We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Save yourself the headache.”
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hacienda Tres Rios
Ranked #65 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We recently stayed at Tres Rios and were very disappointed. From the time we checked in and found out they only had one of our two rooms. Matoya at the front desk did not seem the least bit phased by this. Said that he could send our three children (age 10, 14 & 17) on a 45 min shuttle to their sister hotel in Cancun, while my husband and I stayed there. Not an option. They kept blaming the booking company but we found out once we got home that the confirmation numbers come from the hotel and we had a number for each room. They had overbooked the hotel and we had to suffer. The five of us stayed in one room and had to repack our things the next day and move from a room that faced the pools and ocean to a room that faced tree tops. At least we had the two rooms. We spent several trips back to the front desk to see if they could refund that second room but after several days the only thing that Gina offered was a small credit at the hotel – which is all inclusive - would rather have the credit. The property is beautiful and there are several great employees. The front desk just was not very responsive. There are lots of things to do there. A favorite was the river where you can kayak and snorkel. Towards the end of our trip some friends had their sons rushed out of the water because of an alligator! The food at the buffet is just ok. We have stayed at another all-inclusive down the road and I wish it would have been more similar to that. For the amount of money we paid, it was very disappointing. We read some negative reviews before our trip but we are not high maintenance and thought it can't be that bad. Next time I'll listen to the reviews and choose someplace else. Not a relaxing trip. The front desk hassle made it very stressful. And the time share talk was high pressure and another waste of precious family time on vacation. Not worth the hassle.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fam5willtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,442)
There are newer reviews for Hacienda Tres Rios
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,840 - 1,846 of 5,442 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2014

Jaime the waiter and Oswaldo the bell boy provided exceptional and professional service with a smile. Their consistent friendly help throughout my holiday made all the difference to me feeling welcome.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

we went to hacienda tres rios for our wedding anniversary , it was a good experience swimming i n the cenotes , the staff was excellent especially at the hacienda grill and the il forno pizza thanks to fermin, Janet-hostess and Jesus- captain , ,we would like to thank them for the great service they gave us.things we did not like about tres rios .we did not get the room we reserved ocean view and we got jungle view also they waist 3 hrs of our time trying to sell us their rooms by week by months and they r so stubborn that i end up arguing and upset be careful with Roberto at the sales office but other than that everything was OK

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raquel g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Thank you to all at Hacienda Tres Rios for a fabulous stay. Our family stayed in La Herencia and thoroughly enjoyed the luxurious surroundings, wonderful cuisine, and peaceful atmosphere. Chef Oscar's return was a nice surprise. The wait staff seemed once again to be very happy in their jobs, and greeted us as if we were old friends returning to their homes. Special thanks to Fermin and Joaquin from Alebrije who made our mornings very special. The Chef's dinner was excellent also. For those wondering about further development on the property, we were told the new building is of modular construction, and at this point no construction has begun on site. (November was the estimate for the pylons to go be driven.) The beach continues to improve. Much sand has been washed away be winter storms along much of region (- we walked about 2 miles down the coast). Plans are in place to restore. Don't worry, the beds are still there. La Herencia guests can reserve a bed to lounge in for the week. Still, beds were available for each area any time we visited.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBHong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We went to Hacienda Tres Rios for our annual vacation to get away from the cold and snow. It was a wonderful vacation as usual. Very relaxing, wonderful food and fun things to do. The rooms are beautiful and the staff can't do enough for you. We would like to especially thank Carlos, our Bell Boy, Mirsa, our Hostess at the buffet, Christian our exceptional waiter at the Hacienda Grill and the staff Teo, Trinidad and Carla at the best Mexican Restaurant and Tequila Bar ever!! We can't wait to go back for two weeks next year!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are spacious with all amenities. Whether you choose the junior suite, one bedroom...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swuziq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Everything was very concise, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the resort is awesome. So many family activities that you can take part in, that you don't have to leave the resort. Be adventurous and try as many things as possible. Would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Great beds, great food, friendly staff, fabulous pools, fun activities, excellent resort.
I'd also like to give 5 STARS to the following people, who stood out to us and helped make our stay even more memorable and enjoyable:
Gaudencio (Area - Isla) was AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!
Diana & Julieta (Area - Kids Club) were excellent and our child LOVED Kids Club!
Guadalupe Contrerres (Area - Amad Ilaves (maid for room 1205)) did an exceptional job every day!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#13 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,084 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#50 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,635 reviews
6.1 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Play...
#58 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
6,504 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,219 reviews
8.4 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#36 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Tres Rios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Tres Rios

Address: Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Km. 54, Playa del Carmen 77760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#44 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#45 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#48 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $181 - $582 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hacienda Tres Rios 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy and relax in a sustainable tourism luxury development in the Mexican Caribbean, our Spa & Nature Park make it the perfect spot for relaxing while your younger and more adventurous companions explore the beauty of the Riviera Maya within a safe environment such as this award-winning eco-luxury hotel integrated within Tres Ríos Nature Park. Be part of a paradise designed to restore and preserve the natural landscape without sacrificing the comforts and amenities of a five star all-inclusive hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Hacienda Tres Rios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Tres Rios Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing