We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, worth the price.”
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casa Ticul
Ranked #79 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay, worth the price.”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Me and my wife started our trip in playa del carmen. We came to Casa Ticul regard to the good recomendation we have seen at tripadvisor. We were not disspointing t all, vice versa, it was realy nice and clean rooms. The stuff smiling to you all the time. The location is great and room cleaning as well. One point that wasn't good enough is the breakfast, it's realy poor. Except of this it's a very recomended hotel to stay. We stayed for 5 nights, w'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gal Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoyo68, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thanks for the comment!
Our breakfast is quite famous for the guests taste the true flavor of a traditional Mexican breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    212
    50
    16
    8
See reviews for
52
544
66
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Barbara at the front desk was particularly helpful and friendly with many great restaurant suggestions. She is great!

Our room was comfortable and modern. The shower was nice with a big overhead rain showerhead. The bathroom also had a small window which I like as it makes it less stuffy.

The best thing about this hotel is how great it smells. I know that sounds weird, but a lot of hotel rooms in the area seem to reek of chemical cleaners. This place smelled great (though very strongly) and natural like essential oils at a spa – not some scented cleaner. I loved it and it really stood out to me as being different from other places I have stayed.

They also have great body products. I normally do not use hotel shampoo or conditioner because my hair is so damaged, but I could not resist using this stuff made from local honey. It smells delicious and felt like it was doing my hair some good. Honestly they should bottle the stuff and do a little retail – I would have bought a big bottle.

The Hotel is right on 5th Avenue, but in a relatively quiet part. On Friday night we did hear music from a club, but it wasn’t too loud and didn't bother us and we didn’t hear it on any other weekday or weekend evening. It’s very conveniently located close to three beach clubs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel truely beats your expectations. The place is small and pleasant, the staff is very friendly and helpful.
Great clean rooms at a good price... This hotel is exactly what we wanted. Keep in mind that this hotel is not designed for laisure during the day and does not have the facilities to busy you.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carmel274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The staff were lovely. We asked for all kinds of things: from an adaptor to an umbrella, booking a tour then changing our minds to booking a car instead, asking for plates and utensils to eat cake we brought in. Each time they helped us, each time with a smile. We also loved the little things: hot breakfast was different each day and included Mexican specialties, toiletries smelled of honey, and the towels were folded into all kinds of cute animals and shapes. We were in Room 5 for 5 nights and didn't have trouble with the sound from stairs and courtyard at all. We also enjoyed chatting with Barbara :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julers01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

This is an award-winning boutique hotel & I can see why. The hotel is adorable in many aspects - great location, beautiful decor, yummy breakfast & tie-ups with beach resorts. Barbara our hostess was very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Swaroop S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Stayed in Casa Ticul this week in Playa del Carmen and discovered that great service and a comfortable clean hotel are alive and well in Playa del Carmen. From the moment you enter door right on 5th Avenue at 38Street, you feel a good vibe and then the service begins. Front office staff are pleasant, happy, welcoming and attentive! They make sure your check-in details are covered efficiently and politely, yet they never make you feel like you are suffering an ordeal as you do often in some hotels. After you are shown your room, and ample amenities, with comfortable and authentic decor, they leave you to get organized with an assurance of service whenever required. Breakfast is prepared and served on a roof top restaurant by friendly cooks and if you want something a little different than the daily special they offer which is always great, they are most accommodating, and always with a friendly smile! As you move around this sweet little property, everyone is smiling, welcoming and treating you as if they have known you for years! The owners are always somewhere on-site, and make it a point to ask you if everything is ok and if you are happy! Happy! Not just comfortable, but they go the extra distance and share their hotel as they truly would their Home! For me the two most important amenities are an extremely comfortable bed, and enough water pressure so that you actually feel like you had a real shower when you step out onto the clean floors and dry use fresh towels that someone is obviously paying attention to in the laundry. Breakfast is included, and the hours of service are able, even if you sleep a little late. Overall the experience is excellent and at check out there is no drama. The bill is presented clearly, no hidden charges. Great wifi, and a cool but subtle music selection is played all day. The pool is fresh and clean and doesn't wreak of chemicals, so you enjoy the dip without that annoying chlorine smell when finished! I like this property. The location is ion the heart of the new Playa del Carmen area, with plenty of cool restaurants and night life, without having to walk more than a few interesting blocks. Thank you Casa Ticul. From reservation, to check out, hospitality as it used to be! Thank you for a pleasant and enjoyable stay! Mike

Room Tip: If you like the ground floor as I do, room 7 was perfect! I am sure the rooms on the second or third...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soho P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

We are currently staying in Casa Ticul, loving everything about it! Mostly staff are wonderful.. Could not do more for you.. Barbara needs to be mentioned as she arranged all our trips, car rental, taxis, and helped with any questions or even recommended good places to eat! The breakfast is 5 star and the girls who prepare it are too nice.. It's Mexican breakfast and u get specials every day beautifully served and prepared just as u wish.. There is roof terrace with sun loungers and great swimming pool. You also get beach club access to 3 different places and beach towels. The place is immaculate and maid works really hard every day adding extra touch by making towel designs. The bed is huge and comfortable.. U get flat screen tv, nice restaurants just outside, room service if u wish and laundry.. U won't get this with many other hotels on 5th avenue.. Stay here and you will love it!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank izzwizz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.6 mi away
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
#54 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,354 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#16 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,222 reviews
0.8 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#50 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#46 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
495 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#24 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
841 reviews
0.4 mi away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#30 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Ticul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Ticul

Property: Hotel Casa Ticul
Address: Quinta Avenida entre calle 38 y calle 40 Lote 8 | Zazil Ha, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#42 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa Ticul 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated style with Mexican tradition - for adults only, this is a restful and exclusive hideaway in Playa del Carmen where tradition and modernity merge - making the ideal escape for couples looking for a romantic get-away. Casa Ticul is much more than just a hotel; it is a home away from home where our personalized service and warm atmosphere ensure a peaceful vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Casa Ticul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Ticul Hotel
Hotel Casa Ticul Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing