We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hacienda Tres Rios
Ranked #64 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The property itself was great had 2 good sized pools with lots of space. The motel itself was very elegant and nicely layed out. The beach was nice but a little walk across the bridge and had lots of fish to see in its lagoon. Could have used daybeds for guests and not just members as there is little shade anywhere and limited umbrellas. My favorite part of the resort was the nature park with several cenotes to snorkel in and 3 rivers to go up and down with kayaks or snorkel gear "it made the vacation". The 3rd river though I would be careful and probably not snorkel as we saw 2 crocodiles while kayaking it and it is more rustic then the other two with very shallow areas and others were it was hard to get the kayak through the mangroves since it became so narrow. The restaurants were wonderful we were limited to not eating at the Mexican restaurant due to us being allergic to nuts and could not eat at the Italian restaurant because was only for adults. But did eat at the others and the food was excellent could improve the selection of food at the buffet though as was pretty much the same food each time we ate there. The Chinese restaurant had very nice presentation and great tasting food. The pizzeria had unbelievable calzones and the grill next to the adult pool was excellent with good portions.The bar service everywhere on the resort was unbelievable never had such good service especially from Aracely. The downfalls of the resort though is that they were always trying to sell there timeshares. Saw many tours of the people getting the pitch. They asked us and we kindly declined and they took that well and never bothered us again about the timeshares. But they gave members better seating at special events and at the the beach and pools with there daybeds. The only problem we had was they forgot to pick us up at the airport and no one took ownership their mistake. Then it took about 1/2 hour to get our keys to work and 2 trips down to the front desk. But this was only a tiny problem. Would happily go back again. p.s the rooms were spacious and well layed out with amazing beds.

Room Tip: Get one facing the ocean or front of motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mokamercury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,660)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,561 - 2,567 of 5,660 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013

The Hacienda, hotel, beach, grounds, pool, was beautiful beyond believe. The Customer Service was excellent, everyone in service was great, friendly, helpful and loved they called us by name. Leydi Evaristo in the Sports Bar was a delight and greeted us with a big smile every time. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanN480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Last year I went to this same resort and I was sick with bronchitis. The staff were so helpful and really looked after me. I wanted to go back to see what it was like when I was well. A different friend came with me this time. The service, staff, cleanliness was beyond our expectations. Both of my friends want to go back with me next year, they enjoyed it so much. My friend that was with me this year said that it is one of the best resorts that she has ever been to.

Room Tip: We liked being in the centre of the resort on the third floor. We were able to look down to the riv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GailD421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

My daughter and I met here for her Spring Break at college and were instantly in heaven. Everyone is so friendly and accommodating. We would like to single out Mauricio, the Manager at the wonderful Italian restaurant, Portobello as well as waiters Lemberg and Augustin. They seemed so happy and wanted to make us happy as well. The food was also fantastic. IN fact, we enjoyed the food in all of the restaurants. Resort food is usually not this good. Two other special mentions go to Walter in housekeeping - we loved the towels and blankets animals and the cleanliness of our room and to Itzel at the Concierge Desk, she handled a lot of last minute departure questions with calm and assurance. My daughter said this was the best, most relaxing vacation she ever had.

Room Tip: be sure not to get an older one on the first floor - ours did have a dank, musty smell and we asked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colson1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Hacienda Tres Rios, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Guest:
Thank you for your comments. We are so delighted to read you had such an incredible time at Hacienda Tres Rios and enjoy our facilities at most.
Next time you visit us remember to take advantage of our modern spa technology and Mayan wisdom at our Ya´ax Ché Spa.
It will be our pleasure to accomodate you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The Service was the best I have ever experienced. I have been to a few all-inclusives but the the others were no service at all compared to this place. The staff really made our stay for my whole family. They called us by our names and we never wanted or waited for anything. I will always be grateful to the following people for making our stay so memorable.
Louis (buffet)
Nelfti (Pool)
Bautista (Pool)
Viktor (Pool)
Perez (Pool bartender)
We also had a great time on the segway tour with Federico and Jonathon.

There were a few improvement about the place itself that could have been made but you can tell it is a work in progress. The beach was erroding and not easy to get to the water but there were plenty of beach beds for almost everyone. The pools were nice but not great. The pool areas around the pool were nice and we spent most of our time there because of the great service. The one big thing lacking was any kind of night life. They did have some shows and dinners on the beach which were great but if you didn't want to do that there was only the sports bar. All in all it was a great place for families and people that don't mind about not much night life.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chandler B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Hacienda Tres Rios, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Guest:
Thank you for your nice comments about your stay at Hacienda Tres Rios.
We are glad to read you were able to experience our Staff’s Mexican hospitality which we are proud of and we have shared your comments with them.
Please come back soon and see the improvements we have made since your last visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We had a very good time, the hotel is very nice. The rooms are very comfortable and the food is good even though the deserts are not so good.
The staff is nice. We thank Brenda Salomón (hostess), Alma (omelets), Raul (lifeguard), Andreina and Marisol (concierges) for being so friendly and helpful. However the attention at the Italian restaurant and at the parties was not so good. The grill was very good except for the fact that one day after we had taken an empty table they had us move because even though there are supposed to be no reservations they had it reserved for a family that showed up half hour later.
The tours to the cenotes are very fun and the rivers and beach are beautiful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross294480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Hacienda Tres Rios, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank your for your nice comments specially on our staff which we are proud of.

We have shared your comment in order to reinforce training and continue providing the excellent service we have become known for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Following a hectic 5 days in Miami Hacienda was the perfect remedy for my partner and I.

We were due to spend 6 days at the resort and having ventured out to EXPLOR and a walk to the Cenotes for 2 days we really felt so relaxed that we didn't see the need to leave the resort any more than this.

The friendly and eager to please nature of the staff made us feel at home, one member of staff stood out especially, Gregorio. Gregorio was not only super efficient a his job but he was extremely friendly, had a fantastic sense of humour, knew what drinks we'd want when we returned and made our every meal a special one. If you are thinking of visiting, make sure you visit him at the Grill for lunch - highly recommended!,

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CananM424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Hacienda Tres Rios, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for you nice comments. We are glad to read you enjoyed our amenites and were able to visit and enjoy Tres Rios Nature Park where the natural environment unfolds amidst 326 acres of rivers, an estuary, ten cenotes (fresh water springs) and a tranquil sandy beach.

We invite you to come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4,220 reviews
7.9 mi away
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
#79 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,065 reviews
6.1 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
2,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#47 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
3,757 reviews
10.8 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#70 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
13,297 reviews
0.7 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#42 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
9,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Tres Rios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Tres Rios

Address: Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Km. 54, Playa del Carmen 77760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#43 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#45 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#48 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $193 - $658 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hacienda Tres Rios 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy and relax in a sustainable tourism luxury development in the Mexican Caribbean, our Spa & Nature Park make it the perfect spot for relaxing while your younger and more adventurous companions explore the beauty of the Riviera Maya within a safe environment such as this award-winning eco-luxury hotel integrated within Tres Ríos Nature Park. Be part of a paradise designed to restore and preserve the natural landscape without sacrificing the comforts and amenities of a five star all-inclusive hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hacienda Tres Rios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Tres Rios Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing