We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas in November”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hacienda Tres Rios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hacienda Tres Rios
Ranked #61 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Bismarck, North Dakota
1 review
“Christmas in November”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Had a fun time. Thank you, Luis for getting us to a room with a fresh smell. Oscar the chef provided a great menu to choose from and the special anniversary cake for the 1st anniversary celebration for our daughter and son-in-law was spectacular. Samuel was a great go to for reservations and keeping the pool tidy. The room decorations everyday when we returned from the beach were delightful, thank you, Santos. Did have to wait a long time for pool service. It appeared that the resort was somewhat understaffed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd floor or above, they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Hacienda Tres Rios, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your nice comments and choosing Hacienda Tres Rios to celebrate such a special occasion as you daughter's first anniversary.
It was our pleasure to be your host and we hope to see you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,962
    1,193
    463
    216
    248
See reviews for
2,467
1,551
46
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (988)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Md
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

This was our first time staying at the resort and we expected a lot from what we had read about it. It is a green resort which makes you think of cutting corners on water use and air conditioning. Not so the case. The resort is well kept including the grounds, beaches and the preserve nest to the resort.There is some sand errotion in the shallow water. We took rubber shoes with us.
We we there before check in time which was very fast and went to the bar. Our first room was second floor with a nice view but not great. (The resort had two wings under renovation)We received a better room two days later when available. The resort promo photos were taken from one of our balconies. The beds are great.
The food in all restaurants was very good. (pick and choose what they do well) We didn't eat dinner at the buffet but we looked at it one evening and we were impressed.
Live music at dinner in most restaurants. The wine was average but better than most AI's. Port and brandy also available. The service was exceptional every where. We tipped a little.
The entertainment and activities for adults were daily worth while. We participated in:
Spainish lessons each day
Sushi making
Wine tasting (all the house wines}
Taquila tasting
Evening shows (Day of the Dead was the best, only once a year though)
Free trips to Playa del Carmen
Chef's Table (extra $)
There are more activities for next time.
There is no hard sell for time shares. You are asked if you are interested and then that is all there was.
We had some rain but took a DVD player with us. We found the resort very quiet for a family resort. There is a lot of nature at this resort and we took our time to enjoy it.

Room Tip: It seems that they will give the best available if you ask and if they have it. 3rd fl or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelismyforte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

We were here with our family of two teenagers. The resort is very nice with good restaurant. The staff are very nice and accomadating. My kids love the pizza place best and they had it almost every day for lunch. the beach was not blue like you expect from the Carribean.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank shirl002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Hacienda Tres Rios, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank your for your nice comments on our resort.
We are glad to read you enjoyed our gastronomic offer which is coordinated by skilled food specialists and professional chefs turning each meal into a delicious, healthy and delightful experience for every guest.
Next time we invite you to visit our Kakao Beach which is located across the river where you can enjoy more clear blue water.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

My husband and I had a lovely, relaxing and fun-filled week. The resort was clean and beautifully landscaped. The staff was phenomenal, especially Miguel at the grill. We were pleasantly surpised by the highly entertaining theater shows. The "cirque" show is a must see. What a treat is was to swim in a cenote and kayak down the river. The only negative was the timeshare presentation--our salesperson was relentless, and unfortunately, that will be the message that we will give to friends and relatives that are thinking about visiting. Tone it down a bit and you might just get more guests willing to take the tour.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie50_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

The staff was excellent and just to name a few:
Roberto from Camaristo, Abraham Estarrone from the buffet, Janina from the Greacion De Momento, Gregorio, Christian Balan from the pool and Eddie. They made the trip excellent with such fantastic service!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linaed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

This was my first visit as an owner. It surpassed all of my expectations. The staff was firendly, without being overbearing. Even rainy October turned to sunshine for the week we were there. I have to say, that October was a great time to visit as nothing was crowded, even if you do have to cross your fingers for good weather.

Can't wait for our next visit in April with our family.

I'd like to mention a few of the staff who spent their time making sure we had a great visit.
Janina – Greacion De Momento (Memory Maker) who took us on our snorkling trip in the Senote
Gregorio - every morning at breakfast, and great pizza.
Christian Balan – Mesero Pool - was our overall favorite. Never let our glasses get empty by the pool
Eddie who taught us about the wine the resort serves, and took care of us in the Italian restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

The Hacienda Tres Rios was a beautiful and relaxing hotel, but what made it "extraordinary" was the staff. Every single member of the staff was incredibly friendly, courteous, fun and friendly. They seemed to know our every wish, and it became their command. Even in a quite conversation with my friend about something we were interested, the next thing we know, it's right there! The staff was hilarious and fun. My glass was empty for about 30 sec. before it was being refilled. I would be walking toward my chair, and there was someone there to pull it out. Any request, large or small, was always handled. The staff actually became our friends. I wish I could have taken them home with me. I miss you already Gregorio, Jaime, Gamaliel and especially Ruben.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzieMP7448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
3.9 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#45 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,356 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,585 reviews
6.1 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#42 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
3.3 mi away
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Play...
#54 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,769 reviews
3.2 mi away
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Viceroy Riviera Maya
#13 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Tres Rios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Tres Rios

Property: Hacienda Tres Rios
Address: Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Km. 54, Playa del Carmen 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#41 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#42 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#48 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hacienda Tres Rios 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy and relax in a sustainable tourism luxury development in the Mexican Caribbean, our Spa & Nature Park make it the perfect spot for relaxing while your younger and more adventurous companions explore the beauty of the Riviera Maya within a safe environment such as this award-winning eco-luxury hotel integrated within Tres Ríos Nature Park. Be part of a paradise designed to restore and preserve the natural landscape without sacrificing the comforts and amenities of a five star all-inclusive hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hacienda Tres Rios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Tres Rios Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing