We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Greatest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Reve Hotel & Spa
Ranked #98 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2010

Relaxation at it's best!
The scrumptious food and excellent service make this small gem a sure fire winner. My husband and I were very pleased to find this hotel delvered on everything it offered: a quiet, hidden beach just outside of Playa del Carmen.
This was our first boutique hotel experience and we're very happy with the attention and privacy.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zarap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (845)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

591 - 597 of 845 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2010

I went to Le Reve to attend my sister´s wedding. I had high expectations since after all it was a special event for the family. Since my arrival, the staff, starting from the concierge desk and the cleaning staff made my vacations one of the best I have ever had. Here are some facts which made me rank this hotel as “excellent”:

•A small and quite boutique hotel of just 25 rooms is the perfect destination to rest and relax. Even when the hotel was full, it was not crowded, so I was able to use all the facilities without feeling trapped.
•A secluded and convenient destination. The hotel is 15 minutes away from Playa del Carmen, so you can enjoy the nightlife of 5th avenue and then head back to the hotel to rest.
•Food. The dishes were all very well prepared, exquisite and plentiful
•Incredible service. The service from the entire hotel staff was personalized. You are not treated as another room number but instead you are being called by your name. Another thing is that the staff is very friendly.
•Excellent room. I stayed at the SPA Suite and the bed was like heaven. The room is big and it has an outstanding shower.

After 4 days in paradise, I didn’t want to leave. Definitely, I will return and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sakmargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2010

My boyfriend and I recently enjoyed a 5-night stay at Le Reve. It was the perfect setting to relax and enjoy each other's company. The staff was EXCELLENT and accommodated every request. We looked forward to the fresh-squeezed orange juice every morning and enjoyed getting to know most of the employees by name. The waitstaff was very encouraging despite my pathetic attempts at speaking Spanish. Thanks to them- I managed to learn a few more vocabulary words!
As for the location, it is fairly isolated but is an easy cab ride to downtown Playa del Carmen.

The only negative thing we can say about Le Reve is their dinner menu. We were disappointed to find that it is mostly Italian/American food. We requested a Mexican/traditional dish and Antonio (our waiter) suggested trying a "Mexican platter." It was the best meal we had during our entire stay in Mexico. They MUST add it to their menu. We ate in downtown Playa and at neighboring resorts and the meals did not even come close to the meal we had. We would have eaten it every night!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lkh007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2010

Le Reve is a lovely, charming, little hotel. We rented a beach bungalow and it was just what we were hoping for. We got a deal through Orbitz so our review is based on the discounted price we paid. We feel it is a great boutique hotel and not a luxury hotel. The room was beautiful and the bed was perfect. We slept like babies every night. Our room looked out to our private plunge pool which was nice and refreshing after sitting on the beach. The bathroom was nice. The hot water took a little bit to warm up which is what I would expect in a developing country and we were never in a hurry so it didn't matter.

The beach was clean and well kept and not very crowded. This was definitely not the case at the large hotels near by. The ocean was warm and good for swimming if the winds were down. The hotel provide snorkeling gear and a sea kayak at no cost. They also provide water shoes which are necessary if you walk in the ocean as there is a little coral and rock.

Breakfast was delicious. We highly recommend trying the local dishes on the menu as they are very flavorful and an nice change from traditional eggs and toast. They offer freshly squeezed juices which are also definitely worth a try. We only ate one dinner at the hotel which was okay and overpriced which we found common for other dinners we had in the area.

The staff was wonderful and accommodating. Any questions or issues we raised were addressed immediately and to our satisfaction.

All in all we felt Le Reve was a wonderful place to stay and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingHotdish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

Le Reve is perfectly located, about 20 minutes north of the city, Playa del Carmen, and about 45 minutes south of Cancun. The resort has only 25 rooms, 5 of which are in bungalow-type structures right on the beach - which are wonderful! There is great attention to detail and personal service. The setting is beautiful, the beach well appointed and very private in feeling. The restaurant serves excellent food. If you are looking for a relaxing escape to a beautiful setting, this is for you. Only two negatives: the sandy beach is beautiful - but the entry to the water is rocky and not very inviting. Walking along the beach a few hundred yards in either direction, however, and there is plenty of easy water access. The other negative is that once you leave the highway to approach the resort, the road is very rough, basically unpaved. Finally, a note: this resort is NOT for familes interested in bringing children...they would be bored to tears. It is for couples seeking a romantic serene escape - and a marvelous choice for that..

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flowerlady28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

We booked Le Reve hoping it would be the crown of our Yucatan tour. The site was promising and the rooms looked nice and chic.
First of all, the access to the hotel is rather poor. Not only is the road bad, it's also not marked properly (unlike other hotels in the area), so one has no idea which exit to take from the highway. Finding it poses a problem even with local taxi service.
The room was indeed lovely, spacious, with simple, clean design, wonderful view and perfect bedlinens (we had the Horizon suite, which is not a suite but a room). Yet, there was not a single chair in it, probably for fear it would clash with the design. So, nowhere to sit, one can just stand or lie.
It is unfortunatelly impossible to bathe in the sea, because there are rather large and sharp rocks right in front of the hotel. We had to walk up or down the beach and bathe in front of other hotels, which were clean of rocks and, moreover, protected by a sort of breakwater, nothing we encountered at Le Reve.
Having had no car, we dined at the hotel every night. The menu is rather limited, and can easily be exhausted within a week. After the first night I had bad stomach problems, not necessaarily related to the hotel food, but I had nothing else these days. Although the waiters were very kind, they were also pretty inapt. It was only on our last day that we got the breakfast right, although we just ordered the continental breakfast as noted in the menu. One day it was one fruit platter for us to share instead of one each, than no orange juice, we never got brown bread, although we asked for it, etc.
And last, but certainly not least, the prices and the billing. Half of the costs was paid in advance. The other half was paid immediatelly upon arrival, which would have been no problem if it weren't charged in pesos, at a very high exchange rate. Naturally, my credit card was debited in dollars, at a regular exchange rate, so that eventually, the total price was 25% higher than expected, what with unexpected taxes and this shady exchange policy.
One should think that our holiday was ruined, it was actually rather nice, but without these things it would have been perfect. The cleaning service always did excellent job, the room was spotlessly clean. The other personnel was also always attentive to our needs. I really enjoyed being far from busy Playa del Carmen and it's mass tourism.
Yet, one would expect much more from a 5 star hotel sharging 375 dollars per room per night.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brank0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2010

My husband and I spent few days looking for relaxation from the busy city life. If you are looking for a beautiful, secluded hideout to get away from it all, this is your place. While the food and service were good, the location is what sets this hotel apart. The place is away from the big all inclusive and crowded hotels and offers very good quality service. The walk to Playa del Carmen (1.5 hours) is very pleasant. The room was decorated with simple minimalist décor, with very roomy bathroom with a modern glass shower. Rooms don’t have television, which is a bonus!
The food was good, but with limited choice and after few days you might get tired of it. Also, the fitness center needs improvement, and there are no SPA services available other than massages and few treatments.
There are not scheduled activities at the hotel, which was what we were looking for. You can ask the front desk to organise excursions. Be prepared for the price tag - we find the snorkelling trip ludicrously expensive (although the experience was very good).

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vaniades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
3.3 mi away
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach C...
#60 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
465 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#22 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,608 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
2,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#41 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,396 reviews
3.3 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#17 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
645 reviews
3.1 mi away
Be Playa Hotel
Be Playa Hotel
#30 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Reve Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Reve Hotel & Spa

Address: Playa Xcalacoco, Fraccion 2A Playa Del Carmen Quintana Roo, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#54 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#55 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#56 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#66 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $118 - $456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Reve Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Rêve Hotel & Spa is a luxury and modern boutique hotel in Playa del Carmen. With a unique collection of 28 rooms overlooking the Caribbean Sea with the perfect blend of nature, peace, gastronomy and mexican hospitality. Our guests are able to book just the hotel room or they can indulge with our unlimited food & beverages "Gourmet All Inclusive A la Carte" . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Splitty, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Reve Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Reve Hotel And Spa
Le Reve Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Le Reve Playa Del Carmen
Le Reve Hotel & Spa Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing