We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I loved my purple jr suite- fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Casa Ticul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Casa Ticul
Ranked #61 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“I loved my purple jr suite- fabulous!”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I have never been more excited (ecstatic!) about a hotel than this adorably chic Casa Ticul. Why you may ask?? I can’t believe the quality of such a hotel/room could be offered for only $85 a night (gasp!) In my world, nothing costs $85. Change your world, you say. Off with their heads! I retort.

Room: we had the joy of staying in the only Jr. suite. It was a lovely room with a king sized four poster bed and a small sitting area. Purple accents ever where- the pillow! The chaise lounger! The chairs! It was divine. The bed was uber comfy and as an added bonus, there was a nice balcony overlooking the pool area and Fifth Ave.

There were a few negatives with the room, nothing that would derail another stay but full disclosure ahead- first, there was very little space to hang your clothing and no drawers for anything else. Fine for us as we were only there 3 days but for a longer stay, you would want to unpack. Secondly, the pillows were horrible. Management if you are reading, change the pillows!! Also, there is a small mini fridge and it’s filled with well, stuff. It would be better if we had the option of having it empty so we could stock up on water etc.

Food: breakfast was included and served daily on the roof of the hotel. The selection leaves a lot to be desired but hey, it’s FREE so if it’s not good enough for you, there are so many places within walking distance. Origenes has a wonderful breakfast, everything made to order and healthy. Its a few blocks from the hotel and well, very cheap.

Location- this is my favorite part of Playa to stay in. There is a GREAT juice bar across the street and tons of wonderful restaurants within walking distance. Canibal Royal is the best beach club (in my very humble opinion) and it’s about a 5 minute walk. The French Bakery is also pretty fabulous and authentic.

Staff- service goes a long way with me and this hotel delivered. Everyone here is SO NICE. The women at breakfast preparing and serving the foods were fantastic as was Diego at the front desk. I would definitely stay here again. You can too but just not in my purple room.

Room Tip: It's all about the purple jr suite with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RoxxyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoyo68, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Thank you for your nice comments!, we will consider all suggestions, so sure you will enjoy even more the beautiful junior suite on your next visit!

We're glad you've taken a good promotion, as you say we always have dynamic promotions where you can find excellent rates in the different seasons that we handle...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    206
    49
    15
    6
See reviews for
49
538
65
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palmdale, FL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

I will echo most of the observations of other reviewers except on one note. I made my reservation online and prepaid for their top-of-the-line room. When I arrived at the property the front desk staff said that they knew nothing of my reservation, I proceeded to show them my copy and they then agreed to provide me a room. I stated and showed them where I had paid for their premium room but they said it was unavailable. They did not offer to credit my account nor did they apologize in any way, shape, or form. This treatment ruined what otherwise would have been an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobcstlmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012 via mobile

Really lovely small hotel which we found at a great price for the location and standard of both the room and breakfast served on the roof terrace. Beach club passes were useful and we would recommend Canibal out of those we tried. Amazing "towel art" in the rooms was a nice touch. Staff helpful and friendly.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank nickyg0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Been there last month on our honeymoon and loved every single second of our stay.
Great breakfast with a variety of choices every day something else.
The location is good is on the 5 eve between 38 and 40 street, it's just a bit far from all the commotion but it's 7 min walk.
The hotel is very plesent, quiet, clean with a nice p small pool.
But the main reason that I'm writing this review is a great person that work there that help us in a way I've never seen before in a hotel, her name is Paloma and she is amazing and helpful and kind in every situation. Best vacation we ever had!! Thank you Paloma!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avihovel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Barrington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

This hotel was recommended by friends who have stayed in Playa before. It was great in every way. The location is perfect for access to the beach and shopping/dining and still quiet. The staff went above and beyond in all categories. The breakfast ladies made breakfast to order with a smile. The outdoor terrace where breakfast is served is lovely. The desk staff helped us find great restaurants for dinner and helped with reservations for meals and other activities as well. The cleaning staff also were superlative. The room could use more space for sitting other than on your bed and a couple of drawers for storing clothing. But these are minor points. There were several nice places to sit outdoors to read or drink a beer and eat snacks if we wanted. The weather was always great so we did not really care about being in our room except to sleep. The craziness of 5th ave was close but not audible. We would recommend this hotel to couples who want a great value and service. We will be back!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoyo68, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
We are pleased that the hotel has been recommended by friends and has been your total satisfaction.
As you say, every detail is important to us as a rich breakfast in the morning makes you an excellent day and then visit a nearby beach club are the advantages you get to stay in a small boutique hotel on Fifth Avenue.

Thanks for your comment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

While we have vacationed in Playa many times, this is our first stay at Casa Ticul. We enjoy staying in north Playa, a more quiet, less frenetic area. We loved this hotel: nice size rooms with fridge & comfortable beds, updated bathroom with waterfall shower, thick towels, his/her bathrobes & slippers - which were a very nice touch. Breakfast,served roof-top, was wonderful, if not on the menu, just ask and they will gladly accommodate. Recommend you take advantage of the complimentary beach passes to Las Palapas, much less noisy and hectic than Mamitas. A convenience store right on the corner sells wine, beer and snacks, the restaurant Kool Fish will deliver food to the rooftop, or poolside making this another unique feature. Staff is friendly and always helpful. We will definitely be returning to this wonderful boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid first floor rooms facing pool - too much morning sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loves2travel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoyo68, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Casa Ticul offers from all the amenities required for comfort during your stay.
The advantage of having a variety of restaurants around the hotel to pick one and enjoy a romantic evening on our terrace falita is a detail that is very enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We just got back from a week in Playa del Carmen and we stayed here based on the TripAdvisor reviews. The good reviews area effect our experience. Here are some reasons to stay here:
1) Location! It's on 5ta Avenida, which is the main tourist drag in l,aya del Carmen, but it's at the quieter, less obnoxious end of the street. Bring comfy flip flops or shoes and the walk to the busy end isn't terrible--we did it several times. There's good food nearby, including some tasty restaurants (Pachamama, ComoComo, Luna Maya, Kool Fish, Drupas38, etc.), a cool little craft beer place (The Beer Club), and beach clubs.

2) Breakfast! Many reviews rave about breakfast, and they're right. Three wonderfully friendly women run the rooftop breakfast service. There is fresh squeezed juice, breads, fresh fruit, yogurt, and a good selection of breakfast main courses (omelette, pancakes, quesadillas, and a daily special that changes). Don't forget to tip them a little something each time or give them a big tip at the beginning. They deserve it.

3) Helpful concierge/registration staff! The women who rotate at te front desk were helpful. They had good recommendations, helped us rent a car to go to Coba, and always asked us about our day.

4) Free beach club access! We only went to two of the three options. We really liked Las Palapas. They provide towels and there's no drink/food consumption minimum. We got there early and got a good spot and our service was great. We also went to Mamitas, which we didn't like. They don't give you towels here, so you have to vring them from te hotel. Awful service, crowded, loud music... it wasn't at all comfortable or relaxing. Canibal Royale is the third option which we didn't try. It's a good place to go if you want old since they have a minimum food/drink consumption limit.

5) Housekeeping staff! Every day we had a new work of towel art on our bed. It made coming back to the room fun (and funny).

6) Purified water! They have purified water cookers on each floor. You can fill up bottles or your glasses, which saves you money on buying bottled water. Of course, if you want bottled water there's a little store at the end of the block--very close.

7) The door guy! He's always smiling and so polite.

My only complaints are the plumbing and complimentary toiletries.

1) The plumbing. If you try to take a shower when other people on lower floors are also showering, expect no water. The shower went dry when I was trying to shower at 8 one morning.

2) the complimentary shampoo and conditioner aren't great. Bring your own or buy it there. It made my hair feel icky.

Overall this place is great. It's a good home base for exploring this area--close to Tulum, Cozumel, Coba, etc. The rates make it especially great. Casa Ticul was great.

(PS - I have a horrible bed bug phobia and search every room I stay in. I searched our room pretty thoroughly. Our room was bed bug free--found absolutely no physical evidence of them and received no bites over 6 nights in our room--Room #8.)

Room Tip: We stayed in #8, which was quiet but in a higher traffic area. We put the "Rest" sign (it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnArborVino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.4 mi away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#23 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,676 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#15 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,169 reviews
0.4 mi away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#34 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#42 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#59 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
277 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
#49 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Ticul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Ticul

Property: Hotel Casa Ticul
Address: Quinta Avenida entre calle 38 y calle 40 Lote 8 | Zazil Ha, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#42 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa Ticul 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated style with Mexican tradition - for adults only, this is a restful and exclusive hideaway in Playa del Carmen where tradition and modernity merge - making the ideal escape for couples looking for a romantic get-away. Casa Ticul is much more than just a hotel; it is a home away from home where our personalized service and warm atmosphere ensure a peaceful vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Jetsetter, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Casa Ticul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Ticul Hotel
Hotel Casa Ticul Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing