We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of paradise - We'll be back”
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hacienda Tres Rios
Ranked #62 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A slice of paradise - We'll be back”
Reviewed December 30, 2009

Vacations are important. They are an investment of time and money to improve you (and your family’s) physical and mental well being.

So the last thing you want is problems and distractions that create stress, which is what you are going on vacation to get away from in the first place.

One of the best places my family and I have found to relax without any worries was at Hacienda Tres Rios in Mexico’s Riviera Maya, south of Cancun and north of Playa del Carmen. This is a magnificent all-inclusive resort.

The staff understands why its guests are there and that is to relax and be pampered. And we were! My family of two adult and two children visited the week of Christmas 2009.

The staff said the hotel was entirely booked, but it never seemed crowded and the staff never seemed so busy as to decrease their attention to you.

Yes, the resort is beautiful. Two large pools occupy the center: one more quiet, one more activity oriented. The famous king-sized canopy beds line the spotless beach allow for total relaxation. The crystal clear rivers, flowing from the cenotes to the ocean, provide a wonderful and calm place to swim or search for aquatic wildlife. The marble-lined suites are spacious and roomy.

But I think what makes this resort stand head and shoulders above the others we’ve visited is the staff. They honestly go out of their way to make sure you are pleased. We found them so friendly that we learned their names very quickly.
From Miguel, the catamaran captain, to Tony and Andy, the sports and activities directors, to Justino, Angel, Trinidad and Elva, the waiters, to Abernathy, the beach barman, to Nancy, the buffet restaurant hostess, to Hector, the concierge. Their politeness and eagerness made us feel totally at ease and free from stress during our stay.

All of this customer-pleasing behavior is epitomized by the famous Oscar, the resort’s executive chef. As it was our first Christmas Eve – a major family holiday for us – we asked Oscar if it was possible to whip up some non-meat dishes to reflect our traditional Polish Christmas Eve dinner.

Our family and our friends were blown away by the culinary glory we were served! Including a personalized birthday cake for our friends. Another family from Toronto, at the same dinner, were served a totally vegan dinner that they were singing the praises of. In fact, every meal we had was delicious.

The outdoor grill became our favorite lunch spot, while the young boys in our group loved heading to the outdoor brick pizza oven or ordering plates of nachos.

There’s a kids club but our boys preferred to be on their own and enjoyed the pool, playing water polo, or volley ball or soccer with the other guests under the direction of Tony and Andy.

The evening entertainment is also well done, from the welcoming Mexican Fiesta, with mariachis, to the Mayan and Fire shows, to the Caribbean Party on the beach. There was also a Christmas Eve party in the main “square” of the resort, with live music and dancing.

The resort tours to the cenotes are also worth booking, and because space is limited and there are many guests, they do fill up. However, we were still able to change our tours on Tuesday for Wednesday and Thursday without problem. However, our lackadaisicalness in booking a massage meant we couldn’t get one. Not a big deal.

We visited Playa del Carmen’s famous 5th Avenue on a cloudy day by booking a taxi for $26 roundtrip and booked a taxi that took us to the ruins in Tulum, though there is an outside tour desk that will arrange tours for you.

When it came time to leave, check out was at 11 am and our taxi was arriving at 2:30 pm. So we sat on the beach while our luggage was securely stored and when it was time to leave, we were given a courtesy room to change into our travel clothes.

It’s those little things that you appreciate because it’s one less thing to worry about. And we certainly didn’t worry about anything while we stayed at Hacienda Tres Rios. We’ll be back.

The only negative came from an intolerant guest, who felt the need to payback his hosts’ hospitality by stealing the baby Jesus statue from the outdoor Nativity display.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elMarcodeChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,068
    1,241
    479
    225
    258
See reviews for
2,583
1,597
48
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,014)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CO
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2009

We went the day after the news declared Mexico the epicenter for the Swine Flu. Our family spent 10 days amongst happy travelers from all around the world who enjoyed Hacienda Tres Rios luxury surroundings, warm staff, and a plethora of fun activities.

Ecology:
The ecological hotel offers clean drinking water throughout, including the showers, and recycles everything. There are three fresh water cenotes amongst the many acres of seclusion, and a free tour to learn about the ecology of the place and their conservation efforts.
Food:
The food is superb with three restaurants: one restaurant catering to traditional cuisine of the Maya, another for Italian and yet one more for everything under the sun. Fresh pizzas made to order by the pool in a brick oven, and every evening, petit edibles offered in their French cafe. You will get fat from the attentive pool staff who offer fresh treats and any drink you can think of – with alcohol or not.
Surroundings:
The interior is grand, luxurious and awaiting you is a warm towel, respectful staff and a glass of champagne.
Spa:
Excellent spa and daily fitness classes including Yoga, Pilates as well as Mountain Biking, canoeing, etc.

Luxury at its best! Our favorite place to stay and reconnect.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank theasheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2009

My husband and I stayed at HTR for about a week in November. We were there to attend a destination wedding with about 50 guests. Unfortunately it rained every day of our trip, however, we still had a great time since we spent our vacation with great friends at a nice resort. We could not have been happier with the service. From day 1, the staff made us feel very welcome and were extremely accommodating. We really enjoyed the food and the top shelf alcohol. The plate presentation at dinner was always amazing, especially the platescapping of the desserts. We also took advantage of the on site activities and enjoyed the cenotes and kayaking as well as the Sense tour, casino night and dance lessons. They also did an excellent job for setting up the wedding ceremony and reception that we attended. We had a blast!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karebear1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2009

My husband and I had a very nice experience at the hotel. Rooms were lovely. Service was generally very good. I really appreciated that the at la carte restaurants didn't require reservations and were always available. It was nice to not have to plan ahead. I also loved that the beach beds were very nicely maintained (never saw them looking sandy from other people) and were always plentiful and well spread out. I could really cocoon in with a book and not feel like I had other people on top of me at all. There were periodic drinks and even offers to bring menus for food if I wanted.

The eco aspects of the resort were really appreciated, though they seemed to replace my towel whether I had it hanging or not. I'd also recommend larger shampoo and conditioner bottles that don't need replaced every day. I feel like we went through far more of those than I wish.

The Mexican breakfast buffet was nice but otherwise I preferred the a la carte food over the buffets. The brick oven pizza was quite nice. The soup martini at the Mexican restaurant was delicious!

My husband appreciated the free internet in rooms, though I don't know that we'd call it "high speed". Still it's an unusual amenity to have, and we did enjoy it.

I said "no" to the timeshare presentation when we first arrived, and no one ever brought it up again.

Altogether, it was a lovely experience.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thomasok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2009

We stayed at HTR with our kids (daughter, 8 and son, 5.5) in December 09 and were particularly pleased with the kids' programming -- Silvia and other staff were warm, inviting, and made our kids comfortable right away. Our son -- usually fearful and a bit of a homebody -- was almost as eager to attend as our older daughter, and they both had a great time. The entire staff (without exception) is genuinely polite, considerate, and charming -- really amazing service all around.

We also appreciated the eco-tourism orientation: geothermal a/c and hot water, mangrove reforestation, and beach-scum harvesting for compost are all very appealing to us, as are the cenotes, kayaking, and unusually prolific wildlife.

Finally, here's a brief example of the all-around service experience: I capsized a sailboat in rough wind and sea, and instead of being surly and rude the beach attendant sailed out on a second boat, let me hop over and sail in while he righted the other boat, and then actually took the time to teach me how to right a catamaran and explained exactly why I had capsized.

We will most definitely return to HTR.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StuckOnThePlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2009

After reading some reviews and checking this place out, I sent 2 emails to the resort asking very simple questions on the amenities, pools etc..
Never received a reply to either.
Sent same emails to Sunset Hotels, who own the place, and never hear back in regard as well.
I don't know what the problem is or what the secrets are here but I do know we will not even consider staying here.
If the service is bad already, I can just imagine what it would be on site and not willing to chance it.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stueyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Hacienda Tres Rios, responded to this review, December 29, 2009
Dear Guest, Thank you for your interest in Hacienda Tres Rios. Please contact us to let us know where you have sent these emails. We have searched and have been unable to find them. Please visit our website for further information you shall require. There you will be able to find our contact information and all of the amenities and services offered at the resort. Thank you for your time and we hope to have you as a future guest with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2009

We had a wonderful 4 night vacation. The staff, without exception, were wonderful. All were friendly and helpful. The rooms were extreme luxury, with marble, fine linens and towels, stocked fridge, turndown service, 24 hour room service, etc.

We are nature lovers and came to explore the "tres rios" and cenotes. There are many included nature tours (with usually only 2-6 people). The paths are well-maintained to allow exploring on your own as well. We kayaked early every morning and enjoyed the many birds. We came prepared with bug spray, but there were NO mosquitos.

The pools are huge and beautiful. The beds on the beach are relaxing. Enjoy unlimited plush towels without signing for them or giving your room key or any such nonsense. Enjoy happy cocktail and food service delivered to your lounge chair. As noted in other reviews, the ocean is NOT inviting. It appears that organic matter, that looks like peat moss, washes from of the mangrove swamps, out through of the rivers and into the ocean. The waves then pulverize this material and this leads to muddy-appearing beach water. If you want to play in the ocean, this is not the place for you. On the other hand, they rivers themselves are clear and snorkeling is possible in the small rivers and some of the cenotes.

The food is OK. Neither the buffets nor the a la cartes were great, but overall, the food was OK. The staff is happy to try to be accommodating. The 7-course meal at the chef's table was the exceptionally good meal. We had this on our last night and would recommend it. The bars were well-stocked and the service was very good. Food safety: we had not even a hint of intestinal distress. We did not drink tap water (there is bottled water in the rooms), but we had water in the restaurants and even had sushi.

A word about time-share sales. Our welcoming concierge gave us the welcoming overview of the resort and then mentioned the gifts we would receive for taking a sales tour. We told her we were not interested, and we were not approached again regarding sales. We continued to have happy, friendly service.

The resort could not have been 25% full on our visit. Positives: no waits for seating in any restaurants; easy to relax. Negatives: full buffets were set up for a handful of people, so the food turnover may not have been frequent - we went for mostly cook-to-order food; not a rocking place for the younger set.

So, in summary, come here for relaxation, pampering, and nature.

Thoughts about the future: The resort as it stands now is on the south side of the southern of 3 rivers. The middle and south rivers both begin in cenotes and flow to the ocean. They can be kayaked and snorkled. The northern river is actually more of a mangrove estruary with lots of shallow branching waterways. The master plan for the site includes another resort between the two southern rivers. It also appears that the northern mangrove estruary is to be replaced by a marina and several single family homes with docks. The consequences for birds and fish may be significant. It remains to be seen if this development stays true to the eco-friendly theme that is in place now. We hope so.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MiddleRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,857 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#48 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,557 reviews
6.1 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Play...
#56 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
6,207 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
15,915 reviews
8.4 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#33 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Tres Rios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Tres Rios

Property: Hacienda Tres Rios
Address: Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Km. 54, Playa del Carmen 77760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#44 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#44 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#48 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hacienda Tres Rios 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy and relax in a sustainable tourism luxury development in the Mexican Caribbean, our Spa & Nature Park make it the perfect spot for relaxing while your younger and more adventurous companions explore the beauty of the Riviera Maya within a safe environment such as this award-winning eco-luxury hotel integrated within Tres Ríos Nature Park. Be part of a paradise designed to restore and preserve the natural landscape without sacrificing the comforts and amenities of a five star all-inclusive hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Prestigia, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hacienda Tres Rios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Tres Rios Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing