with families and then with couples and think these condos fit the bill. Visit the nearby Walmart to find all of your basic supplies (rum, beer and food) and the visit the many restaurants in PDC for dinner. Adine (who works with the neighbouring Fusion bar) happily attends to your beverage and food needs on the beach in front of the condo and even harvests the coconut tree beside you for fresh coconut milk drinks. Adine's wife Monica will also come to your condo unit to give massages.
The units themselves are all in pretty decent shape. You've got to be tolerant of accomodations right on the ocean - high humidity and salt are tends to erode and weather some of the outside furniture, but hey....you've got a great view of the ocean so quit your whining....you could be back in Calgary during the winter!!! Rule #1 on vacation - go with the flow!

Room Tip: Rooms on top level have access to each their own penthouse deck, complete with hammock. Units are 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Il
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

The review concerns only unit B2. Overall - it was a good flat. Second floor condo very spacious 3 bedroom 2 baths. Clean and fairly modern with a great view of the ocean. Granite counter tops in the kitchen and nice fixtures in the bedrooms. The bad stuff - we were there over the holiday and the festivities were still on going. We had a problem with people constantly ringing our door bell until 330am one morning and a party above us continued until we finally had the policia pay them a visit. Basically late night security was non existent until we brought it up with management. Problem solved the next night - but I should not have to be the expeditor for services. Also - the pots, pans, and silverware are VERY old and slightly less than just functioning. The faucet fixtures in both bathrooms and the kitchen need repair - everything is loose or starting to fall apart. I've been coming to Playa for over 20 years. You are not going to find the deals that you could find back then - but when you are paying for higher end amenities - about $1400 pesos in new pots & pans and silverware every 6 months would be needed to demand these prices. The good - the location is perfect and the place is very clean. The staff are very accommodating when asked for assistance. It is one of the nicest condo's in Playa - and as long as the faucets are fixed and the silverware/pots/pans replaced - I would return.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viator1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2011

We recently stayed in unit C3 at Luna Encantada and had a wonderful experience. The rooms are spacious and very clean. You can't beat the view of the carribean ocean from the patio. It was a condo hotel room with a very nice kitchen, three bedrooms and two baths. It also has a great sun deck as well. Luna Encantada is located downtown playa, so you are within walking distances from everything.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Damon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, IL
Level 6 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

My husband and I just returned on Saturday from staying 8 nights at Luna Encantada. We were in unit G3. The condo itself was really nice. It was a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom penthouse condo with a private roof top terrace. Their were amazing oceanviews from pretty much the whole condo excluding the guest bedroom suite. The balcony was very good size and the roof top terrace was huge. It was really way more space than we needed being just the two of us but it was nice to have the room to spread out since we were there for so long. Also it was wonderful having a washer/dryer right their in our condo for our own private use. I brought home all clean clothes and was able to just put them away and not have to do a ton of laundry. That was really nice!

We had cleaning service every other day and the place has 24 hour security which was very nice. I have to mention Adin who takes care of the beach at this complex. He did such a great job of taking care of us during our stay. He sets up all the beach chairs and umbrellas and will go and get you drinks and food at the neighboring hotel/restaurant fusion since Luna does not have a restaurant on site. He works very hard so please tip him well!

When we arrived at the unit we noticed the master bedroom closet ceiling was leaking. We informed our the management company and they said they would have someone fix it. I think it must just be an ongoing problem from reading the guest book that was in the condo, it seemed to be mentioned alot. If I had to make a few suggestions to the owners of this unit it would be to add an outdoor table and chairs on the balcony. Every other unit but this one had one. Also the roof top terrace could really use some sprucing up. The furiniture is old and tired looking. A table and chairs to eat on would be nice to have up there too.

Overall I would say Luna Encantada is a great place to stay for those who are looking for a nice condo with great views right on the beach. The location is great, within walking distance to everything you would ever need!

A few things I would suggest to those traveling to this area, go to Akumal, take the collecitvo, dirt cheap way to travel and it is just beautiful there! Also make sure you go to Carbonicitos to eat it is located on calle 4 just off 5th ave. Very good food!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mkk79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Great place to get away for a weekend or a week. Wonderful spacious condos with great ocean views we always stay at Luna when we visit Playa.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank layla j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#4 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Playa Maya
Playa Maya
#102 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
656 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#35 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,357 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mimi del Mar
Hotel Mimi del Mar
#135 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
162 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#43 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Encantada Vacation Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Encantada Vacation Condos

Property: Luna Encantada Vacation Condos
Address: Calle 6 | Between Av 5a y ZFM, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 204 Specialty Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luna Encantada Vacation Condos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
24 luxury condos ideally located on the beach in the charming and bustling village of Playa del Carmen. Walk to everything from your vacation home by the sea. You'll make this vacation again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Luna Encantada Vacation Condos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Encantada Vacation Condos Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Luna Encantada Vacation Condos Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing