We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely fantastic!”
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Casa Ticul
Ranked #60 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

We are currently staying in Casa Ticul, loving everything about it! Mostly staff are wonderful.. Could not do more for you.. Barbara needs to be mentioned as she arranged all our trips, car rental, taxis, and helped with any questions or even recommended good places to eat! The breakfast is 5 star and the girls who prepare it are too nice.. It's Mexican breakfast and u get specials every day beautifully served and prepared just as u wish.. There is roof terrace with sun loungers and great swimming pool. You also get beach club access to 3 different places and beach towels. The place is immaculate and maid works really hard every day adding extra touch by making towel designs. The bed is huge and comfortable.. U get flat screen tv, nice restaurants just outside, room service if u wish and laundry.. U won't get this with many other hotels on 5th avenue.. Stay here and you will love it!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank izzwizz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    207
    49
    15
    6
See reviews for
49
540
66
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The good:
* This hotel is cheap. It is one of its strong points.
* The location is reasonable. It is not far to the beach or to the main strip. It's also far enough away that one can escape the crowds.
* Free good quality wifi.
* Helpful staff, though I did have my car loaded for towing after relying on bad advice from one of the staff about the time when my car had to be removed from the pedestrianised road.
* Access to some of the beach clubs. This is a nice touch and the staff will give you advice about the pros and cons of each of the different clubs.

The bad:
* Due to the nature of the structure noise tends to filter through to the rooms from the central area. Also if your room is near the stairs people can tend to talk and cause some disturbance. Better soundproofing in the rooms might solve this problem.
* Breakfast could be a bit more generous. Although it wasn't bad, the breakfast area only had minimal food placed out at any given time. It was sometimes necessary to ask for food or milk. Having said that, some of the cooked breakfast items were delicious.

Conclusion:
I think this hotel is very good value and definitely worth the price. I would recommend it to anyone I knew who was visiting Playa del Carmen. It is not perfect, but then I wasn't expecting it at this price. The staff are very friendly and deserve to have success with their hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoyo68, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
It is true that we have different rates according to the seasons and also very good promotions for our friends who were visiting for the second time!

Thanks for your comment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Great location, short walk to the center of 5th Ave and the beach. It is quiet enough at night if you want to avoid all the noises from restaurants and clubs. Hotel staffs are really friendly and super helpful. Rooms are very clean. Chef Juliana makes phenomenal breakfasts. The hotel atmosphere is very cozy and makes you feel at home.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BaileySL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

That was the downfall of this sweet boutique hotel. The maid service was astronomical. Service was above and beyond on the roof for a 'continental' breakfast! An understatement - they even made omellettes and fresh eggs to order! The juices were all fresh squeezed and the number of options to choose from was as good as some of the large resorts we've been to. The young ladies were always cheerful and more than accomodating. It was surprising what they did with the size of facility they had to work with. We found we couldn't even chat with friends by the pool at night because everything echoed loudly. We were told to climb the 3 flights of stairs to the roof to chat (which is where they serve breakfast). The seps were very awkward and made for an exhausting and treacherous climb in the dark of night.
It was conveniently located just a few doors down from our favourite restaurant in Playa...The KoolFish..the best in fresh authentic mexican cuisine with the most wonderful staff and pricing and the best Michelada and litro Margaritas in town!
The manager was quite strict and could be rather rude and miserable even. She could have tried a smile now and then. The complimentary fridge gets refilled daily and they don't let you know that there is a charge for everything they fill it with until you check out! A surprise, but fortunately reasonably priced. Overall I would recommend this boutique hotel to anyone who plans on playing out and enjoying the culture that is Playa del Carmen.
Also they were refinishing the steps outside our room from 7 a.m. to 5 p.m. and the noise and fumes were ridiculous! Not a hope in Hell to sleep in!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tandl154990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longueuil, Canada
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The first time I went to Playa Del Carmen I choose a resort. I liked the unique and personalized experience at Casa Ticul a way better. I went there with a friend from March 31st to April 12th.

The breakfast was so good and healthy. Local specialties were prepared by Juliana and Veronica, and served with a beautiful smile:). The personnel at the front desk was very helpfull. They helped us with any questions we had concerning restaurants, activities, and the local area. Special thanks to Diego and the lady with glasses. You were great hosts.

Spring here in Canada doesn't want to start. It is cold and rainy. I miss Mexican hospitality and weather so much.

I definitely recommend Casa Ticul.

Jean-Francois

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean-Francois G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Grafton, MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2013

The hotel is located towards the north end of 5th Ave. Very close to all the good restaurants, but it is fairly far from the bus stop if you want to take excursions from the ADO bus station.

Check-in was easy. Paola was very warm and welcoming. My boyfriend and I stayed in room 5, right next to the pool on the ground level, and for the most part, enjoyed our stay very much. The rooms are modern and clean. The shower pressure is nice and strong. The only downside is the noise. It wasn't unbearable, but you can hear whenever there is foot traffic (especially people coming up and down the stairs), and also live music from the restaurant across the street.

Breakfast on the rooftop was light and delicious with different specials everyday. You can pick one item off the menu, and then there is toast, fresh fruit, yogurt, granola, and freshly squeezed juices. Watermelon and orange was my favorite.

As far as the beach passes, we loved las palapas, which was about a 5 min walk. The beach there was beautiful, however, the food at Canibal Royal should not be missed! I didn't care for beach club Mamitas because it wasn't as relaxing with the techno music.

Because of the lack of storage space and drawers, I would recommend this place for short stays only. Or for those who are very simple! There is a small refrigerator, but I didn't see an iron or board available. Also, if you need transportation back to the airport, ask a taxi to pick you up at the hotel for 490 pesos or $40. The hotel wanted to charge me $65!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ttran1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My wife and me stayed (FOR SECOND TIME) in Casa Ticul, during 10 days and 9 nights, the rooms are EXTREMELY CLEAN, every room has organic products for personal hygiene (shampoo, conditioner, after sun gel, mosquito repellant), everyday there is a special meal for breakfast, but, you can order something else for their menu, the restaurant only opens in the morning for a simple reason: Casa Ticul is surrounded by good restaurants, where you can taste different kind of food (Mexican, Argentinean, Mayan, Italian), in fact, Casa Ticul has its own restaurant (Veneno Vil), which food is exquisite.

All the Casa Ticul's teamwork is EXTREMELY KIND, HELPFUL AND POLITE, thanks for everything Paola, Bárbara and Diego.

We'll see you soon!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mosheroca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.4 mi away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#25 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,715 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#16 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
0.5 mi away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#34 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#42 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#65 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
#51 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Ticul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Ticul

Property: Hotel Casa Ticul
Address: Quinta Avenida entre calle 38 y calle 40 Lote 8 | Zazil Ha, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#42 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa Ticul 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated style with Mexican tradition - for adults only, this is a restful and exclusive hideaway in Playa del Carmen where tradition and modernity merge - making the ideal escape for couples looking for a romantic get-away. Casa Ticul is much more than just a hotel; it is a home away from home where our personalized service and warm atmosphere ensure a peaceful vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Casa Ticul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Ticul Hotel
Hotel Casa Ticul Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing