We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great resort even better massage” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hacienda Tres Rios
Ranked #57 of 210 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great resort even better massage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Sandy from the spa does a great massage and would highly recommend one and if you book it on a Monday you get 2 4 1 on back shoulder massage for $66 great service for the money!!!!!

Would recommend if you come to Mexico to stay at this resort great service and really good food.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ak2k84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,668
    1,072
    420
    200
    222
See reviews for
2,209
1,411
41
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (907)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We were literally held hostage by the staff at Tres Rio. They tried to scam us with their timeshare, then when we did not buy one they tried to increase the charge for our room and refused to honor their confirmation. Then, when we wouldn't pay more money, they changed the locks on our room, then had a dozen staff members physically block us from leaving the hotel. They literally held us hostage to extort more money from us because we wouldn't buy their timeshare. Do not set foot inside this hotel or let anyone you know set foot inside this hotel if you value your personal safety.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Hacienda Tres Rios, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Guest:
We are sorry to hear about your experience at Hacienda Tres Rios. It does by no means represent the manner in which we treat our valued guests. The promotion through wish you traveled included a discounted rate in exchange for your participation in an amenities tour of the property and an explanation of the resort’s residence club. In order to avoid any dissatisfaction we ensure all guests are aware of the terms of participation of these special promotions and place a visible note on the resort’s confirmation letters to reinforce the other mentions of this requirement.
Our system shows that upon check in you decided not to participate in the amenities tour and opted to cover the difference in nightly rate, however after considering it further refused to do either. The purchase of any of our products is not a condition for the discounted rate you received however the participation in the amenities tour is.
We are currently investigating as to the reason why you were unaware of the conditions of the promotions you used to travel with regardless of having it in writing on your paperwork. It is our goal to provide relaxing vacation experiences and would never intentionally set up unexpected surprises for our guests. Considering the situation we do stand by our decision to ask you to comply with the terms clearly outlined on your paper work.
Due to the size of your party and the commotion caused by the misunderstanding, several staff members approached the check in counter out of concern for the safety of guests standing nearby, however by no means were they there to restrain your group in any way. We regret it came across this way and regret any confusion regarding our products and services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

“Had an amazing week,We are very happy we stayed at Hacienda Tres Rios and would definitely return, rooms are spacious & clean.
Service- From checkin , Leticia & Erica E-concierge and Luis who unselfishly offered to go w/ me & my 4yr. old for kayaking so my daughter could experience this was above &beyond . Travelling with a kid can be something of a challenge but w/ the help of Monica & Tania fr. Kids Club looking after fr 10am to 6pm everyday,precautions are taken to keep the children safe & active this 2 ladies did a great job I was able to enjoy my vacation . The staff was so helpful, I will never forget Carlos Perez his area is at Forno AYB did everything to please us we call him "White Tea" offered me a tea & I ask him what kind of tea they have he said "black tea, green tea, orange tea i started a joke & ask him for a white tea he paused for a while then came back to our surpirse he gave me a cup w/ hot water (color white) we started laughing this guy has a good sense of humor. We came stressed and tired to the hotel, but left rejuvenated and happy.

Room Tip: room 2003 corner noise at the middle of the night you can hear a passing cart since this is next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ROGELIO O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Hacienda Tres Rios, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank your for sharing your experience at Hacienda Tres Ríos specially your nice words about our staff which inspire us to continue offering a great service with a great smile.
We are also glad to read that you were able to rest and left the hotel rejuvenated and happy.
Come back soon, it will be our pleasure to be your host again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

it started as we arrived at the resort! Silvestre(macho) greeted us with a wonderful warm smile and great sense of humor! absolutley loved the pool and the excellent service we recieved from Bautista, olga,and all of the staff! pablo and staff made the best pizzas ever! Eduardo was beyond wonderful at the grill! he made us feel like royalty!the resort was clean , peaceful , and absolutly beautiful! Luisand jerry were an absolute hoot! they took us kayaking and snorkeling!!and when they were at the pool they were so much fun! the hobie cat ride with joel was magnificent! our sons favorite was of course the pastry shop!! and the cake at the pizza place!
i would go back in a minute! aside from the zoom photography personel, as they were creepy and made us feel uncomfortable, the staff and overall resort was a definite 5 star!

Room Tip: there are no bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kurtieswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I spent the past week with my cousin and her three children 4, 6 and 8 years old, at this resort and just have to say it was a tremendous vacation. Our room was clean. The service was excellent from the moment I arrive to the time I left. The food was great. We enjoyed 24 hour room service, several restaurants as well as the buffet and many activities such as kayaking, snorkeling and catamaran trips free, all included. The children enjoyed the kids club and we all enjoyed the evening activities. In particular the kids enjoyed Monica and Tania who went out of their way as did Joel Mao. We met several Canadians there as well as many new American friends. I highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kkeating11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We went as a couple- both 42, both adventure travelers/partiers. So we get to this gorgeous place and it blew us away. New, fresh, clean, beautiful. Well thought out, from lighting to layout to eco - engineering. Love the sustainability aspect of it in the Mexican emerging marketplace. We really enjoyed the pools (no swim-up bars, just ask a passing service-staffer to bring you drinks and snacks) and we did almost every activity except taking the Hobie cat out and the Bike and Segway tours. Sneakers are required for the bike tour, and we didn't have time for Hobie. We went into Playacar for the beach two days, and both times went to Playa Del Carmen to hang out. PDC is all about the night life- loved it, and Playacar is gorgeous for the beach...perfect sand and water. The food at HTR is maybe a 6 or 7 out of 10. The Mexican restaurant was awesome- we spent A LOT of time enjoying some amazing tequilas, poured by my fave bartender, Theophil. He was amazing. Find him as soon as you can. All the guys in the Mexican restaurant were wonderful- Eloi, Jose and David were the life of the party upthere. We didn't go to the Italian restaurant. Ate at the buffet for dinner once. Ate breakfast buffet every day- it was awesome- fresh, varied and healthy (most of it was healthy.) He was on top of his game, and basically had our coffee and juice detox stuff down before we could sit. He was awesome. We skipped lunch or found something poolside- there is a cracker-thin crust, brick oven (wood-fired) pizza place tucked away behind the first pool called Al Forno- great place for a beer and a small bite. Hacienda Grill was all about the meat and cocktails. Nothing for vegetarians like me, but he dug it for the most part. Find Benjamin under the small palapas at the beach-side pool. He's a great dive instructor and snorkel tour guide. Enjoyed the dives- shallow reefs with some decent stuff to see. There is a sort of wasted space inside the lobby of HTR, the only bar open late. It's called The Sports Bar, and it's open until 1 am. Gustavo and Consuelo were behind the bar and always made good drinks, but the place needs music or something. It was always dead, with people zoned out to the footie on the TVs. We shot pool once, but the atmosphere was so weird and low key, it brought the vibe down too much. We used it as a last resort for drinks. We would make our way up to the room with drinks and then order room service when we wanted to get into the hot tub at night on our balcony. What can I say? We were spoiled rotten at HTR. Again, everything was awesome except for the lack of nightlife. We went in the beginning of the summer season, so I get that it was slow, but it was REALLY dead. Lots of families, a couple of weddings, some honeymooners. Go to Playa Del Carmen for the bar scene and the awesome walking promenade at night. Total fun. In the mornings, head to the small coffee shop, and no matter how banged up you got the night before, Alejandra Esparza would make sure I had a giant espresso to get us going again before we headed out to Chichen Itza, Diving and snorkeling with Benjamin, snorkeling and kayaking in the cenote and the sea (be careful when you wander on the sea kayak- we saw a big gator jump into the water three feet off our bow as we ventured into a sketchy lagoon- the northern most cenote outlet.) All in all, we had a fantastic trip all the way around. I hope you enjoy this place as much as we did. :)

Room Tip: Suite with jacuzzi on the balcony. Epic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank H R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale Heights, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

First I want to let you know the names of the people I feel delivered nothing less then 6 star service: Rosalie SPA,Gustaco Consuelo sports bar, Santos restaurant grill, Gabriela ama de llavs,Consuelo sports bar, Gregorio, Matega front desk and a special notice goes to Silvestre the bell man for helping me and my guests to get a ride to the airport, that was already paid for to Premier Travel and who failed to pick us up as planned. Silvestre also gave us 6 star service. You should be very proud of your staff at this hotel, extremely impressive! Food was first rate, also above 6 stars. One person who I was very disappointed in was the concierge Vidol. He immeddiatly lost interest in helping me with anything as soon as I did not go on a tour of the units for a sale. I would advise anyone to steer clear of him. Do not use Premier Travel, very poor service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwolt59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
4.0 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#44 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 2,852 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 2,977 reviews
3.7 mi away
Kin Sol Soleil
Kin Sol Soleil
#5 of 5 in Playa Maroma
5.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Le Reve Hotel & Spa
Le Reve Hotel & Spa
#90 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 738 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 2,488 reviews
3.1 mi away
Petit Lafitte
Petit Lafitte
#13 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Tres Rios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Tres Rios

Property: Hacienda Tres Rios
Address: Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Km. 54, Playa del Carmen 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#39 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#42 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#50 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hacienda Tres Rios 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy and relax in a sustainable tourism luxury development in the Mexican Caribbean, our Spa & Nature Park make it the perfect spot for relaxing while your younger and more adventurous companions explore the beauty of the Riviera Maya within a safe environment such as this award-winning eco-luxury hotel integrated within Tres Ríos Nature Park. Be part of a paradise designed to restore and preserve the natural landscape without sacrificing the comforts and amenities of a five star all-inclusive hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hacienda Tres Rios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Tres Rios Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing