We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing boutique hotel that was just our style.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Reve Hotel & Spa
Ranked #95 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing boutique hotel that was just our style.”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This hotel may not be for everyone, but for my boyfriend and me -- it was the exact secluded, quiet paradise we needed to escape to. Prior to arriving we stayed at a large resort in Cancun, which we could not wait to leave. Le Reve was everything we hoped for and more! The service, the atmosphere, the food (traditional Mayan cuisine is highly recommended), the accommodations, and our beautiful bungalow helped us ease into relaxation mode. The additional plus is that no children are allowed. Everyone was so helpful and attentive to our needs. Here they take extra steps to make you feel pampered -- such as welcome cocktails upon arrival and leaving complimentary desserts on your bed at night. (If you flip through the service book you'll see they have different things to choose from like: Dinner on the beach, arranging a boat to take you to Cozumel, etc.)

The only advice I would give: bring insect repellant and/or ear plugs. Given the fact we booked a bungalow it was well expected to deal with "natural elements" but this did not ruin the experience at all. Also, it should be noted a 15% tip is included with every purchase within the hotel.

Le Reve provided fun amenities the other hotels would charge us for. Such as: snorkeling gear, a kayak/boat, sunscreen/tanning oil, and shoes for wearing in the ocean (due to rocks). They also have an environmentally friendly approach -- which is always appreciated. We read in one of the books they did not have to cut down a single tree to build the hotel -- which may be one of the reasons it feels like your perfectly nestled within the trees and beach.

Don't come here if you want an all inclusive grandiose resort-like stay. There are many other large "luxury" chain hotels that can give you service you expect. DO come here if you want everything listed above. We plan on visiting again.

Room Tip: Bungalow suites put you right on the beach and have their own private pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donnasaur12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    184
    70
    32
    37
See reviews for
109
558
20
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Before my trip, I thought I had made a very good choice with this hotel, seemed to be a very charming boutique hotel, very private and with an excellent location and service, quite expensive, but reasonably affordable for what was offered on their website. We rented one of the beach front bungalows, with private pool and direct beach access.

PROs:

1. The hotel facilities are small but very good, charming, with a perfect location. They lack some maintenance, but they are very nice over all.
2. The bungalow's private pool and the beach amenities are very nice.
3. Food is delicious, they have a very good chef.
4. SPA facilities are very reduced and limited, but the ladies who work there are excellent and makes it worth.

CONs:

1. The road that provides access to the hotel is not paved, so you'll find enormous pot holes on your way, so you'll have to be careful. Also, at night is not a very safe place to drive through, since the road is very alone and there is no illumination.

2. On our first night, we arrived quite late to the hotel, and requested some drinks to be delivered to our room, and for our surprise, there was no late night room service, and there was nothing to drink in our mini bar, it was empty. We called to reception and the response we got was to purchase our drinks outside of the hotel, the guy told us that the mini bar was empty to allow guests bring their own drinks... o_O

3. Next day we went to shop for some drinks for the week (even with paid meal plan), and when we came back to the hotel room, we got a call from reception with a 'report' from one of the service guys who said that we were bringing food into the hotel... ???

4. Food is very good at the hotel restaurant, but you'll notice that it's much more expensive to buy the meal plan upfront than paying for each meal separately, so don't do it. Also, people who work at the front desk and at the restaurant doesn't know how the meal plan works and often restrict what you can order. An all inclusive meal plan means "all", not a restricted meal offer with no logic behind due to lack of knowledge about the meal plans, even more for the price you're paying...

5. The "front desk" is literally a single desk with a laptop besides the car entrance to the hotel, and the quality of the service offered has no relation with the hotel price and the service promise offered on their website. From our experience at the hotel, seems that not all the personnel is very knowledgeable about the hotel offerings and processes, which negatively impacts your experience as a customer.

6. Prices on their website does not include service fees nor taxes, so if you thought you made a good online deal with your reservation, expect a little surprise when your credit card statement arrives, because the total amount of your booking confirmation is going to be very different. At the end you will pay the same or more for a room in this hotel than you'd pay in any of the luxurious hotels at Mayakoba, so be careful with your decision.

7. The beach in front of the hotel is extremely rocky, so you'll find it very difficult (if not impossible) to enjoy swimming at the sea in front of your bulgalow.

8. The hotel will try to charge an extra 5 percent to your bill if you pay with American Express.

At the end, if we hadn't experienced the lack of knowledge from the service team at the hotel, and we hadn't felt the sensation of being fooled with the prices, our experience would have been awesome at the hotel, because there has everything you'd expect for a relaxed, charming, private and romantic stay, with awesome food and a perfect location, but the service didn't help. I hope the hotel administration notice this kind of issues with their service and take some action.

Based on these comments, I wouldn't advice anyone to stay in this hotel, since it is a very nice hotel, but absolutely overpriced for the kind and quality of service you get. You end up paying the same or more as if you had stayed for example at the Rosewood in Mayakoba, so then why not going there instead, at least you will know that you'll be paying a premium, but you will receive a premium service as well.

Room Tip: Don't purchase the meal plan. Be careful with your online reservation if you do it through the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jesus N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeReveHotelandSpas, General Manager at Le Reve Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Jesús

We appreciate the time you took to share your experience and let us know what you liked and how we can improve.

Thank you for your feedback.

Le Reve is taking the necessary actions to guarantee excellent personalized services at all times. Here's what we're working on today because of your comments:

1. As with many hotels outside of Playa del Carmen, the road that provides access to the hotel is not paved. Le Reve maintains the road in fair conditions throughout the year, however during the rainy season, the path deteriorates rapidly and we have to wait for better weather conditions before it can be serviced properly.
2. With regard to the room service; Le Reve offers food & beverage service from 7a.m. to 11p.m. Our concierge department contacted you in advance to set special food & beverage service because we were aware of your late check in and offered you the chance to order ahead of time.
3. We do not allow food and beverages purchased from outside the hotel at our facilities because we provide them at Le Reve. This is a widely implemented hotel policy standard at most properties.
4. The details of the various meal plans we offer are published on our website. We are working on the conditions in order to improve our service and our guest satisfaction satisfaction.

Le Reve Hotel & Spa regrets that its service performance was not at its usual level and you were not able to fully enjoy your stay. As many guest and Trip Advisor users have commented, Le Reve’s staff and services are known as an incredible experience in all ways.

Lic. Adriana Chardí
General Manager
Le Rêve Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prosper, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is a great hotel for setting on the beach and doing nothing. The team at Le Reve was attentive and remembered our special orders. Dinner on the beach was great. Maid staff was excellent and front "desk" staff helped alot. Will certainly go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scot C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I recently stayed at the Hotel de Reve playa del Carmen and had an excellent stay.
This hotel is not as glamorous as I thought but it's nice because is simple small and with great view!!! Normally I am used with the great service but in The Reve hotel was really great! People were always with a simile and also the have a solution for all our request! Only the concierge who speaks french was not in the same level as the others!!she was very artificial, and not very nice. We had the impression that she was doing a favor and she was the client and us to serve her!! But the others concierges were great and efficient.
My favorite place was our bungalow window With beach view. It was perfect to sit and read in front of the beach.The private piscine in our bungalow was outrageous really nice with great view!
The food was simple, great always with little "mise en bouche"and small great detail!
Thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renata D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Came for a wedding and the bride and groom generously put us in a large bungalow suite. It was huge and had a massive terrace as big as the room with a nice ocean view.

Unfortunately we arrived at night and it was raining heavily. Rain water was leaking through the terrace doors which staff had come to mop up as soon as I had requested for service but as soon as they left, the room started getting wet again. On top of that, there were lots of insects in the room and one corner of the room smelled like puke. It was clean, but stank... It was also very dark in the room and we could have used a few extra lamps. Service was usually prompt and good, but too bad for the hardware.

Checked out the beach villa which had similar problems with leaks and mildew. Seemed like the normal hotel rooms were actually better because the bungalow and beach villas had traditional grass rooftops and big windows/doors...

There was a bbq party and the meats were delish. Breakfast was also good (included in the room rate was bread and fruit) I remember that you had to pay extra for the good stuff, like hot cakes, eggs etc.... Most hotels do amazing breakfast buffets nowadays, so was a bit surprised.

Sadly, no wifi in the room, only in lobby/restaurant...

Wedding on beach was beautiful and the staff were v efficient with set up as there was only a 30min window for them to set up outdoors as soon as the rain stopped close to the scheduled ceremony time.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SuperSLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2013

To the team of LE Reve, I would like to thank you all in person for the friendly and so personalized attention that you offered me during my stay ant the resort Le Reve. I have seen many houses, in more then 200 cities and regents round the the world, due to my conclusion that your house has offered me an experience which was truly a high level hospitality fulfillment on multiple levels. My 360’ reflection, all in all very positive and this leads me to the point that I would recommend your place as one of the few spots in the world to be considered as a hideaway in the world. Great job!

best regards,
Rui

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philipp R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Writing a year after our stay at Le Reve... we have talked about it many times since then, so I figured it must deserve some public credit here. We stayed during Hurricane Ernesto's land fall... being on vacation, we felt "untouchable" while the staff was working very hard to make sure everything was not only secure, but remained very nice and clean. Without reducing the severity of the storm to locals and those that may have been hurt, it made the end of our vacation all the more memorable. We booked a "special" all inclusive rate and enjoyed smoothies pretty much all day, great food, and a superb location. We were able to enjoy a peaceful atmosphere at our "home base" and wander down the beach to complete chaos from time to time... they had Hobie Cat rentals at one of those mega resorts which were lots of fun... especially a day or so before the storm when the winds started picking up. While at Le Reve we enjoyed the pool, found some Bocce balls in the workout room, and only wish they had a ping pong table on the hotel side of the beach bar/workout room/message terrace... but we guessed that may have been a bit too much chaos for some of the other guests. Anyway, our four days at Le Reve after four or five days of sight seeing in Merida, and a few of the ancient sites in between, were fantastic!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.6 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#49 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,484 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,653 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#35 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,339 reviews
0.3 mi away
Petit Lafitte
Petit Lafitte
#6 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,505 reviews
0.1 mi away
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Play...
#55 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
6,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Reve Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Reve Hotel & Spa

Property: Le Reve Hotel & Spa
Address: Playa Xcalacoco, Fraccion 2A Playa Del Carmen Quintana Roo, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#52 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#54 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#56 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#65 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Reve Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Rêve Hotel & Spa is a luxury and modern boutique hotel in Playa del Carmen. With a unique collection of 28 rooms overlooking the Caribbean Sea with the perfect blend of nature, peace, gastronomy and mexican hospitality. Our guests are able to book just the hotel room or they can indulge with our unlimited food & beverages "Gourmet All Inclusive A la Carte" . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Reve Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Reve Hotel And Spa
Le Reve Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Le Reve Playa Del Carmen
Le Reve Hotel & Spa Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing