We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Trip”
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hacienda Tres Rios
Ranked #67 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Excellent trip, kayaking the rivers and swimming in the cenotes is a must, they are beautiful. Beach is small but is still very nice + bar and waiters to serve drinks and food. There was a mixup with the room we booked, had to stay one night in the wrong room but they fixed it for the rest of the trip and invited us to the Chef's table for free. Chef's table was extremely high quality, tasty food. 7 courses with wine pairing so that more than made up for the inconvenience of switching rooms. Other food was just average resort food but there was a lot of it available all day. Drinks were light on the alcohol but you could order as many as you wanted so it didn't matter. Slightly limited on the kinds of cocktails they could make, also selection varied if you were at the beach bar or a bar in a restaurant, but they could make most drinks you want on the beach. Of the advertised 8-9 cenotes on the resort grounds, a couple are very dry but the ones with water are beautiful and several are large enough to swim in.

Room Tip: Rooms with "Mangrove View" are better for balcony privacy. Also hotel isnt oceanfront so...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bradley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,459)
There are newer reviews for Hacienda Tres Rios
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,555 - 2,561 of 5,461 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

We just came back a few days ago (Feb 2013).
Overall, the experience was lovely. However, we would not consider staying at this resort again. The food and drinks are a mixed bag. I had an inedible hot dog, but surprisingly terrific food at the Japanese restaurant. Some of the menus are slightly limited. There is a good chance that even slightly picky eaters will be disappointed.
The drinks, as anywhere, depended on your bartender. But, unfortunately the juices were all syrupy sweet. When you're in a place where you can get real, fresh fruit you don't want the super sugary versions.
We were very disappointed by the amount of cigarette, cigar and marijuana smoke that persisted everywhere on property. Every day we were forced to move around the pool or beach to avoid the smoke, and night we had our balcony experience ruined by the same.
We had one incident on Valentine's day where we waited, perfectly patiently to be seated finally at 9:30 (this was after we'd be incorrectly told by multiple staff members that reservations were not necessary). Finally we sat down to dinner, only we never got out lobsters or desserts because the waiter (who was slow, and forgot to bring drinks and bread) kicked us out at 10:20! We asked if we could take the food up to our room and we were told "No". We found out the next day that the restaurant should have been open until 11pm.
Our only other negative experience was that we'd agreed to a 90 minutes sales pitch. The meeting was 3 hours. We said "no" through the entire meeting (never even a "maybe") and my boyfriend was mocked for not spending his money.
All that being said, the resort was clean. The staff treated us very well. Many staff members went out of their way to be helpful. The rivers are beautiful, and kayaking down them was wonderful. Yes, the beach is small, but it's picturesque. We always had towels, we were always able to get drinks, we never experienced anything but a lovely, air conditioned room.
One of the more exciting elements of staying here is all the wildlife. I doubted we were going to see anything more than an iguana and boy was I wrong! We we entertained daily by various friendly "critters".
If you pick this resort I think you'll be mostly very happy with it. We were. Our vacation was fantastic largely in part to the resort. It just wasn't quite good enough for us to not try some place new next time.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank QMeganC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Hacienda Tres Rios, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Guest:
Thank you for your feedback, we are happy to hear you had a pleasurable vacation experience at Hacienda Tres Rios. We do take pride in being able to provide a luxury atmosphere surrounded by a nature rich environment. We have shared your lovely comments with our staff and have also reviewed our opportunities for improvement with our administration.
Please rest assured all of your comments have been taken into consideration.
Please keep in mind that even though we do strive to provide as many options as possible in our menus you are always welcome to order off the menu.
We hope you will stay in touch with us through facebook and hope you will change your mind about coming back so you can see the positive changes for yourself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

As I sit here writing this, only 24 hours removed from our 10 day trip I wonder when we will return.
Like many of us do I researched the resort, scoured the reviews looking for the bad. Why do we do that? I have read some of the negative reviews from people who were there the same time as us and all I saw was good food , good service,clean rooms and relaxing days by the pool with Silvero, Juanita and Enrique taking care of us.

I think sometimes we look so hard for the bad that even when the good and great are right in front of us we still "find" the bad . This resort is not perfect, there are little things here and there that could be better but I am not perfect either. Alright enough preaching.....the resort

THE GREAT:
The kids club ! What a great and cool program for kids and parents ...the staff at the kids club and especially Silvia were great . The kids would come back with faces painted ,various arts and crafts and tales of snorkeling,kayaking and exploring the vast property! If it were not for us keeping them out they would haven gone everyday. Awesome!!!

The Food and Service: If you have been to A.I. resorts before then you know that the food can really be hit or miss. This and the service can make or break a trip .

The food:
Consistently good and on several occasions exceeded our expectations


Note: The pizza restaurant had just reopened after going through repairs so it took them a couple of days to work out the kinks but ended up being delicious


The Service:
I already mentioned the pool staff but the real star of service came from Gregario in the buffet and grill. If you can connect with him it would be worth the effort and it might not hurt to toss him a buck or two after meals ( 20 pesos)

others include Leydi and Evaristo at the sports bar and Donovan and Laticia at the Concierge desk

The Good:
Activities: There were daily activities but often not enough people willing to engage..so less a resort issue and more a patron issue.

The activities staff were very good specifically Abi, Adrian and Claudia ( thanks again for fishing my sunglasses out of Eagle Cenote !!)

Sales presentation: From the beginning we were told there is no pressure to do anything just look at what we are offering, if you like it great and if not no worries. We told them it was interesting but wanted to spend more time at the resort...we got passed around a little bit but they thanked us and walked us out

The little things:
Our AC in the room broke and dripped water out of the ceiling but maintenance was there to fix it in 15 minutes

We were 8 in our group and it was hard to sit together 2 and 6 or 4 and 4 was more typical

no swim up pool bar

very little to do at night ( if you are looking for nightlife this is not the place )

Communication between different restaurants and departments could be stronger ..part of this is a language barrier but easily fixed I think

All in all a very nice resort and look forward to going back

Room Tip: off the ground level would be my only suggestion
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Blackbear31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Hacienda Tres Rios, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for such a detailed and objective review, we understand the importance of vacation time and know our guests expect perfection.
We will be sure to share your lovely comments with our staff who will be thrilled to hear contributed to your vacation.
We do hope you will come back soon so we can provide you with yet another unforgettable vacation experience.
Please follow us on facebook for updated resort and destination information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

When we checked in, we were given an old, dirty and awful 2 bedroom suite. The patio chairs were broken (big holes that you could not even sit), when we asked for a nicer cleaner room we were told nothing available, however when we were screaming at the front desk the next morning like magic they had a nice 2 bedroom suite on the 2nd floor. Why do we have to suffer when traveling to a 5 Star Hotel? The rooms given to us were not even 1 star. My family was offended and wishing to leave to another hotel, unfortunately we had already paid thousands of dollars for the rooms and All Inclusive Service.

Room Tip: The only thing you can hope and pray for is that when you check in you get a decent, friendly and sm...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marga W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Hacienda Tres Rios, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear your vacation got off to a bad start and are hopeful things took a turn for the better after we were able to change your room. We appreciate all feedback and hope you will give us a second chance to provide you with a vacation experience like the ones we have become known for.
Once again thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The pools were wonderful. We visited in early February and most resorts that we have stayed at during this time we couldn't get in the pool, but this pool was not cold. I was not a fan of the food but I'm a very picky unadventuresome eater, my husband who is an adventuresome eater loved the food. Bed was super comfy. We only did 2 days of all inclusive. Unless you plan to drink a lot I would skip the all inclusive. They must have learned from some of the other complaints -- no problem with towels -- always plenty. We ordered room service breakfast one day at 6:30 and they were at the door exactly at 6:30. The waiters were constantly circulating around the pool ready to serve drinks or snacks. There is a lagoon where one of the rivers meets the ocean which is great for snorkeling. One complaint-- bring your own hair dryer, the one they provide is useless

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LibLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Hacienda Tres Rios, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your lovely review, as you mention feedback is very important to us and we take it into consideration in order to improve our service, towels were an issue at one point due to our eco-friendly practices however this has been solved.
Our hairdryers in the room may not work for everyone since they are eco-friendly as well, however normal ones can be brought up to your room if you call the front desk.
We reiterate our gratitude for your review and hope to see you back soon, please remember to follow us on facebook for updated resort and destination information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is my 4th trip back to the property since it opened in 2009 and it's always a great time. Sure there are glitches here and there but that's to be expected as it's part of everyday life and it wouldn't change my mind about going back there. The resort is extremely clean, the employees are always working whether it be cleaning the rooms or the grounds but the always have a friendly smile and a hello for you when you pass them in the walkway. The variety of food is good and so is the quality. The service in the restaurants is exceptional as well is the service you get on the beach if you're laying in one of the many beach beds. The beach is a work in progress and it has come a long way since it first opened in 2009 and what people have to understand is that the resort is an Eco-park so they can't use chemicals or power machines to clear the beaches they do it all by hand and I have personally watched them work their butts off making the beach better and I have to say that it is beautiful this year. Lots of activities to do such as biking, kayaking, segways, snorkeling, hiking to one of the many cenotes, they have many tours that you can go on right at the resort or ones they can help you sign up for off the property. There are so many more wonderful things that I could say about Tres Rios, but I think this gives an idea of what kind of resort it is. I also want to give a shout out to our waiter Gregorio who took care of us at breakfast and our Concierge Luis who helped us with a couple minor issues Abi who we talked with down by the cenote and many other wonderful people who made our stay so memorable except I don't know all their names

Room Tip: We always stay on the far end on either the second or third floor in building one, it's very qui...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherijohnsonmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Hacienda Tres Rios, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Guest:

It is very nice to receive such wonderful feedback from a repeat guest. We thank you on behalf of all of our staff including Luis, Gregorio and Abi who will receive a special mention during our monthly celebration of quality service.
We cannot wait to host you again, hopefully very soon so we can welcome you to your home away from home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was my first all-inclusive experience in Mexico and I was beyond disappointed!

The food was terrible and the service was even worse. Slow, slow, slow! The staff was not helpful and rather rude. They would hound us for money even after we would tip. Good luck getting anyone to help you or to follow through with a request. Room service wasn't any better, 45 minutes to an hour for a pizza. Most of the time we didn't have enough towels and one day we never got clean hand towels or wash cloths. They would also run out of towels at the pool! It's a resort in Mexico, how do you run out of towels?!!!!! The only positive is that the rooms were clean. That is it!

Avoid this place at all costs! From the rave reviews I was reading, I'm wondering if we even stayed at the same resort!

Save your money and go to Europe!

Room Tip: Don't go!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2208yakme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Hacienda Tres Rios, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your feedback which is very valuable to us in order to improve our services. You can rest assured all comments have been reviewed and taken into consideration. We strive to provide every single one of our guests with a memorable vacation experience with the highest level of quality service we have become known for.
We regret hearing we did not meet your expectations and hope you will give us a second chance. We reiterate our gratitude for taking the time to share your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#13 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,094 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#49 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,641 reviews
6.1 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Play...
#59 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
6,533 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,222 reviews
7.9 mi away
Generations Riviera Maya by Karisma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Tres Rios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Tres Rios

Address: Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Km. 54, Playa del Carmen 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#44 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#45 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#48 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $176 - $495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hacienda Tres Rios 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy and relax in a sustainable tourism luxury development in the Mexican Caribbean, our Spa & Nature Park make it the perfect spot for relaxing while your younger and more adventurous companions explore the beauty of the Riviera Maya within a safe environment such as this award-winning eco-luxury hotel integrated within Tres Ríos Nature Park. Be part of a paradise designed to restore and preserve the natural landscape without sacrificing the comforts and amenities of a five star all-inclusive hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hacienda Tres Rios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Tres Rios Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing