We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gives You Everything Except A Beach View”
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Casa Ticul
Ranked #76 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Gives You Everything Except A Beach View”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

This is an amazing boutique hotel property! The decor is a modern aesthetic with Mexican accents. You get a good-sized, clean room with premium toiletries (handmade soaps, quality shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, after-sunburn lotion, mosquito repellant lotion), a blow dryer, lightweight waffle-cotton robes and slippers. There is a lovely small pool in the courtyard of the property, a little bigger than a lap pool, with chairs and tables around it. This place makes the most out of every inch for services and ambiance!

A fantastic hot breakfast of eggs, pancakes, waffles, omlettes, etc all cooked to order, as well a variety of fresh-squeezed juices, fresh fruit, cereal, breads, and terrific coffee or espresso (which is just a more concentrated version of the coffee it appears, but a big cup of it!) is served from 8-10:30 on their super-pretty rooftop terrace that overlooks a quieter section of Fifth Avenue. Lots of umbrellas and sail shades are there so you won't roast to death in the sun. Big electric fans help out when it is too much of a scorcher.

The location is on a developing area of Fifth that has terrific restaurants and a corner store on the same small block. The pedestrian area starts two blocks away to the south. While they are not on the beach, they will still give you a complimentary towel/drink on one of 3 beach clubs in PDC, (Canibal Royal, Mamitas, and one other that I can't remember right now) so you can still enjoy the beach every day. The hotel staff is nothing short of wonderful and helpful, and even speak English.

My only regret is that we only spent 2 nights there before moving on...

Room Tip: Room 10 is beside the pool and gives a pretty view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LittleMy001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoyo68, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
As you say, the magic of being placed on the new part of Fifth Avenue, is a great experience.

Where you can find a variety of dining options within walking distance.

That's why we offer some options for places on the beach that give our guests the service they need.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    214
    51
    16
    8
See reviews for
53
546
66
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2012

The hotel is located on 5th av' (main avenue) 2 minutes from the "center of business", what makes its location ideal.
The stuff was very nice and helpful.
the rooms are clean and comfortable.
Breakfast was nice...
They give you voucher to nice beaches where you can sit and use towels.
Wireless Internet was weak...

We really enjoyed the stay and recommend it to whoever is looking a good place, close to the center but quiet, with a reasonable price.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nir K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoyo68, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
We are glad you liked the hotel!

Whenever the needs of our guests are our needs and we are working towards a better internet signal in some rooms. That's why we offer our small business center.


Thanks for your comment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Casa Ticul is really nice small boutique hotel. Good location, but not in the middle of
all the bars and hassel.
we had a junior suite with balcony which was really nice. Room was big enough and bed was excellent.
Breakfast in the roof was great and the girls in service were really nice and friendly.
You get free entry for 3 beach clubs and also towels to use in beach.
I can recommend this hotel to every body who doesn't care of big hotel complex and all inclusive.
Would go to this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoyo68, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Walking down Fifth Avenue have a great magic, that's why stay in a small hotel on Fifth Avenue gives you the advantage of knowing the gastronomic variety that offers Playa del Carmen.

Thanks for your comment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

We got stuck in a huricane and ended up in Playa for a couple extra days. We decided to leave our big all inclusive hotel farther from town and stay here at Casa Ticul. We really enjoyed the stay. The price was right and the location was perfect for being away from the beach. The receptionist was awesome and got us reservations at a restaurant and had several other restaurant sugestions that worked out great. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2012

I was in town for my daughter's wedding. Casa Ticul is close to the beach-4 min walk. Reasonably priced. Bright airy rooms.Very friendly staff. The food ladies in the rooftop kitchen can cook'em up. Real nice. Start the day off with good food. Meet some of your fellow guests. At least 10 were here for the wedding. Felt like I was at someone's house.Kinda cool. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room beneath the roof top patio area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Knolls, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

I stayed at this small hotel for 2 weeks in January, 2012. I was very pleased with the accomodations. Very good beds and shower pressure (although no hot water between 11:00 AM and 4:00 PM - a very minor inconvenience which I quickly adjusted to). The staff is universally pleasant; receptionist Paolima was very helpful. Nice breakfast on the roof served by 3 delightful, happy young women. Free access to the beautiful Los Palapas resort and beach club, just a 5 minute walk from the hotel. I chose this hotel because it was at the far end of 5th. Avenue, away from the densely populated and very noisy center of town. This was my fourth trip to Playa, and the town can be very noisy at night. If you are concerned about noise at night, ask for a quiet room when booking. The room I got (#10) had no view, but it was fairly quiet. (I suggest bringing a set of earplugs just in case). If you are looking for a good hotel in a quiet part of town, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiteRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We had an incredibly nice stay at Casa Ticul. It had everything you could ask for: clean rooms, welcoming and helpful staff, and a really nice complimentary breakfast served on the rooftop deck. More than anything, I liked the design of the hotel. Everywhere were little details that really showed that someone with great taste took the time to make it a pleasant place to be.

Another thing I ended up liking about the hotel was its location. I was a little concerned that it was so far at the end of Avenida 5, but that ended up being a positive feature. In the years since I had last been to Playa del Carman, the town has exploded in size, and down on the main drag it gets a little Cancunish and mall-like... and overpriced. Casa Ticul inhabits a spot that feels a little like the Playa del Carmen I remember: still plenty of restaurants and bars and the other amenities, but somehow, friendlier, hipper and more reasonably priced. And if you need to go to Little Cancun down the road, it's an easy pleasant walk.

One small small complaint: the wifi is nearly useless in the rooms. Dear Casa Ticul: if you're reading this, please get some routers!!

Room Tip: The hotel offers day passes to nearby beach clubs. Definitely grab one for Canibal Royal. We loved t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marybanilow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.6 mi away
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
#54 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,368 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#18 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,237 reviews
0.8 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#51 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#47 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
499 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#19 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
849 reviews
0.6 mi away
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Play...
#16 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Ticul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Ticul

Property: Hotel Casa Ticul
Address: Quinta Avenida entre calle 38 y calle 40 Lote 8 | Zazil Ha, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#42 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa Ticul 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated style with Mexican tradition - for adults only, this is a restful and exclusive hideaway in Playa del Carmen where tradition and modernity merge - making the ideal escape for couples looking for a romantic get-away. Casa Ticul is much more than just a hotel; it is a home away from home where our personalized service and warm atmosphere ensure a peaceful vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Casa Ticul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Ticul Hotel
Hotel Casa Ticul Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing