We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Trip!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hacienda Tres Rios
Ranked #57 of 210 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Laguna Hills, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Trip!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I read other reviews of peoples that weren't so kind and was slightly scared going in. But... I can not say enough about this resort!
The staff definitely made my vacations one of the best!!
The food was great and staff was amazing. We went in November so the weather was of and on but there was definitely enough to keep ourselves busy. I highly recommend but maybe not so much for kids.
Gabriela Ana De Llaver serviced our room and was amazing and Gregorio and Jorge were our waiters and I can not say enough about them both!

Room Tip: We had full ocean view and it was incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,650
    1,068
    415
    197
    219
See reviews for
2,195
1,399
41
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (904)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Racine, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My friends and I travel quite often and overall we enjoyed our stay at Hacienda Tres Rios. We stayed in a two bedroom suite. I personally loved the marble floors throughout including in the shower. The only issue that we had, was that they were unable to get our private roof-toop hot tub, to work. That didn't bother us as there were sufficient pools and the ocean was just outside.

Upon our arrival we were greeted with a cool glass of pinapple/cucumber juice, that was a nice touch! Although the staff was nice, the only individual who went out of his way to make us feel welcomed was Javier (I believe that was his name), the bartender/waiter at the outdoor resaurant. After the second night, he would bring us different drinks to try out. The Hacienda was nicely decorated and in the evening the lights gave it a beautiful romantic ambiance.

The Hacienda Tres Rios is nice and relaxing, and has many outdoor activities available during the daylight hours, but if you are looking for night life fun, this is not the place for you. You will not find it here as you will need to go possibly to Playa De Carmen for that.

Finally the food... it was amazing!! Fresh juice of various flavors in the morning with traditional Mexcian dishes such as chilaquiles, black beans and prickly pears... yumm!!! Even the chorizo pizza from the stonefire grill was amazing. The evening meals of seafood were all prepared perfectly.

So overall it was a very good trip, I'd return with the family for a relaxing time!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmaliaG679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We exchanged through RCI and had an optional all-inclusive studio (hotel) room that only came with a stocked mini fridge. To save a ton of money, we chose not to do the AI plan. Food isn't particularly important to us on vacation so we went into Playa to get food/drinks/supplies at Wal-Mart. (See if you can take the shuttle to Sunset Fisherman and have the driver drop you off in town instead. A taxi to or from the resort will cost $20 each way. You can also walk out to the highway and wait for a bus (collectivo).) We were able to store our cold items in the fridge without disturbing the stocked (fee) items. We asked for a microwave and they brought us one (of possibly only 2 available??) so we were able to heat up food such as Easy Mac, hot dogs, Ramen noodles, oatmeal, tea, etc. If you are through RCI, you can attend the Sun night welcome buffet for $120MX per person (about $10USD). Besides the "free" timeshare breakfast, the welcome buffet was the only meal we ate at the resort. We only ate out once in Playa as well - at Karen's on 5th Ave. It was pretty good food and not outrageously expensive (we spent $20USD for 2 entrees, a soda, and a beer).

The following activities were available at Tres Rios during our stay, without incurring any additional charges:
- beach beds - thought these might need to be reserved ($?) but always found one open and no one ever bothered us
- tours (must reserve spots): Sensa (husband didn't like; I thought it was a little odd but interesting); bike; kayak; snorkel
- Hobie catamaran - find at the beach and wait your turn to go out with guide
- kayak - you can get at the beach and take up the 2nd river by yourself (the 1st river is the one with the "tour" and also the one you snorkel through)
- shuttle to Sunset Fisherman in PlayaCar - have to reserve spots and I think it's only for members (not sure if this is Sunset members only or all RCI)
- if someone is walking around with a wheelbarrow, chopping the tops off of coconuts, you can get one with a straw and drink the coconut water

The resort was beautiful - the pools sparkle and the grounds were well maintained. Our room was kept clean and staff throughout the resort was friendly. The sea water in this region isn't as pretty as in Cancun or in Playa, but the beach was adequate since we primarily just enjoy the sound of the waves. We enjoyed all the activities (tours) available onsite in the eco park area. We used the tap water in our room and didn't have any issues.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d2price
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This was a very good place to enjoy some rest, beauty and nature. The service was excellent, with lots of kindness, great food, and very timely. The rooms are comfortable and clean, location very convenient to visit Playa del Carmen and Tulum. I personally enjoy everything. The only disappointment was their beach, currently it supposed to be in "remodeling" process, we were not able to enjoy that, otherwise a very good place to stay, with activities for the children and adults.

Room Tip: Comfortable, nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I walk into the resort and Samuel greats us like we are super stars. There is not one person who does not deliver excellent service. This is the hardest working staff I have ever seen. It does feel like home a comfortable paradise.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank School121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

great and safe place to stay, nice jungle and sea. the staff are truly amazing, food and drinks are awesome. we are treated like a family. the best place so far that I visited. try the once in a life time wonderful experience in this resort.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kevince94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

The staff was excellent; maids and waiters and servers. Gregori was the best ever. Always had a smile and made you feel right at home.The rooms were nice and we had a great view. The price of the all inclusive was too high for what you get for food choices. The least favorite of foods from everywhere we have went all inclusive. The bars were hard to get drinks from and not very many open at different times of the day or night. Once the main staff knew we were not going to sign on as our home vacation spot they ignored us so hard to know what all there was to do and see around the hotel. We went to their sister hotel the Fisherman (that we found out about on our own) and got better service there. Paid $25 each to go on a tour around the nature park and the tour guide took us on a 10 minute jaunt and barely said 2 words about the history of the nature park. That could be improved a bit. Otherwise the beach was nice, pool was awesome and we totally had a good time in spite of the other factors above. Made some good friends with other vacationers and It is all in what you make of it yourself. Probably won't go back there because we have stayed at many places that had better hospitality and food choices.

Room Tip: Beach view awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
4.0 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#44 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 2,825 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#12 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 2,929 reviews
3.7 mi away
Kin Sol Soleil
Kin Sol Soleil
#5 of 5 in Playa Maroma
5.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Petit Lafitte
Petit Lafitte
#9 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,243 reviews
0.7 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#27 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 8,095 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 2,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Tres Rios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Tres Rios

Property: Hacienda Tres Rios
Address: Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Km. 54, Playa del Carmen 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#42 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#50 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hacienda Tres Rios 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy and relax in a sustainable tourism luxury development in the Mexican Caribbean, our Spa & Nature Park make it the perfect spot for relaxing while your younger and more adventurous companions explore the beauty of the Riviera Maya within a safe environment such as this award-winning eco-luxury hotel integrated within Tres Ríos Nature Park. Be part of a paradise designed to restore and preserve the natural landscape without sacrificing the comforts and amenities of a five star all-inclusive hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hacienda Tres Rios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Tres Rios Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing