We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Vacation”
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hacienda Tres Rios
Ranked #65 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2013

My family and I had such a great time at the Hacienda Tres Rios this past week. Thank you too all the amazing staff that made our vacation so memorable (Olga, Bautista, Gergorio, Rosario, Jonathan, Fedrico, Santiago, Natalie, and many more). You were all so wonderful.

The resort is beautiful and a perfect place to stay if you are looking for relaxation and fun. I can't wait to go back. I tried their new Segway tour and it was so much fun. I met so many nice people during my stay and loved the 24 hour room service, especially after a night of drinking. There were lots of activities within the resort and if you felt like leaving the resort offered complimentary shuttle service to Playa del Carmen or you could take a taxi for $20.

Two tips I have for travelers is to ask for a later check out if needed and even though this is an all inclusive make sure you tip. A little tip goes a long way. Enjoy!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLHawkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,706)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,562 - 2,568 of 5,706 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

My family & I would like to say "Thank You" for the wonderful experience we've had at Hacienda Resort. Specially thanks to Leticia Zertucle who's been very helpful answering all our questions, to the friendly bell boy Erick Lopez and also the waitres Alejandro. Great job guys!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marianne f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Paid for Mangrove view and got partial ocean view! Great location for day travels which is what we want to do but lots to do on the premises (free as well as w/ fees) if you want a down day. The hotel was well staffed and every place was very clean. The staff was as nice as they can be and always had a smile. The way the hotel was situated with the mangroves all around made it so private and relaxing. The food was a bit disappointing. It really was all the same whether it's in the buffet or in one of the restaurants. However, the fruit and fruit juice are amazing!!! I can just live on that! We ended up in the buffet a lot because we just wanted to be casual. The service was amazing. You get your own food but the minute a waiter sees that you are done they clear your plate. It was better than the restaurants. We kept tipping the waiters because they really worked hard and always with a smile.

Room Tip: We were very happy with our room. We did not want to pay for a room that ha an ocean view. We opted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yu-ling w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We just returned from a week of fun and relaxation. We were a party of 12 people who arrived to celebrate my Mom's 80th. Tres Rios is clean, fun, and safe. The food is a little gourmet for kids but there is a kids menu and flexible kitchen staff that allowed them to eat well for the whole week (including the brick oven pizza). The pool, volleyball and kayaking was fun. Would have loved to take a Hobie Cat but it was too windy. Went scuba diving down the cenote which was somewhat boring due to the lack of fish.

Most of the staff worked very hard to please. Tipping to show our appreciation was rewarded with even better service. Some highlights:

Concierge - Shakira worked hard to facilitate our schedule at the spa and with transportation.
Kid's Club - my 4 year old loved Monica and Tania who provided crafts, water fun, and supervision (a free service to members). The outdoor movie (Despicable Me) and marshmallow roast was a big hit
Luis and Miguel at the Mexican Grille were impressive waiters and took very good care of us.
Bautista and Olga were very attentive poolside with drinks and lunch.
Santos kept our room very clean and is an artist with towels.

If you want a beautiful beach, go to Fisherman's in Playa del Carmen using the free shuttle. Shopping in Playa is fun too.

We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Timothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

First, in our vacation, everything was fantastic, the value, the sleep quality, the clenliness, the location, the room, the food, the children activities and the AMAZING service. Miss Alejandra Ezparza from area AyB (casa los islos) is a lovely lady that is very kind, sweet, gentle and always there if we need something (FANTASTIC SERVICE). I recommend her!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are actually fantastic!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

GOOD: Nice buildings, nice people, nice big room (junior suite), no carpet, nice decor, safe locker for jewelry and documents, balcony, TV with Phillips DVD player (DVD and USB), tea and coffee maker in room (never used), separate shower and toilet, small refrigerator with beverages(water, 7up, beer) in the room.
2 restaurants + 1 buffet + 1 buffet/restaurant + 1 outside grill + 1 outside pizza place (food and drinks 3.5 - 4.5 out 5). Only one restaurant requires closed nose shoes and pants – I would not bother brining them.
BAD: Not in Resort/Hotel Zone (30 min drive from airport, but closer to Xcaret)
NO BEACH!!!, need to walk to 3-4 resorts down (20-25 min walk), no transportation to beach. This is why I rated this resort low. It is not 4.5 Expedia star resort without beach. Told that they will “make” a nice beach, starting “tomorrow” and ready to use in 6-8 months… you will see… April 2013 and counting. They provide a free shuttle to Fisherman Resort (20-25 min drive), a simple resort (same owner)with nice beach, 1 pool and 1 small outside restaurant and 1 restaurant/buffet, 2 bars, nice resorts nearby. Do not be late for your shuttle (anywhere): 1 min late and “your van has left, please, take taxi back to the resort “($22 from Fisherman to 3Rios, or $10-15 to Xcaret).

Episodically bad smell from “all green” water from rivers inside the property.
Kayaking and snorkeling in cold water rivers, only until 4PM
Musty smell in the room in the first day.
Shower overflows with water (bad drain, I do not know if only in our room), no locks on shower door, no air vent in toilet
Shuttles are very old mini vans but with A/C, few are newer :-)
Sunscreen in resort shop is ~$35 for a big bottle ($25-45 different brands)
ATM $32 to get min $100 + fee of your bank
Tours: Xcaret ~$135/day for adult, $105 child (bus will pick up and return). Can buy on-line directly from Xcaret with Master Card 1 day free deal: $98 adult + $30+30 2 days transportation, resort will give a ride to the front gate where Xcaret bus waiting. Xcaret driver/guide will sell sunscreen (medium bottle) for $15, may also offer 10% “close friend” discount for additional attractions inside Xcaret for 2 and more tickets.

If you think about buying something from timeshare presentation: something like bellow (do not quote me for 100%): 1 week ~$1900 for 30 years (+/- 1 additional week that will start using after 12 years) + ~$1000/year maintains fee + $55/$99 all inclusive/day. After salesmen done with you, there is also better offer “directly from builder”. For sure it was longer than 90 min (8:30AM-noon).
We paid $799+$23 fee from credit card for 4 nights 2 adults + 8 yo child in April 2013, all inclusive, with transportation from/to airport (30min drive). You can negotiate the price.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MakeWorldBetterPlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We had a great time at Hacienda Tres Rios. The rooms and most of the resort are laid with beautiful large tile. The shower was large and had great water pressure. Very friendly and accomodating staff. Louis at the Grill by the pool was fabulous, always had our drinks filled and special food that he knew we liked that wasn't on the menu! Great rivers that come into the ocean right on the beach at the resort. Very refreshing as they were cooler than the ocean and clearer. Some Great dinning at the Italian restaurant also. Open air Pizza cafe with brick oven fired pizza and calzones. Excellent Mexican breakfast buffet with lots of international choices. Great fruit! Leticia in VIP Concierge was excellent. Louis at checkin desk was very helpful. We really enjoyed the dinning at Grill by pool with Louis, Mario the manager and Betty the hostess! They had an excellent Saxaphonist playing to moonlight dinners. We will be back in December!

Room Tip: We had the worst location for a room, on bottom floor with mangroves outside of balcony, and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mwstokes62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
7.9 mi away
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
#82 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
1,072 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#11 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4,271 reviews
6.1 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
2,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#45 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
3,797 reviews
10.8 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#71 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
13,427 reviews
3.1 mi away
Petit Lafitte
Petit Lafitte
#9 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Tres Rios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Tres Rios

Address: Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Km. 54, Playa del Carmen 77760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#43 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#47 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#48 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#48 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $196 - $759 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hacienda Tres Rios 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy and relax in a sustainable tourism luxury development in the Mexican Caribbean, our Spa & Nature Park make it the perfect spot for relaxing while your younger and more adventurous companions explore the beauty of the Riviera Maya within a safe environment such as this award-winning eco-luxury hotel integrated within Tres Ríos Nature Park. Be part of a paradise designed to restore and preserve the natural landscape without sacrificing the comforts and amenities of a five star all-inclusive hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hacienda Tres Rios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Tres Rios Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing