We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Playa”
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Casa Ticul
Ranked #94 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights in Jul/Aug 2012 and had a fabulous stay. The location of the hotel is perfect, it is on the main street (5th Ave) but a bit out of all the action (5 min walk) so nice and quiet. Only a very short walk to the beach and loved the fact that we got free access to 3 different beach clubs during the day (we went every day). The breakfast on the roof every morning was lovely and the pool in shade was great for afternoons when you needed to get out of the sun and heat. Staff very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 2nd floor which we really enjoyed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoyo68, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Our location is one of the virtues that our guests enjoy, with walking distance you can find the beach club we offer.

Thanks for the comment!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (855)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

268 - 274 of 855 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2012

I don't get why casa ticul is so highly ranked. The hotel is ok. Nothing special. Rooms are ok and clean. But is not the charming boutique hotel that I expected. What also bothered me was the noise. Maybe we had some bad luck because of the location of our room. We heared everything that was going on outside our room. People laughing and talking and coming home from partying. I slept (or tried to sleep) whit earplugs.

Breakfast is nice, on the roofterrace and the free beachclub access was also a big plus!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joooolien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoyo68, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

We regret not having reached your high expectations, we will work to always be better for our guests.

Thanks for your comment!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Ola Amigos

I just came back from a sun drenched Playa Del Carmen eight day stay and once again so happy that I chose to stay with Casa Ticul. This boutique gem continues to live up to its reputation, offering what I think is one of the best and biggest bang for your dollar or peso.

Any request from a bucket of ice in your room every evening for a cold drink after a long day at the beach. Or personally escorting you down to the local convenient store to assist you in exchanging tonic water you mistook for sparkling water. Those are just a couple of the conveniences that this hotel and its friendly staff offer to ensure the guest experience is everything it should be. They are also happy to assist you with more commonly requested things like directions, restaurant recommendations and reservations, most anything that you would need or could think of.

What I found to be one of the most beneficial amenities that this smart boutique hotel offers was a complimentary day pass at Mamitas Beach Club, Canibal Royal and Las Palapas. I chose to spend most of my beach time at Las Palapas, which offers a 10 percent discount on food and drink. They also don't charge an additional fee for use of their larger beach loungers like Mamitas and Canibal Royal.

The modern and eclectic accommodation's are one of the main reasons I choose to stay with Casa Ticul. My room was thoroughly cleaned and cool upon my return from my daily sun worshiping. And the bed is one of the most comfortable beds that I have experienced in my travels to the Mayan Riviera. I also appreciated the complimentary honey shampoo, conditioner and body wash, not to mention the ever important deet free mosquito repellent lotion.

I don't want to forget to mention that the complimentary breakfast with its daily specials were always delicious. And the staff are always happy to accommodate any special request from an american omelet to eggs sunny side up.

A Beach Comber Traveler recommended stay.

Hosta La Proximaosta

Please look for more of my favorite Playa Del Carmen hotels and restaurants in my up incoming blogs. Please go to beachcombertraveler.com or Beach Comber Traveler on facebook for more beach travel recommendations for the best hotels, restaurants and other related topics on the Mayan Riviera.

Room Tip: I prefer room 5,6 or 7 on the first floor...they seem to be the most quiet and are located convientl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PDHayden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoyo68, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

We are happy to see our guests when they return a second time! We look for ways to surprise them with something new as it is on this occasion, the different options for beach club we offer and other amenities


Thanks for the nice comment!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This hotel gives the impression of a bed and breakfast with hotel amenities. The staff are very competent and friendly. Thanks much for the FREE breakfast, as a diver it helped me get a good start everyday! The rooms are very clean and kept that way by the staff. I will be returning to Hotel Casa Tucil for my next visit to PDC in September. I do not hesitate to recommend to all.

Room Tip: Try to get a ground floor room, there is no elevator but for a small mechanical conveyance that will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoyo68, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Thanks for recommending! Always look for ways to be better so that our guests have a great vacation!

Thanks for the comment!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stay longer than planed for the great location and nice rooms. Is a place worth to stay!
In the reception always heplful, by far one of the best bed we have stay! They were very exclusive bio soaps that make it special! My girlfriend love it! Have a nice breakfast on the terase.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoyo68, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2012

Mexican breakfast is always a good surprise for our guests, always looking for options to consent to our guests!

Thanks for your comment!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

We what booked Casa Ticul for 3 nights and loved it so much that we extended another 3 nights. The room was gorgeous, and was equipped with everything we needed. They even give you complimentary mosquito repellent and after sun gel! The room was spotless and larger than we thought. The location was spot on. We would definitely stay here again and recommend to all our friends!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melkeltards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoyo68, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2012

That's the magic of Casa Ticul, to make our guests feel at home away from home!

Thanks for your comment!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We were meant to stay 5 nights and enjoyed it so much we extended our stay twice! Great location close enough to walk to all main bars and restaurants, but it still far enough away to be in a nice, quiet area which we really liked. The staff were fantastic and very friendly. They gave us great suggestions and were very helpful if we had any questions. This isn't a resort but a great boutique hotel where you can still relax and have a good time at. The hotel gives you free beachclub passes which are only a short walk away. Overall, great value for money!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monieponie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoyo68, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

We are happy to hear that our guests stay more days than planned, it makes us think we are doing a good job! Always ready for the different needs of our guests,

Thanks for your comment!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.6 mi away
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
#53 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,426 reviews
0.3 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#62 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
518 reviews
0.8 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#48 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#75 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
330 reviews
0.4 mi away
Reina Roja Hotel
Reina Roja Hotel
#112 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
762 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Plaza Playa
Hotel Plaza Playa
#69 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Ticul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Ticul

Address: Quinta Avenida entre calle 38 y calle 40 Lote 8 | Zazil Ha, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $56 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa Ticul 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated style with Mexican tradition - for adults only, this is a restful and exclusive hideaway in Playa del Carmen where tradition and modernity merge - making the ideal escape for couples looking for a romantic get-away. Casa Ticul is much more than just a hotel; it is a home away from home where our personalized service and warm atmosphere ensure a peaceful vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Casa Ticul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Ticul Hotel
Hotel Casa Ticul Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing