We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great hotel, wonderful food, worth the bed bugs” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hacienda Tres Rios
Ranked #54 of 210 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel, wonderful food, worth the bed bugs”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I so wish I could give this place 5 stars because the place really would deserve a very high rating, if it weren't for the bed bugs that have left my gf and i with little red souvenirs all over our bodies. I am certain that when the itching dies down, all we will be left with is memories of the delicious food at all the restaurants on the property, beautiful mangrove cove and ever-pleasant staff. The entertainment could also use an upgrade. We have been to some resorts, like Dreams in Punta Cana, where the nightly entertainment is almost Cirque d'Soleil level (no kidding!). While the Michael Jackson show was nice, I've seen better entertainment at my daughter's high school.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Mateen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,644
    1,068
    415
    196
    217
See reviews for
2,187
1,399
41
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (904)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Our experience from the checking on our reservation on room request with Customer Service MGR. Jose Axel was not only confirmed but exceeded our expectations from the moment we arrived but thruout the whole 7 days of our stay!!!!!!
We were also blessed by Mgr.David Martinez who turned a 70th BD celebration at The Chefs Table Dinner from a non event because of communication error into a celebration of the best meal of my 70 years traveling all over the world!!!!! Those who made this possible along with David were Nesero Francisco who was both entertaining and accomplished in choice of wines and meal presentation.Ezequie Chef Israel choice of courses, preparation and presentation were only exceede by the gastronomic experience!!!!!!!
Another special meal prepared for us to make up for the inconvience of having to wait on Chef Table Dinner was at the Portabello by Samuel Gabriela and chef Israel again above and beyond service and meal!!!!!!
Our week was also made terriffic my Concierge and owners update staff Patricia Carlos and Regina

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I wanted to express my thanks to Star and Silvia for their work at Kids' Club. You guys rock!! My daughters (Keagan & Keelyn) had a blast making their pirate hats and other assorted crafts and always looked forward to the time they spent with you both in the Kids' Club room or out on the grounds. You guys were so great with the kids and they always came away with a huge smile on their face! When it was time for us to pack up and travel home, the girls made a special point to have me take them to Kids' Club just to say goodbye. Thanks Star & Silvia for making the girls' trip even more special (and a little relaxing for the parents, if even for a couple hours! lol)-- we hope to see you next time!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank punkers1270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Vista, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We are used to crusing and wanted to go to some place nice. We found Hacienda Tres Rios to be better than we could have expected. The food was wonderful and service excellant. We tried every restaurant (5 different) and room service. We found all to be above expectations. As an additional note the pool(s) were serene and beautiful. And activites well thought out.

Room Tip: Rooms above first floor have better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hope C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We arrived at HTR on Nov 10 and were met by Oswaldo who was exceptional. Our studio room was clean and the bar fridge stocked. Thank god after a 2 hour wait trying to get through immigration. Mauricio and his staff at the Alebrije Restaurant were outstanding. Graudacino made our stay special. Samuel, Gregorio and ismael at the Pool Grill were gracious and remembered us from our previous stays. All the restaurants were fabulous and you will enjoy them all. The only glitch we had our entire time was at the Italian Restaurant. Rene appeared that he was doing us a favour by serving us. However, Mathieu an intern made up for the short comings. Take the time see the cenotes on the property and visit Playa. The residents were inviting and marvelous hosts.
GO to HTR.

Room Tip: Bring 1, 5 and 10 US $ for tipping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 9620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This was our third time back to Hacienda Tres Rios and the first time we took our five adult kids and their spouses / significant other. We were there from Nov 3 through Nov 10th, 2012. They knew us by name, were able to tell us whether our kids were at the restaurant when we showed up, and prepared a table to handle seating all of us. We loved all the activities that entertained our kids from cocktail making, tequila tasting, wine tastings, kayaking down a river to the gulf, and swimming. It was relaxing, entertaining and all the kids were in awe of the place. We are already planning next years trip to the resort.

Room Tip: We like rooms on the third floor since you can see the gulf over the palm trees. We also tend to pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This was our second trip back to HTR and we enjoyed it just as much! Very relaxed atmosphere where you are treated like royality in an elegant yet eco-friendly environment. We love the fact that this resort takes as good care of the environment as it does the guests! Since it is the Mayan calendar year, specially focused events were fantastic... especially great was the Mayan Cuisine event with Jerry Heuclides and tasting Mayan spiced shrimp and fish dishes, which were outstanding! We also went to the Tequila and wine tasting sessions, as well as the Mayan Liquiere drink making. Such a great time - wish we were still there!

Room Tip: We stayed in the junior suite with outside jazuzzi - wonderful views and yet private, quiet and larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzCluz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
4.0 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#45 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 2,818 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#11 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 2,910 reviews
3.7 mi away
Kin Sol Soleil
Kin Sol Soleil
#5 of 5 in Playa Maroma
5.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Petit Lafitte
Petit Lafitte
#9 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,240 reviews
0.7 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#27 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 8,078 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 2,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Tres Rios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Tres Rios

Property: Hacienda Tres Rios
Address: Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Km. 54, Playa del Carmen 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#40 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#50 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hacienda Tres Rios 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy and relax in a sustainable tourism luxury development in the Mexican Caribbean, our Spa & Nature Park make it the perfect spot for relaxing while your younger and more adventurous companions explore the beauty of the Riviera Maya within a safe environment such as this award-winning eco-luxury hotel integrated within Tres Ríos Nature Park. Be part of a paradise designed to restore and preserve the natural landscape without sacrificing the comforts and amenities of a five star all-inclusive hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hacienda Tres Rios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Tres Rios Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing