We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Reve Hotel & Spa
Ranked #101 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2011

This hotel is the perfect place for a honeymoon if you are looking for quiet, beautiful and personalized service. We felt like pampered celebrities! We stayed in a Bungalow which had its own deck with dive pool and then led out to the soft sand and then to the ocean. The room was amazing, the air conditioner kept the room cool and the humidity out. The restaurant was magnificent, breakfast was our favorite and it was included in the price of the Honeymoon upgrade--meaning it was free! We even had our own romantic dinner set up for us on the beach! It was beautiful, sitting there by the ocean, listening to the waves, eating our steaks...this hotel exceeded our expectations. The staff was very friendly and tremendously helpful, we would just tell them what we wanted to do and they would have it all arranged. The road leading to the hotel is bumpy and I was expecting it after reading other reviews, they drivers drive super slow on it so it is not uncomfortable and you are on it less than 5minutes. We are hoping to go back soon. Its a lovely place.

the restaurant bar makes AMAZING margaritas...I probably had 27 of them!

Room Tip: Bungalow room! Super private with your own dip pool!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (850)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

498 - 504 of 850 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2011

My husband and I went to Le Reve in October for our honeymoon. The staff is so warm and accomodating. They really made our stay so perfect. All of our meals we had at the restaurant were incredible. My husband caught a fish one day and they even prepared it for us. It was delicious. We felt spoiled the whole time we were there. We stayed in a bungalow suite our last night whch was fabulous. The pool is really nice too. The only downfall is there a reef right in front of the hotel so when you walk into the water, it is a bit rocky. But they do provide water shoes for you to wear. We can't wait to return one day!

Room Tip: The bungalow suite is amazing!! You walk right out of your room onto the beach. The Master Suite is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

We started the first leg of our 14 day Honeymoon here and the only bad thing about it, was that we eventually had to leave.

We spent the first 4 days in a Beach Bungalow and we had such an amazing time. From the moment we arrived we received personalized and attentive service like we've never experienced before. We even showed up way early and they worked so hard to make sure our room was ready for us.

First and foremost, it's small, intimate and very romantic. If you're looking for a huge all-inclusive resort with tons of screaming Americans, this isn't the place. You turn off of Federal Highway 307 and drive through some greenery for a few minutes. You then take one of the bumpiest roads in all of Mexico for about a mile or so, only to end up at the small, boutique-style, paradise with a small open air lobby overlooking the beautiful water. I noticed alot of people on here took the bumpy road as a negative for this place, but it's municipal land, and the hotel has no say in getting it fixed, so they have no control over it.
Second, the food was fantastic. I read some reviews that said it wasn't too good, but ours was fresh, authentic and our waiter service was wonderful. We dealt alot of Ishmael, who took very good care of us throughout our stay not only in the restaurant, but when bringing things to our room and getting us drinks while on the beach. The restaurant overlooks the Caribbean and we loved it.

Third, our service was so personal, we felt like at the end of the stay, we knew everyone. They called us by our names all week, the personal touches they paid attention to in terms of our turn down service and little gifts and desserts they'd deliver each night, made it such a wonderful experience.

Fourth, if you are on the fence about room choice and can pay a little more, the Beach Bungalows are amazing, so spend the money and get one. We stayed in the bungalow suite named Boca Del Cielo. The king size bed was so comfortable, the bathroom and shower were fantastic. At night when we went to sleep, we'd leave the bathroom light on just near the toilet section and when we'd lay in bed and stare up, the ceiling looked awesome since it's a pitched straw roof. Absolutely awesome view. Other than that, we'd swim in our private plunge pool during the day, sit out on our private deck at night, and fall asleep to the sound of the wave crashing only 30-40 feet from our door. In the morning we'd open the shades and lay in bed and have a perfect view of the sea. Absolutely great. There is no TV in the room, and as someone who watches TV every night before they go to bed, my wife and I didn't mind it at all.

Finally, the beach is rocky, Yes. But they don't tell you to bring water shoes or anything like that because they provide that all for you. As soon as you walk down to the beach there is a whole rack with water shoes, snorkel gear, all that stuff. Don't let the reviews citing the beach is too rock-ey scare you.

Also, we highly recommend the cab ride to downtown Playa del Carmen. Very safe, tons of shops and restaurants, and just a really good way to immerse yourself in the culture. only about a 15 minute ride.

All in all, this place was flat out amazing. They've received multiple awards and recognition, as well as a Conde Nast Recommended places award. We got the Honeymoon package and the private Dinner on the beach was perfect and all of the small details made the trip that much more enjoyable. We will definitely be going back here. We've never been more relaxed in our lives.

Please don't hesitate to contact me directly with any questions or info about it. We'd love to spread their name and great service any way possible.
.

Room Tip: Splurge for the Beach Bungalow. You will not be disappointed. other than That, the Master suites a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

My fiancee and I were looking for a quiet, beautiful place with great service and food to get married and have our honeymoon. We got a bungalow at Le Reve and found paradise!!! What a wonderful room, porch, pool, and view and close proximity of the beach! The porch and pool had bushes on both sides for seclusion, but we were still able to call out a nearby waiter for fresh drinks!!!
We got married on the beach, and the setup was right in front of our bungalow. We had a quiet wedding followed by an excellent beach dinner and drinks with great service for just the two of us, and an excellent wedding cake for two to boot!
The service was impeccable throughout our stay, and we quickly got to know the entire staff. Arlenis, the hotel wedding planner, gave us stupendous personalized service. She definitely went above and beyond the call of duty before, during, and after the wedding. We were pampered all the way.
If you are looking for a quiet, beautiful place to get married, or just to have time with you and your loved one, I would recommend this place to anyone. We have already discussed a return trip!!!

Room Tip: It's a small boutique hotel, with not a bad room at the place. We would recommend the Bungalow f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

This is one of the most relaxing hotels we have ever stayed in and we've been married and touring for 47 years so we've seen quite a few. It's beautiful, clean, food is excellent and not outrageously priced and we found the service faultless.There are one or two things to be wary of before booking. The road; it is unmade and very bumpy for the last 1/2 mile and it is about a 10 to 15 minute drive to the main road and access to other towns etc. if you ever decided to go anywhere, we didn't. Your tour operator will tell you the road is under construction,it isn't. The hotel is not connected to a mains electricity supply so the hotel operates a very noisy generator 24/7 which is a problem if you are a light sleeper. If you have children aged beween 3 and 10 be warned that the very attractively styled stairways and balconies are potentially very dangerous, and would almost certainly not be allowed under UK building regs.Wheelchair users would have regular difficulties Either side of the hotel are large vacant sites, one has some buildings on it but is now for sale and the other is scrubland. Check very carefully with your agent about what is happening to these sites before you book. This real gem of an hotel could be ruined by the building of "disco all hours" hotels on either side.One last tip; whatever anyone tells you there are mosquitos, take some spray and relax,that's what this hotel is all about.

Room Tip: Pay the extra to be on the Beach, garden and high rooms can be susceptable to generator noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ROBERT G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

I just returned from Le Reve after spending four nights there, and I miss it already! The hotel is beautiful, it's simple and tastefully decorated. I was a bit anxious after reading about all the reviews that included people hating the long dirt road to the hotel, which is true-the road is bumpy and it takes forever to get there via a taxi. The plus side is, once you're there you never want to leave! We wanted to take tours and visit Coba and Rio Secreto, but none of the tours would pick us up at the hotel because of the road. The solution that we found is to be picked up at Azul Five which is located next to Le Reve. Rather than walking down the dirt road to the hotel, we walked on the beach and through the back end of Azul Five without any issues at all!

The food was delicious, and although we never only eat at our hotel, we didn't want to leave and try the mostly sub-par food in Playa del Carmen. Although the beach is rocky, if you walk 10 minutes in either direction there is beautiful turquoise water without rocks to swim in. When you see the huge resorts blasting trashy music you'll be so thankful that you stayed at Le Reve.

As other reviews have mentioned, Le Reve is really a romantic place to come with your partner, although you could stay there with friends it's really geared towards couples and everyone seems to be on their honeymoon. If you want peace, quiet, amazing service, and beautiful surroundings Le Reve is the place for you.

Room Tip: The beachfront villas are beautiful, although we loved the garden room as opposed to the rooms with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fg1186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

So serene, great staff, beautiful spaces. Very tranquil and relaxing! Everything is aesthetically pleasing — great design, layout, furniture, hammocks. We stayed in a second floor Horizon Suite room and it was lovely. The individual huts down below looked amazing with walk out to the beach and private mini-pool. We walked the beach down to Playa (about 1 hour to get there) which is fun, saw all the other places along the way. Loved ours! The beach is definitely rocky, so if you want to regularly get in the Caribbean (if the pool won't do) then you might not want to stay here. That road is bumpy, but we just laughed about it. The ceviche here is amazing too!

Room Tip: Our Horizon Suite room was towards the end of the hall and nice for more privacy when on your deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aboutagirltoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
3.3 mi away
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach C...
#58 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
468 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#23 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,636 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#40 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,407 reviews
3.1 mi away
Be Playa Hotel
Be Playa Hotel
#28 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
624 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#5 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Reve Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Reve Hotel & Spa

Address: Playa Xcalacoco, Fraccion 2A Playa Del Carmen Quintana Roo, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#39 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#55 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#59 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#70 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $148 - $547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Reve Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Rêve Hotel & Spa is a luxury and modern boutique hotel in Playa del Carmen. With a unique collection of 28 rooms overlooking the Caribbean Sea with the perfect blend of nature, peace, gastronomy and mexican hospitality. Our guests are able to book just the hotel room or they can indulge with our unlimited food & beverages "Gourmet All Inclusive A la Carte" . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Reve Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Reve Hotel And Spa
Le Reve Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Le Reve Playa Del Carmen
Le Reve Hotel & Spa Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing