We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Reve Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$293
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$227
$191
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$587
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
$331
$217
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
$423
$240
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
$401
$289
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
$1,434
$753
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
$438
$349
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$562
$472
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$973
$450
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (890)
Filter reviews
890 results
Traveler rating
529
204
82
33
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
529
204
82
33
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate gardensmall hotelwater shoeshotel restaurantall inclusive plancevicheour honeymoonall inclusive optiona garden view roomrelaxing getawayinfinity poolwedding coordinatorfilet mignonhotel is beautifultime sharethe entire staffbeach chairs
Filter
Updating list...
532 - 537 of 890 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We had a very nice 4 day stay at the Le Reve! We knew about the quirks (rocky beach below the water-line) and the rough road - so were not surprised by this. The sand on the beach where you relax was super soft and we did not bother with shoes on our walks up and down the beach.

The room was comfortable and clean and we loved not having a tv. The restaurant was reasonably priced and the food was awesome.

We liked it being adults only, and we found the staff attentive but not overwhelming.

Room Tip: We liked our garden room!
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slckiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed here in january 2011. Some reasons for not staying here:

1 kilometer dark bumpy road to get to the hotel from the main road between cancun and playa. took about 10 minutes to drive that kilometer. annoying when traveling back and forth the playa centrum beacuse the food was not impressive in the hotel.

the quality of the building truly sucks in many ways. the shower, the balcony etc. the room was very humid when we stayed there beacuse the wind from the ocean went right tru the balcony doors so much that our clothes became damp and did smell bad beacuse of it. we changed to a suite but same problem but beacuse of the roof was made of some kind of hay.

The beach was also a dissapointment beacuse you need to have shoes on when you enter the water. it was full of rocks on the bottom. i didnt see that in the pictures!!!

The staff was not very nice some of them rude except for Jesus. He did his best! Thanks for that!!

We changed hotel after four nights we should have stayed 10. We changed to Hotel Basico in playa center! We saved 1,5 hour in taxi trips each day and the beach was great just one block from the hotel and you didnt need shoes to take a dive into the ocean!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MrBartholetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeReveHotelandSpas, General Manager at Le Reve Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2011

Le Reve Hotel & Spa regrets that “MrBartholetti” was not able to fully enjoy his stay and would like to add the following:

The 3 km (1.8 miles) long road connecting the hotel with the federal highway has been fixed. Only the last 300 meters (330 yards) remain bumpy. Unfortunately, since the road belongs to the municipality Le Reve Hotel & Spa has no control over the road’s condition and several requests to repair the remaining stretch have not been taken into consideration.

Guests every day enjoy the hotel’s beach and crystal clear Caribbean ocean in front of it. Shoes are available for protection. Since the rocks are small and under water they cannot be seen in the pictures.

Many very positive comments about the hotel’s staff and food have been posted on Trip Advisor. Le Reve Hotel & Spa is sorry that “MrBartholetti’s” expectations were not fully satisfied.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Le Reve for 7 nights in October and absolutely loved it. We stayed in one of the Master Suites, "Troncones", and I highly recommend this room. First of all, the view is unbeatable. As soon as you walk into the room, all you see is beauty. The king size bed has four posts and a pretty white net all around it. The entire wall on the beach side is glass with sliding doors, and overlooks the gorgeous infinity pool and pristine beach and ocean. The bathroom has a rainshower with wood floor, so lovely.

The entire hotel is comprised of only 25 rooms and we NEVER felt crowded at the pool, beach or restaurant. The hotel provides huge beach towels, shoes for going in the ocean and snorkeling gear if you're interested and the ocean water is so nice to swim in. The pool is very clean and cold--this was very refreshing.

The restaurant is top notch and offers a great selection of gourmet food. The staff is very friendly and accomodating and will bring food and drinks to the beach, pool, outdoor lobby area or your room if you'd like. We had breakfast on our second floor deck one morning and it was breathtaking.

One thing to keep in mind--it is a place for relaxing and soaking up the sun, not for a crazy party. Some nights all we wanted was quiet so we stayed in but other nights we wanted more of a scene so took the 15 min cab ride to downtown Playa. We also walked left up the beach to some of the other resorts for a drink just to explore.

Overall, I wouldn't change a thing. This was exactly what we needed after a crazy wedding weekend.

Don't be discouraged by the road leading to the hotel--it's full of pot holes and seems to lead nowhere, then you arrive in paradise.

PS, if you want to go riding while in town, go to Rancho Baaxal. Excellent, well taken care of horses.

Room Tip: Master Suites are on top level with amazing views.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

this place is really beautiful and peacefull; a bit far away from the center of playa del carmen which is perfect to have a relax and calm stay;
rooms are very nice, cleand and with full comforts and amenities;
staff is kind, service is very good; food is also great, so no need to go to the twon center to find a restaurant which are moreover mostly all bad;
the swimmingpool overlooking the amazing caribbean sea is superb;
and if you really want a dream stay, book the bungalow with private pool....
definitively a place to stay for a lover stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CLBPARIS251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We just returned from our Honeymoon at Le Reve and we could be happier with our stay. The place is beautiful. The pictures you see online don't do it justice. We had the Bungalow suite with the plunge pool and LOVED it. The room was amazing, the food was great, and the staff was awesome. Anything you needed they would do for you.

We did do the Adventure Honeymoon Package and would recommend it, but it is a little misleading. The trip to Xplor is awesome, but be prepared to be wet all day. The dinner on the beach was a highlight for us, but the ATVs were a little disappointing. It is sold as a trip to see the Mayan Ruins, but there are no ruins. It’s an intense ATV ride, but not what we were looking for.

The beach is great, and although you needed water shoes to go into the water, it didn't bother us one bit, but buying a cheap pair of water shoes before you go would be a good idea for the beach and Xplor -if you go there.

Overall we loved it and could not be happier with our Honeymoon.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TJee25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews