We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RICO SUAVE & DILBER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hacienda Tres Rios
Ranked #62 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
“RICO SUAVE & DILBER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I recently stayed at the Hacienda Tres Rios in Playa Del Carmen and the hotel experience was taken to the next level due to the hospitality of Dilber and Rico Suave (I wish I had his real name). During Casino night....Dilber provided the "plau money" and he partnered with me during the game of 21!!! He was so friendly and made the Casino Night even more fun with his smile and engagement. Every time we saw him, he asked if my family and I ( I traveled with my Uncle, Aunt, and husband) were OK and if we needed anything! He is AWESOME!

Rico Suave also made the visit fun through the events. He made us feel so welcome and he has a fun personality that made us all feel welcome. it truly made a difference for our overall stay. You have 2 gems in these gentlemen as they know how to connect with people and ensure your guests are having a good time along with ensuring their stay is comfortable!

To Rico and Dilber.......Thank you for your WARM HOSPITALITY! You made the stay fun and made us feel welcomed! I thank you!

Shimane Newman (Niece of the Scotts)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shimane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,067
    1,238
    479
    225
    258
See reviews for
2,581
1,596
48
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,013)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Batteries ran out for the safe and the door, so we were without our safe for a day and next day unable to enter our room from 9:00 am until 4:30 pm without calling for security to let us in 4 AA cells required.
The lighting in the bathroom, toilet and shower is dim and slow to reach full luminescent. The flourescent bulbs should be replaced with LEDs.
In order to watch TV one must be in bed. Unable to view from the couch.
Lots of noise from upstairs when they moved their dining chairs. A little piece of material would fix.
The bathroom sink would not hold water. Had to refill 5 times while shaving!
There were no straight back chairs around the pool areas.
Door latch (not the lock) to bathroom broke, left my wife stuck for an hour +. Help came after 22 minutes but took more than 30 minutes to finally breck the door down.
Laundry - The manual stated " Turn in by 8:30 am, return the afternoon of the next day". We had to call after 9:00 pm to get our laundry returned,\.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heathercrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens Point
1 review
Reviewed December 10, 2013

The service provided by the staff was excellent - espeically at the Hacienda Grill and the breakfasts at the Alebrije Restaurant - the rooms are amazing - very spacious, clean - staff does an excellent job in being there ..the location is great - very nice to have a shuttle available to Playa Del Carman - and shuttle from and to the airport ...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I'll start with the good;

The resort itself is fantastic. This is the 3rd year in a row that my friends and I have taken a fall trip to an all-inclusive in Mexico, and this was far and away the best food we've had. The Mexican restaurant (ironically) was probably the only meal that was even close to being classified as 'somewhat disappointing'. Everything else was fantastic. I can't say enough about that. As of the drinks, they use pretty decent alcohol for all the drinks they serve so, again, I can't complain there. The staff were absolutely fantastic and friendly as you can get. In particular I'd like to point out the great Andy. The guy was awesome and was more than happy to help. Gaudencio was great by the pool, always making sure that our drinks were topped up and was pretty damn funny as well. Yadira and Brenda in the buffet were always so pleasant and helpful, Frederico and Jonathon made sure that our Segway tour was so much fun (which is highly recommended), and Luis on reception was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Truthfully, I can't say anything bad about any of the staff. They were all great, each and every one of them. The Cenote swim and kayaking was great, the pool was so relaxing…honestly, the resort is just fantastic. It's an absolutely great place if you want to relax, unwind and just recharge your batteries.

Now, the bad;

When we booked this trip, it was during a big weekend sale on bookit.com. Through no fault of the resort itself, the fact that this resort was so much cheaper than normal being due to the fact that it's hugely centered around Time Share presentations and sales, was completely lost in the 'hype' of all of the sales going on through all of the other resorts. We weren't aware of the requirement to attend a time share presentation until we printed off our receipts. Now, granted, we're kind of stupid for not seeing it, but we felt a bit duped by bookit.com for not reiterating the point. The agent at bookit.com told us that the resort is a blast, so much fun, exciting nightlife, just had a friend come back from it raving about how great it is etc etc, when, in fact, there is absolutely NO nightlife whatsoever. The lights go out in the lobby at about 11:30, and the latest any of the bars are open until is 1am (sports bar). After that, you can order room service but that was pretty lacking if I'm honest. So, basically, don't go to this resort if you're looking for a vibrant nightlife. It's pretty quiet and more family oriented. Secondly, regarding the timeshare stuff, a lot of the people staying there, obviously, own time shares in the building. If they get someone who ISN'T involved in the program to go to a timeshare presentation, they get $100, and if you but a timeshare, they get $300 so, prepare to have a lot of other guests talk to you about timeshares. It wasn't anything to intrusive but it does get a bit tiring after a while. They're not overly pushy but it just gets a bit much.

All in all, it's a great resort, but just know what you're getting in to. Great staff, unbelievable food, awesome drinks, loved the pool, the cenote was refreshing as hell, but the timeshare stuff just kind of ruined it for me, as well as the fact that it's not exactly and younger crowd there. We're 5 guys in our 30's who went and there just wasn't much in the way of entertainment for a group like us. If you're going with your significant other, or family, this place is great. Definitely give the trip a solid 8 out of 10 though.

Room Tip: The cenote kind of stinks sometimes so, if if concerns you, try and get a room away from it. Not rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mcebro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
Reviewed December 10, 2013

This was our 5th stay at Hacienda Tres Rios as owners. We wish to thank the staff for their kindness, big smiles and excellent service. Some of the employees are our extended family and have been working within the Sunset Group for years. Seeing familiar faces and being greeted with a big hello upon arrival makes all the difference. Thank you José Luis Castaneda for always taking good care of us and for being a friend. Thank you Arely at Café Paris for your wonderful smile every morning and the artistic espressos - you are the best. Thank you Samuel Vargas, Claudia, the excellent supervisor at las Islas, the waiters at the restaurants and on the beach whom we absolutely treasure - Miguel, Gregorio, Santos, Fernando, 2xLuis, René, Ismail, Christian, the receptionists Paulina, Gabrielle, Brenda. Our camerista at Herencia Veronica and Julio our favourite Butler. The kind chauffeurs such as Miguel, Joel, the sailboat master on the beach. And last but not least, we wish to praise the lost son Oscar, the Master Chef who is back at Tres Rios. You are all our Mayan Princes and Princesas. Vos deseamos feliz Navidad y un prospero ano nuevo. Hasta l'ano proximo, amigos!
Mariana y Samuel Weidmann

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msweidmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

First of all I would like to express my gratitude to Mr. Jorge Nolasco due to attention to details and service during my visit, I would like to recognize the great attitude of Gina and Diana at the front desk .. Tres Rios Hotel has in all of them a jewels of service. I thank you wiht my best regards. Lic. Aurora Negrete; Chief Executive Tourism Coordinator. Universidad La Salle, Cancún

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 254Aurora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Definitely the best hotel I have yet to stay at. The ocean is beautiful, there's plenty of stuff to do there, you will never get bored. From the awesome entertainment team(Luis Bernardo, Dilber, Lili, and Andy) to going on the kayaks. There's never a dull moment there. The food there is also tremendous.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,841 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#49 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,549 reviews
6.1 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Play...
#56 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
6,193 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
15,894 reviews
8.4 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#33 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Tres Rios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Tres Rios

Property: Hacienda Tres Rios
Address: Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Km. 54, Playa del Carmen 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#44 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#44 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#48 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hacienda Tres Rios 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy and relax in a sustainable tourism luxury development in the Mexican Caribbean, our Spa & Nature Park make it the perfect spot for relaxing while your younger and more adventurous companions explore the beauty of the Riviera Maya within a safe environment such as this award-winning eco-luxury hotel integrated within Tres Ríos Nature Park. Be part of a paradise designed to restore and preserve the natural landscape without sacrificing the comforts and amenities of a five star all-inclusive hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hacienda Tres Rios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Tres Rios Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing