We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want service, go elsewhere”
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hacienda Tres Rios
Ranked #65 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Third time at this resort. We really thought this time would be different. Service is at best poor. Top shelf liquor is nowhere to be found. Sports Bar consists of 4 out of 5 televesions with soccer on. No American football, college or pro.
Grounds are absolutely beautiful with 2 very nice pools. Beach pool needs a bar and bathrooms. There is no beach to speak of and the water is black from the 3 rivers that come together and empty into the ocean. The pool bar is mass confusion and it seemed that if you don't speak Spanish, your service becomes slower. Has great potential but I have had enough.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bunkerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Hacienda Tres Rios, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Guest:
Thank you for your comments and feedback.
We are sorry to know that we were not able to fulfill your expectations on this third visit and we apologize for that.
Our guest satisfaction is our main concern at Hacienda Tres Rios and your feedback enable us to review our standards and procedures but most of all to continue providing the excellent service we have become known for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,711)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,337 - 2,343 of 5,713 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Try the tres rios,..activities includes in their property are amazing such as sense adventure, cenotes, kayak, snorkel, biking, spa, massage, nursery tour, choices of restaurant, and much more ,.....thanks for their service who works hard,..luis and enrique at the buffet, erick lopez-bell boy,..betsy acosta-hostess,..alejandra -our concierge,.. javier-waiter and luis bolio,..they deserve to get a credits ..

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LILY P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Hacienda Tres Rios, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us and took our guided eco-park tours to our Tres Rios Nature Park with its 326 acres of rivers, an estuary, ten cenotes (fresh water springs) and a tranquil sandy beach.
Next time you visit us, remember to take our Segway Tour and see the nature park, nursery and beach on this two-wheeled self-balancing battery-powered electric vehicle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The waiters are very attentive. Our favourite waiter was Gregorio. He's great! The Captain Bell Boy, Erick Lopez looked after us really good. The Social Director, Janina, was so great with our family. These people helped make our trip wonderful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Hacienda Tres Rios, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Guest:
Thank you for your nice comments. We are glad to know you were able to experience our Mexican Hospitality and had a wonderful trip.
Come back soon remember your private Mexican retreat awaits you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

A fabulous hotel, the beach wasn't great but I'm landlocked and didn't really care. The staff was amazing. The location near Playa del Carmen was really close to a lot of attractions, with 30 minutes to anywhere but the cab rides were too expensive, and had to count on transportation from the hotel but that was okay too. Yadira Ramivez was a fabulous Hostess very genuine and attentive. Gregorio Enrique Sanchez at Casa las Islas and the Grill was our waiter most of the time and he was fabulous, all the staff were very accommodating but Gregorio always made sure to take care of any requests we had, he was our go to guy. I think he would make a brilliant concierge for the hotel! He really did genuinely care about our vacation, our needs and requests, and certainly helped make this the best vacation we have ever taken.

Room Tip: I found this hotel to be nice and quiet - and I believe most rooms had an ocean view. We were on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ILuvMX2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Hacienda Tres Rios, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your nice comments specially on our staff which we are proud of.
Next time you visit us, remember to visit our Ya’ax Che Spa and relax, refresh your mind, rejuvenate your body, and cleanse your soul.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My family loves this place so much that we seem to upgrade our time share every year. The staff seems to take a lot of pride in their facility and always seem happy to see us. One of our favorite staff members is Luis De La Cruz :D

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Hacienda Tres Rios, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to share your comment and for your preference. It is always our pleasure to be your host and we are looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

It was our best vacation so far and well recommended. Employee's we're awesome, they keep smiling and greet every guest as they passed by. Good food with lots of choices, its a combination of Mexican/Europian/Oriental food.Resort was very clean especially in our room with jacuzzi, polite housekeeper named Arturo.We appreciated the good service from all the employee in this Resort. Highly Recommended! I feel like I am the king of my own palacio! Love Mexico now!
mr augi
Toronto

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrAugi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Hacienda Tres Rios, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Guest:
Thank you for your nice comments, specially on our staff which we are prouf of.
We are glad to know you were able to experience our Mexican Hospitality and had your best vacation ever.
Come back soon, it will be our pleasure to be your host again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Arely in the Cafe Paris is an example of the type of employee that makes a wonderful resort experience. If they all had her attitude there would never be any complaints. She should be rewarded with a day of enjoying the activities that the guests enjoy.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Hacienda Tres Rios, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Guest:
Thank you for your nice comments specially on Arely. She is an outstanding member of our staff and we are really proud of her and her hard work, giving always "A great service, a great smile". Staff members who are mentioned by our guests for the quality of service they give, participate in our program "Celebrating a great service" where they share a special moment with the management.
Come back soon, remember your private Mexican retreat awaits you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
7.9 mi away
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
#78 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
1,075 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4,278 reviews
6.1 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#30 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
2,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#45 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
3,802 reviews
10.8 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#71 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
13,438 reviews
3.1 mi away
Petit Lafitte
Petit Lafitte
#9 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Tres Rios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Tres Rios

Address: Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Km. 54, Playa del Carmen 77760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#43 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#47 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#48 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#48 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $198 - $762 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hacienda Tres Rios 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy and relax in a sustainable tourism luxury development in the Mexican Caribbean, our Spa & Nature Park make it the perfect spot for relaxing while your younger and more adventurous companions explore the beauty of the Riviera Maya within a safe environment such as this award-winning eco-luxury hotel integrated within Tres Ríos Nature Park. Be part of a paradise designed to restore and preserve the natural landscape without sacrificing the comforts and amenities of a five star all-inclusive hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Hacienda Tres Rios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Tres Rios Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing