We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Reve Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$293
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$191
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$589
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
$331
$217
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
$423
$338
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
$413
$347
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
$1,434
$940
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
$480
$339
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$562
$472
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$701
$450
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (890)
Filter reviews
890 results
Traveler rating
529
204
82
33
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
529
204
82
33
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate gardensmall hotelwater shoeshotel restaurantall inclusive plancevicheour honeymoonall inclusive optiona garden view roomrelaxing getawayinfinity poolwedding coordinatorfilet mignonhotel is beautifultime sharethe entire staffbeach chairs
Filter
Updating list...
321 - 326 of 890 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I have travelled the world and seldom been so disappointed. The front of the hotel and lobby are under renovation with workers everywhere...basically no lobby available and certainly no concierge to help with local tours, taxis, just a girl with a temp desk and computer with missing keys on it (!)...The beach in front is a disaster as full of coral and rocks...they even supply you with clogs so you can walk into the ocean...a shame for the riviera. The service is slow and the restaurant prices are high...even for breakfast which is a la carte and you are far from anything else, so obliged to use it. For the price...this hotel shows its greed and boarders stealing from their clients...

Room Tip: NO SPA HERE...the "jacuzzi" is a sunken tub on your terrace...not clean and doesn't work.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arsehat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is the first hotel I've stayed in where I felt like I was at HOME. not in a hotel. The staff were super friendly and the level of service was incredible. We ended up extending our stay by another 3 days.
The cabanas on the water are simply magical, the food is definitely the best I've eaten in Mexico (we've been here 2 months now) and the dinner on the beach was absolutely perfect.
The wifi could have been better, but they are actually building an ethernet connection direct to the hotel from Playa so that issue will be fixed for the next time.
I'll definitely be back within 12 months, and will be bringing the family. In all honesty, I have never felt such at peace after a week in a hotel.
Thank you so much to all the wonderful staff. You are all incredible :)

Room Tip: Make sure you get the dinner on the beach. It will be a magical night.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotellereve, Public Realations at Le Reve Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Matt C.

Thank you for your tripadvisor review, We appreciate you taking the time to post your experience and thank you for your beautiful photos you shared. We will be more than happy to serve you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Le Reve & Spa.

We will be sharing your beautiful Rewiew with our Staff!

Best Regards

Hotel Le Reve & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Overall: dissatisfied and disappointed by extremely unreliable power and lack of accountability.

We are very easy to please and very low-maintenance. We are expecting our first child and wanted to splurge on our Babymoon. We thought a 7-night stay at $500/night at Le Reve would offer a care-free, relaxing vacation in anticipation of Baby. Sadly, almost did, but not quite.

Staff service was as expected, nothing magical. The food was ordinary; the menu could use more variety.

Our main complaint is over unreliable power. It turns out this basic service is critical in Caribbean latitudes. Power outages were common at Le Reve. We estimated 3-4 times per day for 15-30 minutes at a time, on average, throughout our entire stay. We did not expect this and believe it is important to warn future visitors. The worst was an 8-10 hour outage on a Saturday night (~10:30pm-6am). The outage may have been longer, but we left early-AM for an excursion (non-hotel). During the outage, twice I went to seek the staff for help. Nothing. I learned a generator was out and a smaller one did not have capacity for the load. My 7-month pregnant wife became overheated. Neither of us slept that night in the 80+ F temperatures and high humidity environment. Sure, we could have opened the balcony, but large critters and bugs abounded. It was miserable. We were exhausted making for a miserable Sunday and 1.5 vacation days.

The following morning, we complained. We sought the hotel take responsibility and demonstrate good-faith via some credit or compensation. It was not until our departure that we were told NO compensation would be provided. Zilch. The staff insisted it was not their fault. Really? It most certainly was not our fault! For $500/night you could not guarantee a basic service? Well, then don't charge such an exorbitant rate! Or, at least own it. Show accountability and accept responsibility.

Any comp might have sufficed, such as 1-day all-inclusive meal pass, 1-night credit, spa voucher, etc. we left it up to them. We got nothing. This was a major bummer because such a mundane service totally tarnished what might have been an enchanted Babymoon.

Our second major complaint aligns with many others regarding the incessant, loud construction ruckus. We were woken up by loud hammering and construction noise.

Our third complaint is over the time share sales people which were everywhere from ~8am-3pm. So annoying!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

My boyfriend and I just returned from a week long stay at Le Reve, and it was amazing and so relaxing! We were nervous about the construction and all the bad reviews, and had emailed back and forth with the staff to see if we could cancel our reservation. They did their best to assure us that everything would meet our expectations and sent photos and videos to make us feel more at ease. They also upgraded us to 4 nights in the ocean front bungalows, and provided a food and beverage credit for our troubles. After deciding to stick it out, we arrived on April 6th and were pleasantly surprised to find that the only construction remaining was very minimal and had no effect on our stay.

We did not want to stay in a huge, overcrowded resort (which seem to be the norm in this particular area of Playa Del Carmen), and the peaceful atmosphere at Le Reve was exactly what we needed. We spent our days lounging on the beach, with Ishmael and Roberto bringing us delicious food and drinks with a smile on their face every time! The staff is great and very friendly and accommodating. We got a little tired of the dinner menu and wished that there were more Mexican inspired dishes offered, but other than that the food was great and prepared nicely.

The reviews below are extremely off base-- the rooms are not smelly or old, and are in fact very well maintained from our experience (we stayed in both the beachfront bungalows and the private garden rooms). If you're looking for a sterile hotel room, with a big flat screen TV, brand new appliances, and no character, then this is definitely not the place for you! The beds in the beachfront bungalows are huge and very comfortable, with a romantic canopy covering for added privacy. You can hear the ocean as you fall asleep at night, and the waves crashing on the beach seemed to drown out any "time share" related noises in the morning.

The time share situation is certainly unfortunate, and I will admit that it added an annoying/sleezy feel to the otherwise peaceful atmosphere. The good thing is that the time share people seem to clear out by noonish. I know they have plans to expand the property and convert some of it to a time share, which is sad because I think it will change this adorable boutique hotel in the future. I know they are planning to add another restaurant and about 100 more rooms, but hopefully they can retain elements of the resort as it is now!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hannah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotellereve, Public Relations at Le Reve Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Hannah T,

Thank you for your beautiful rewiew, We will be Sharing your comments with Ishmael and Roberto and our entire staff! for te excellent service they provided to you, we work hard to meet your expectations and provide you a pleasant stay.
We have taken note of your request to add more Mexican Food in our menu,
Thank you again for your feed back, this help us to continue being the top choice of our guests.

we look forward to welcoming you back at Le Reve Hotel & Spa.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We went for my son's wedding. I don't know where to start; everything was bad. I wish that they were honest about what was happening, we found out 15 days before the wedding that the hotel was in rennovation. The beautifull view was almost gone whith a new office building.
They made us pay for all the 26 rooms (the whole hotel) to have exclusivity on the hotel just for the wedding guests.
The prices that they made us pay, were extremely high and they didn't respect the exclusivity, they had sales people and clients all over the hotel.
The rooms were stinky, the sheets and towels, old. The rooms smell like garbage because the huge garbage containers are almost there.
The air conditioners aren't sufficient for the rooms and they leak. The room flooded and the closet, including my clothes were all wet. I stayed for three nights and they didn't do anything about it. I couldn't use the closet.
The rooms are old and not well taking care off.
The owner and manager that were there, did nothing for us.
The reception personel is rude and unpolite. If you have a visitor, they make them sign a voucher, just to let them in and treat them like potential robbers.
The food is good but extremly expensive.
If you're planning to have a good time there..... you wont!!!!
Everything is old, cheap and they don't care about you. My advice; don't go. There are beautiful hotels in the area with more quality and cheaper.
I can't understand how they want to sell the rooms as "time share" if the hotel is falling appart!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sylviacasali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeReveHotelandSpas, General Manager at Le Reve Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear Madam

Le Reve Hotel & Spa has been certified for more than five years as one of the favorite destination for weddings by many couples who choose to get married at Le Reve.

We are very proud about the opinion about our wedding coordination, service, food and experience many couples have reported about us.

We have hosted weddings since February 22, 2014 all without exception with Fantastic comments about the staff and Management.

I am afraid your comment is bad intentioned since your report does not describe the complete 3 days wedding experiences. It does not describe the effort and service from all Le Reve staff, unfortunately, it seems not to be appreciate.

Your report does not mention the compensation given to the groom, bride and all guest more than 15 days before the wedding date about last minutes changes informed in advanced.

We are very sad to read your testimonial after all Le Reve staff was witnessed of all the fun, love, happiness and unforgettable moments, you and your family and friends experienced during your stay.

Le Reve Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews