We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, but manage your expectations”
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hacienda Tres Rios
Ranked #66 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2013

SERVICE
All staff from front desk to concierge to housekeeping to food services were amazing. They will do everything they can to accommodate you. If you require something, ask. I stayed here when it was not that busy, so I cannot comment on service at peak capacity. Keep in mind that outside of the US, things are different and manage your expectations accordingly.

ACCOMODATIONS
The rooms were nice and clean, but not the best design. For example, the toilet is in one place, the stall shower in another, and sink area in middle, so you lack the privacy of a closed bathroom door. The only private place to dress is in the water closet. Shower has great water pressure and ample hot water. No robes provided, but were upon request. There is a very strange blow dryer that looks like a vacuum (recommend bringing your own travel dryer). Mini bar is very stingy with bottled water. Had to keep asking for extra. Would be nice if water coolers were provided on each floor. Suggest keeping your empty bottles and refilling at the pizzeria or the gym. Take advantage of the pillow menu (but you must ask). Don’t pay extra for jetted tub in room. It took forever to fill and was not hot. One of the pools has 3 jetted pools, use that instead.

BEACH AND NATURE PARK
There has been a lot of controversy about the beach, so here is the scoop: the beach is small and has covered beds and lounge chairs. These go fast so get there early to grab one. There are no umbrellas, but ample shade from palm trees. The VIP section has its own seating area, which is enforced when resort is busy. The ocean is more Atlantic Ocean than Caribbean in the section directly in front of the resort. It appears to have suffered some beach erosion (there is a 2-3 feet drop) and they are in the process of fixing that. That said, if you walk 30 feet from there to the other side of the reef, you will be greeted with natural wonder. Tres Rios is where the river and ocean meet and is very beautiful. There is a section of crystal clear fresh water cenotes that you can swim, snorkel, and kayak in that are amazing, as well as the ocean. The parts near the shore are very shallow and great for young children, but there is a strong current. Kayaks and sailboats are provided. No rafts at either pool or beach.
The nature park is overrated. There is not much to see aside from a bunch of cenotes that look like ponds and mangrove trees. The bike tour was disappointing and the bikes were old, back-brake bikes that were rickety and uncomfortable. I regret not going on an excursion to one of the other parks such as Xel Ha, Xcaret or Xplor (they are an additional fee but look amazing).

FOOD
In Mexico, all-inclusives are the way to go for safety and price, but I have never been a fan of how you must eat on their schedule, much like a cruise. Poolside, beachside and room service have a very small menu. The restaurants rotate a closed day so check schedule. During peak capacity reservations are recommended. Also, aside from the buffet, the menu is same every day, which gets tiresome. La Casa Islas is the buffet open for all 3 meals and best for breakfast. Alebrije serves authentic Mexican food. If you prefer Tex-Mex, you may be disappointed here, as I was. Live Mariachi band. Portobello was ok but did not have authentic Italian food. There is very little you will recognize on the menu, but the garlic shrimp was good. The “tartufo” turned out to be a flan. It has a dress code for men. Kotori is Asian fusion cuisine and is pretty good. Hacienda Grill (outdoor poolside) had the best food. Recommend the rib eye. There is a dessert restaurant that had a lot of little pastries. Desserts were pretty disappointing overall. The only place that has ice cream is Kotori.
As others have said, there is no top shelf liquor and the drinks are watered down. They even had generic Kaluha.

MISC
The timeshare tour was mentioned but staff was not pushy at all about it, however, this was booked through a travel agent. They use it to offer a tour discount. WiFi is an additional fee. You can use computers in media area for $5/hr. Think this should be included in a luxury resort. The DVDs are either very old movies and all in Spanish, so bring your own if you want to watch tv. The gym was very basic with a few treadmills, ellipticals, and bikes for cardio + nautilus and free weights. Spa is typical resort pricey. Had a “sport” massage that was really Swedish at best. They oil they use makes your hair greasy. The security at the resort is great and you don’t have to worry about unsavory characters trying to sell you drugs at the beach, etc.

Overall, a very nice, clean, relaxing place w/ great service and mediocre food.

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd floor away from noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cmi113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,525)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,646 - 2,652 of 5,525 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

Do not give the hotel your credit card number!!!! If you insist on going to this resort, go through a travel agent or vacation package company. Once the hotel gets your credit card information, they will use every tactic to intimidate you into sitting through their time share scam. They threaten to charge your credit card double the rate if you do not attend. The conceierge service is the first step, they insist that you attend the meeting promising the extras (which are advertised on their website as "included in your package"). If you refuse, they will send for the head of the department who threatens that the hotel will charge your credit card double the cost of the room if you do not attend. After an hour of arguing that we did not want to attend the sales meeting, we finally agreed to an 8:30am meeting that was suppose to last 90 minutes. They showed up 1/2 hour late, insisted we eat breakfast with them -even though we had already eaten (they said this was part of the presentation). Then said the 90 minutes does not start until we leave the restaurant. After 2 hrs of the time share scam presentation, we finally just got up and left.
Also, the buffet was closed 3 out of the 7 nights that we were there. The other restaurants had pretty good food with the exception of the Mexican restaurant - that we left on the plate after a couple of bites....
Our room did not have a bath tub and the showerhead was pretty crappy.
The nightly entertainment was pretty bad except the Mayan show.
On the good side:
The beds were very comfortable.
The service staff was excellent and completely saved what was left of our vacation with their friendly, cheerful service especially Leidi in the Sports bar and Coffee room.
On a whole, I feel the developers were on the right track, but somehow they missed the mark and did not complete their vision, then tried to slap together a resort at the last minute.

The eco park is just a couple of big ponds and two canals......
We did see some crabs on the trees and a few small fish swiming around the mouth of the canal.
The beach is not a natural beach so there is alot of errosion of the sand and it is small.

Room Tip: Corner suites have a jetted tub out on the balcony. Take your own shampoo - theirs is not very good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlbertaMom_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Hacienda Tres Rios, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we appreciate all feedback. We do not have enough information to track your reservation on our system and find out exactly how you reserved. Some of the packages offered through our marketing company are subsidized by our Private Residence Club and require you to participate in the amenities tour. This is common practice and a lot of travelers have enjoyed subsidized vacations in order to save money on their travels.
We do appreciate your lovely comments about the areas of the resort you did enjoy and you can rest assured we have taken the opportunities for improvement into consideration.
We do hope you will visit us again in order to see the improvements made for yourself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Jeff and I are in our mid-thirties and went for a relaxing trip - and we got it! Our days at the resort consisted of going on nature tours of the cenotes, kayaking, snorkeling, and bicycling (all included in the cost). We also spend a lot of time poolside and on the beach beds (also included)! The food was better than expected and there was a variety of options during each meal time. The drinks were flowing - be sure to ask for a certain brand or they give you well. The Mexican restaurant upstairs took really good care of us and we even tried some crickets! On the last day, Jeff proposed to me in the middle of the ocean on the remote part of the beach. Afterwards, we spent some time on the beach beds and playing in the ocean celebrating. We told our private concierge about the news and he gave us a voucher for a fabulous lobster dinner at the Italian restaurant. We enjoyed that and spent our last night in the City of Playa Del Carmen (a ten-minute cab ride away). It was truly a trip we will always remember!

Room Tip: We had a jacuzzi on the porch but never used it because the outdoor light would attract bugs. Don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaiaGirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I'll always remember my Honey Moon , not only Because of the Romance and sweet moments, but because this place and it's people made it AMAZING! Always incredibly nice and helpful, the view of our room, the food, the activities, It was a paradise! Thank you SO much! Your charmed LUNAMIELEROS!

J y A López

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angelicia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Hacienda Tres Rios, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Guest:

First of all we would like to thank you for sharing your experience and for chosing Hacienda Tres Rios for this special occasion. We are delighted to read that our commitment to making your honeymoon, a truly memorable experience was fulfilled.

It would be our pleasure to host you again during your anniversary.

Don’t forget to follow us on facebook for up to date destination and resort information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I've posted about the hotel before, how great it is, how we always love going there, so I won't re=hash that, since our opinion hasn't changed overall. We were a little bit disappointed with the food--NOT that it was bad, because it was VERY good; but when Chef Oscar was there, the food was excellent, not just very good. And the beds are EXTREMELY soft (even my kids, who love soft beds, said they were too soft). But they didn't slow us down! I wanted to particularly mention the marvelous service we received from several of the staff. Yarah in VIP services is always couteous, friendly, full of useful information, and very helpful. Our housekeeper Agustina Santander was marvelous--took excellent care of our rooms, left great towel animals every day that kept our kids (and us!) giggling, and was very conscientious. And Gregario and Luis in the buffet, and especially Miguel in the Grill, were marvelous servers and took extremely good care of us. Oh, also want to mention for those of us who are members (i.e., own time there), they've opened up a members-only side to the beach with not just the canopy beds and lounge chairs, but also our own separate bar with servers who will bring you both food and drink (normally, you can't get food down on the beach). And the massages at the spa, as always, were great--thank you, Lia! Can't wait to go back again this year!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the second and third floors have fewer people traipsing through, so they tend to be quiter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BerferdTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Hacienda Tres Rios, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your lovely comments about your stay, we are happy to hear you are a repeat guest of Hacienda Tres Rios, we are also delighted to read your feedback on our staff which we are very proud of.

Rest assured all of your comments will be shared with them during our monthly celebration of quality service.

We cannot wait to see you again at your home away from home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Silvestre and Erick are the best Bell boys you meet when you come from the long plane ride/clear immigration and customs, then arrive with big warm smiles to greet you and take your luggage...ahhh all care free from there! The pool area is great, everything is super clean, the food is great and love the cafe where you can wander in at all times of the day or evening and get your favorite coffee treat and some dulces! The beach is not white sand.clear waters, but you can take a short ride to get there if you want. But what it is good for, is snorkeling in calm 1/2 brackish 1/2 clearish waters where you can see fish, crabs and the beauty of mangroves growing from the sea bed. You can kayak safely here too because of the calmness (which you rent for free). If the waters at sea are calm, the boat man will take you out to sea for a 30 - 45 minute ride on a catamaran.
Everything is great about this resort except for 1 female concierge who would not give us information until we went over her "welcome packet" which was just a way to make us spend more money. After kindly declining this ) since we had traveled for 6 hours and wanted to relax for our very short 6 day vacation), we asked a different concierge for the info we wanted and she sent us on our way. How annoying this was!!!!!
Anyhow, besides this, everyone else gave fantastic service and made you feel like family! What an awesome place!

Room Tip: You have to get a 1 bedroom! 1322 is an awesome suite or something like it! Great view, rooftop terr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pabullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Hacienda Tres Rios, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your nice comments. We are glad to read you had a wonderful time and even enjoyed snorking at Tres Rios Nature Park.

Please come back soon, it will be our pleasure to be your host again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Had a fantastic vacation. Stayed a week with friends for some R & R. Great room, wonderful food (especially at the Italian restaurant!!!), and friendly staff.

Bautista at the pool was the highlight of great service. Was always moving and working hard. Knew what we wanted before we did. Never let our drink glasses be empty, if it was partially full for too long... would bring us a new cold one. Brought us an umbrella and would move it as the sun moved. Always had a smile on his face and was fun to talk to. He was always looking for more things to do to make all his guests comfortable and happy. We made sure we stayed in his area all the days we hung out at the pool. Thanks Bautista!!

Ladies in the tea shop were always friendly and had great senses of humor. Ladies in the spa were all pleasant and the massages were fantastic. Waiters in the Italian restaurant, and Asian restaurant were very attentive.

If I had any complaints, it would be we had asked for appointments with a specific massage therapist and were told we had appointments with her, but when we got to the spa we were told she wasn't even working until later in the day. Not cool. We would have booked whatever time she was available if we had have known. Unfortunately, it was our last day and we had no time left.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank osacody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Hacienda Tres Rios, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hacienda Tres Rios. We are delighted to read you had a wonderful time and experienced our warmness and Mexican hospitality.

We are sorry for the confusion at the Spa, we have already shared your comment so it can be addressed and avoided in the future.

Please don’t forget to follow us on facebook for up to date destination and resort information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,134 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#48 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,680 reviews
6.1 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Play...
#58 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
6,646 reviews
7.9 mi away
Generations Riviera Maya by Karisma
2.3 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Tres Rios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Tres Rios

Address: Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Km. 54, Playa del Carmen 77760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#43 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#45 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#48 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $160 - $689 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hacienda Tres Rios 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy and relax in a sustainable tourism luxury development in the Mexican Caribbean, our Spa & Nature Park make it the perfect spot for relaxing while your younger and more adventurous companions explore the beauty of the Riviera Maya within a safe environment such as this award-winning eco-luxury hotel integrated within Tres Ríos Nature Park. Be part of a paradise designed to restore and preserve the natural landscape without sacrificing the comforts and amenities of a five star all-inclusive hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hacienda Tres Rios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Tres Rios Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing