We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and Romantic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Reve Hotel & Spa
Ranked #100 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We traveled to Le Reve for a getaway with another couple without our kids and it was a perfect choice for us. It was unbelievably quiet and peaceful. The food was very good and the service was great and non-intrusive. The road in was really bumpy but, honestly, it didn't bother me at all. The cab drivers were not crazy about it though. The breakfast in the restaurant is amazing. Would definitely go back!

Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank babymommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (850)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

446 - 452 of 849 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2012

My husband and I got married at Le Reve on May 19, and there are simply not enough words to describe how PERFECT our wedding weekend was at the lovely Le Reve. The wedding planner, Arlenis, and her assistant Ana Carla are absolutely the best. They were so on top of everything. I did not have to worry about anything at both the rehearsal dinner or the wedding. They made sure everything ran so smoothly and even thought of the things that I forgot. I did not have to worry or stress about anything. They are just so good at their jobs. On the day of my wedding, it started raining in the afternoon, so of course I was upset. Arlenis knew exactly how to calm a bride and assure me of a "Plan B" just in case. On top of both of them giving me my dream wedding, they are possibly 2 of the sweetest ladies I have ever met. The entire staff at Le Reve provided my entire group with flawless service. We rented out the whole hotel, and they definitely were able to take care of our group. Everyone raved to us about how awesome the staff was and how hard they worked to make it perfect. From Jesus at the from desk, to all the guys who worked the bar/restaurant and worked our events...Mario, Freddy, Antonio, Roberto, Ismael, and the rest of the crew...these guys are AMAZING!! In a nutshell... This was the best destination wedding and all who were there agree :) Thank you to Le Reve and we will be back!!

Room Tip: Master Suites are the most spacious but we loved our beach bungalow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

I always find it curious how other travelers find ways to complain about the vacation that they chose. My biggest piece of advice is to do your research and take actions for your choices.

Having said that Le Reve was perfect for my wife and I. We prefer small Boutique'y hotels that are a bit quiet, and probably a bit more expensive, but in Le Reve's case you get what you pay for.

The restaurant was really good for all of the different meals (breakfast, lunch, and dinner). If you are staying for a few nights and are adventuress definitely try the "Mayan" Menu for dinner. You have to pick your meal 24 hours in advance but it is definitely worth it.

The beach is nice but a bit rocky. You can take a 10 minute walk in either direction and not have to deal with the coral. The infinity pool is amazing and the poolside bar is great! (try the coco locos).

In short, Le Reve is a great small Boutique hotel for those looking for some peace and quiet. Do your research and know what you like in your vacation. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: If you can afford in the beach side bungalows are great! They have their own plunge pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Baltimoooooron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Stayed here for a friend's wedding, and my first time staying someplace that was couples only and $200 a night. It was a peaceful, tranquil setting; about a 10 minute ride from Playa del Carmen, the town. The decor is all exposed dark wood and white washed walls; the view is gorgeous and the accomodations very tasteful and elegant. Its couples only--no kids unless its for a wedding like this one. With only 35 rooms, its smaller than the other resorts so the staff remembers you and your tastes. For example, I don't like sugary cocktails--they remembered to make my margaritas without the syrup.

Stayed in the Garden Suite--its very private, you get your own garden with big hedges and your own hammock but the due to the layout, you can hear your neigbours. Mind you, my neighbors were friends who took joy in shouting across the rooms. There are no windows to keep open and the garden door had no screen (nor could it lock well) but this meant we had to keep the AC on all night. It got kind of cold; so the thick comforter was good. For some reason, if you turned the AC off, condensation formed on the floor, making it a little slippery. Doors with screens would have been great.

The layout is open concept; private toilet but the shower has glass doors; the walls to the bathroom have a peek-a-boo quality that can make folks nervous (no the people passing by can't see you). Friends who stayed in the ocean view suites had a lovely large balcony, but the bath area was completely open to the room. Be comfortable with your suitemate. Don't have body issues :)

The beach is kind of rocky, and has coral reefs so not much ocean swimming--go a little farther down the beach and you can swim there. Infinity pool was lovely, lots of lounge chairs in shade and in the sun.

Breakfast was great! Get the package that includes breakfast. Town is a $15 cab ride away.

Onsite staff was very helpful. However when we contacted the hotel a few months prior to inquire about excursions we got little to no response. Odd because on-site, they were more than helpful.

Room Tip: Heard no complaints of any room, except that the ones with a balcony/ocean view had an open bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nyasa07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

If you like...
• being in close proximity to lots of tourists;
• buying bad holiday t’shirts and bargaining with Mexicans over $2,
• drinking as many pre-mixed alcoholic drinks as you can take for only $40
• being never too far away from a Starbucks or a Burger King
• the smell of effluent wafting over the beach
• sharing the beach with ALL the tourists visiting Playa Del Carmen
• overhearing conversations that make your brain want to explode, because no matter where you turn there’s a tourist gabbing away

Well La Reve is NOT for you.

For all those poor souls like me who fantasise about holidays for months on end, and just want a relaxing break, away from hoards of tasteless travellers and their mind-numbing conversations- then look no further than La Reve.

I’ve seen a few threads here and there about La Reve’s proximity to Playa Del Carmen. Yes it is 10km away and that’s a good thing. When you’re 10km away it means you’ve almost got the beach to yourself (which in my book is heaven on earth). Every evening, my husband and I got a taxi into Playa for dinner- it was a 10 minute taxi ride and very cheap. The beach never once smelt like a toilet and true to my fantasy, I was able to read two books, whilst sipping delicious cocktails right on the beach, uninterrupted, for five blissful days.

La Reve hits the nail on its head in all aspects. We had a great time and are indebted to the staff of the hotel. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ShellOb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We had a great stay Le Reve. The staff was so wonderful and friendly. Food was great, especially breakfast. Every night there was turn down service and treats before bed. I think our room was cleaned almost twice a day. Beds were pretty comfy. The mosquitoes bit a lot, at least we think they were mosquitoes hmmm so make sure to bring bug spray. If you are squeamish then maybe stay clear of the bungalow rooms and stay higher up. The waterfront bungalows were a little more "rustic". There were lots of critters running around, lizards & iguanas. We even had some cockroaches in our room but the staff was quick to come take care of the problem. If you are looking for a big glamourous resort this is not for you. If you want an intimate, relaxing getaway go for it. The only thing that was missing was a jacuzzi :) All in all a really great stay!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyJC12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights as part of our honeymoon. I cannot say enough about how much we enjoyed our time here.The hotel and grounds are beautiful and tranquil, and the staff are simply outstanding. It's the perfect place for couples who want to spend time together. The food at the restaurant was delicious and the drinks were fantastic. Because it is a small hotel, the staff know exactly who you are and what room you are staying in.

Here are some examples regarding the attention to detail...When we first arrived, we were brought welcome drinks in less than 5 minutes, which was lovely as it had been a bit of a long, hot journey getting there (The Cancun airport is an absolute madhouse). Prior to our arrival, I had emailed the hotel letting them know we were coming on our honeymoon, so there was a bottle of champagne chilling in our room on our arrival (free of charge). As part of the free honeymoon package, we were also treated to a complimentary breakfast in our room, which was lovely. We told the staff that we would prefer to have the bottle of sparkling wine (which was included in the complimentary breakfast) with our dinner rather than with breakfast. When we went for dinner at the hotel restaurant that evening, the waiter asked us if we would like our bottle of wine before we even had a chance to mention it.

In the bathroom, there were towels for showering, as well as 2 beach towels in a woven beach bag, which was very handy and thoughtful of the hotel to provide. Every night, we would return to our hotel room and find our linens turned back with little treats waiting for us. There is also a mini-library which I took advantage of, and complimentary tea and cookies every evening between 5 and 6 pm. The staff were so genuine and accommodating that we were sorry to leave and determined to return next year.

Because the hotel is a bit off the beaten path (which we loved) I would recommend renting a car if you are able to. We used Alamo at the Cancun airport and were very pleased with their service and prices. There is so much to see and do in the area, if you can tear yourself away from the hotel, that renting a car is worth the cost. Renting a car for 4 days with unlimited mileage and insurance cost around $160 American. Considering that it is a $30 round trip via cab to Playa del Carmen, the price for a car rental is very reasonable. We were also able to go to Tulum and Chichen Itza, which definitely are places that must be seen if you are in the area.

I want this hotel to still be there so I can go back next year! You must stay here and give them your business...you won't regret it. It is the best experience I have ever had at a hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrsSosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
3.3 mi away
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach C...
#59 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
468 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#23 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,634 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#41 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,406 reviews
3.1 mi away
Be Playa Hotel
Be Playa Hotel
#28 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
624 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#6 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Reve Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Reve Hotel & Spa

Address: Playa Xcalacoco, Fraccion 2A Playa Del Carmen Quintana Roo, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#39 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#55 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#58 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#70 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $147 - $545 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Reve Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Rêve Hotel & Spa is a luxury and modern boutique hotel in Playa del Carmen. With a unique collection of 28 rooms overlooking the Caribbean Sea with the perfect blend of nature, peace, gastronomy and mexican hospitality. Our guests are able to book just the hotel room or they can indulge with our unlimited food & beverages "Gourmet All Inclusive A la Carte" . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Reve Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Reve Hotel And Spa
Le Reve Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Le Reve Playa Del Carmen
Le Reve Hotel & Spa Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing