We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The wedding of the century at the resort of the century!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hacienda Tres Rios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hacienda Tres Rios
Ranked #57 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Peculiar, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The wedding of the century at the resort of the century!”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

11 reasons why this resort is spectacular:

1. Leydi (such a beautiful & generous spirit)
2. Ruben (quick to make you feel special)
3. Emmanuel Jr. (enthusiasm beyond belief)
4. Alejandro (infectious enjoyment of life)
5. Gregorio (perfectionist of the highest order)
6. Raquel (a second mother to everyone she meets)
7. Rafael (the best friend you didn't know you had)
8. Anselmo (graceful professionalism)
9. Alberto (surprising humor)
10. Joyce (rock solid, calm under pressure, answer for every question)
11. Erick (the first person you meet to make the best first impression)

The staff absolutely made this resort one of the best I've ever experienced! Always friendly, always helpful, always positve, always smiling, wow! An experience like this makes you forget all your troubles from your real life & encourages you to never leave this fantasy life, it's that good! And it's all due to the staff! For me food is food, a bed is a bed, the beach is the beach but the people are what is important & the people working at this resort make all the difference in the world, period!

Room Tip: Any room in the 4300s - fantastic view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littleBIGdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Hacienda Tres Rios, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank your for taking the time to share your experience during such an important event in a life time.
We are so glad to learn that you were able to experience our warmness and Mexican hospitality, in a luxury, comfort and nature atmosphere and we really thak you the comments on our staff which we are proud of.

Come back soon and remember your private Mexican retreat awaits you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,957
    1,190
    462
    216
    247
See reviews for
2,461
1,547
46
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (988)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

nice clean rooms, drinks were fine, food fine but repetative. need to figure out there towel system which was a free for all. it is boring if they had activities beside beach volley ball we didn't see it, no music very quiet. after supper it was dead just went to sleep... timeshare people if you want to know ask i will tell you what you want to know.would go back if they had something to do....

Room Tip: most of the rooms were in a good location....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hamrtyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Hacienda Tres Rios, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your review. We would like to invite you to come back and take the tours and activities to our Tres Rios Nature Park with its 326 acres of pristine tropical rainforests intersected by three winding freshwater rivers, decorated by ten fascinating cenotes (cave-like sinkholes with natural wells), home to 120 species of plants and 90 species of animals.

At Tres Rios Nature Park you can take a bike tour or a kayak tour and navi our Rio Selva (Jungle River) in a kayak from Cenote Aguila to the Caribbean Sea. Return to the cenote and snorkel in the cool fresh water where you will see many fish and beautiful limestone formations.

Also take the SenseAdventure activity is an exclusive experience at Tres Ríos and delightfully exhilarating. Take a guided exploration of select areas in the nature park while blindfolded to heighten your other senses. This magical journey through nature is led by a holistic guide, who presents various natural elements for you to touch, smell, and even taste, drawing attention to the sounds around you.

We also have the Nursery tour whereyour can visit and lean the Hacienda Tres Ríos botanical garden and nursery.

We also have hobbie cats available to sail along the beaches of Hacienda Tres Ríos on the Caribbean Sea and the great Segway Tour to
see the nature park, nursery and beach on this two-wheeled self-balancing battery-powered electric vehicle.

We invite you to come back and experience our Tres Rios Nature Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This was my first visit to an all inclusive resort in Mexico, the purpose of my trip was to attend my sisters wedding, which was the most beautiful wedding i'd seen. The service they we received from everyone at the resort was awesome, the rooms and the grounds were immaculate, everyone smiled and was very helpful, the food was great the hospitality was just great, and there was one particular guy who stood out from them all.. His name is Gregorio (Big "G), he was the greatest Big G was very helpful and right on time with service, he would do a little dance for us while serving our food, he was so much fun, please keep him on the resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niesha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Hacienda Tres Rios, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank your for sharing your experience at your sister's wedding. We are glad to read you had a great time with us. We thank your for your nice comments on our staff which we are proud.

We invite your to come back soon, it will be our pleasure to be your host again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This was my first visit to Mexico and first all- inclusive experience. I was at Tres Rios for a wedding. I must say that the service (from the gate to the shore) was exceptional. The service at the buffet, (Casa las Islas) was wonderful. Capitan Emmanuel Munoz and his staff were very friendly and efficient, I love that everyone smiles. The grounds and gardens were very well groomed. I would recommend this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TIFFANY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Hacienda Tres Rios, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank your so much for sharing your experience at Hacienda Tres Rios. We are glad to read you enjoy our amenities.

Next time you visit us remember to give your self a Ya’ax Che Spa treatment and relax, refresh your mind, rejuvenate your body, and cleanse your soul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
2 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had the 7 course chef dinner at Hacienda Tres Rios. Gilberto, our waiter and Chef Israel were wonderful in explaining each course. The food was delicious and we had great service all around. The chef, Bernado, also came to chat with us to give us updates. They all make us feel like family which is why we keep coming back !! Love you guys !!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadianjeepers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver CO
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Tres Rios from March 1st - March 9th. This is our first time as members staying at this resort and we were not disappointed in any way. First let me say that everyone that works @ Tres Rios are the greatest! Always a smile and very helpful, and they work very very hard. We arrived at the resort around 6am and even though check in is usually around 3pm, our concierge, Vidal, was the greatest! He worked very hard to get us a room as soon as he could. And the room was on third floor with an excellent view of the resort and ocean. He started our trip out on a wonderful note and was always so friendly & helpful with all our questions. Thank you Vidal! Also wanted to mention a few names-Miguel @ the Grill was our waiter in the evening, and was wonderful. Netril was also great in the morning for breakfast. Rodolfo did a great job in cleaning our room. Was always very clean and well stocked & loved the little animals, especially the mermaid, that was waiting for us at the end of day. Loved the beach area by the rivers - loved the beds and the service there was also wonderful. The food was all good and lots of choices. I could go on & on, but to sum up my review-this resort is the best that we have stayed at in the Riveria Maya area, and we are already planning our next trip with our son & his family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MotherMaryDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Just got back yesterday! The shuttle was perfect in timing and quality. Welcome and registration fast and simple. Hotel amenities explanation was long and more intendend to encourage a timeshare selling session (that we did not accept). We had to wait about 4 hours to get our room (it was beeing cleaned). The rooms are great, clean and with a fantastic view. The adult pool concept is excelent but the service is slow. The Italian restaurant was the most contrasting: excelent food, very poor service; we recieved our food cold! The quality of the food is acceptable (for an all inclusive), nothing spectacular. The service staff is willing but something does not work at the kitchen, every single time we had either breakfast, lunch and specialy dinner, the beverages and food took a long time to be served. The mangrove - jungle - cenote- river activities are excelent (main reason to come back)! The beach is not the best in the area (only a small part to the left is up to the areas legendery beauty).In general we would come back again. By all means avoid the timeshare sales sessions by saying NO!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JRC837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
3.9 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#44 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
3,335 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
3,567 reviews
6.0 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#41 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,539 reviews
3.3 mi away
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Play...
#52 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
5,752 reviews
3.2 mi away
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Viceroy Riviera Maya
#13 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Tres Rios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Tres Rios

Property: Hacienda Tres Rios
Address: Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Km. 54, Playa del Carmen 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#40 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#42 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#48 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hacienda Tres Rios 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy and relax in a sustainable tourism luxury development in the Mexican Caribbean, our Spa & Nature Park make it the perfect spot for relaxing while your younger and more adventurous companions explore the beauty of the Riviera Maya within a safe environment such as this award-winning eco-luxury hotel integrated within Tres Ríos Nature Park. Be part of a paradise designed to restore and preserve the natural landscape without sacrificing the comforts and amenities of a five star all-inclusive hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hacienda Tres Rios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Tres Rios Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing