We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Reve Hotel & Spa
Ranked #99 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Paradise Found”
Reviewed May 31, 2011

An unbelievable stay!!! This is my second time at the hotel and I am in love with it. It is just the right size in just the right place and all for what amounts to a steal!! I spent the weekend there and had a fabulous time. The rooms are pristine, I stayed din a suit in-front of the ocean. If you feel the need you can go commando at night!!! and its heaven. Mexico has some of the best service in the world and the hotels lives up to that reputation. The people are kind and extremely attentive! the service was just spectacular. Now this place has an architecture to die for. The sense pf arrival the two walls framing the pool and ocean and the Palapa roof all come together to create Paradise recovered!

Loved it

Jorge H

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jorgehenriquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    184
    71
    32
    38
See reviews for
110
560
20
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
1 review
Reviewed May 17, 2011

My husband and I recently returned from a trip to Le Reve to celebrate our 10th Anniversary. We had a fantastic time at Le Reve and would highly recommend it for those seeking relaxation in a beautiful location with excellent service.
Our transfer to and from the Cancun airport was seamless. Our driver, Henry, was great. His SUV was comfortable and he was punctual, professional, and happy to answer our questions about the area.

We stayed in a Garden Room. The room was well designed and modern with a minimal amount of furnishings. The bed was cozy. The room would definitely benefit from a small table and chair(s) and some type of iPod dock for music, certainly not necessities, but would be nice. The view from this room is just so-so. Not bad, you just look at the back of the ocean front bungalows.

We loved the food. Breakfast was fantastic. We were not disappointed in the selection like some other reviewers have mentioned. I do think that some of the lunch offerings were a bit overpriced. We were the first to order from the new Mayan menu and it was quite tasty. Each night the chef would prepare an amuse bouche and it was always amazing. Also delicious were the treats left in the room at turndown service. Nice touch. The bite of Tres Leches cake was something particularly special.

The property is well-maintained and offers spectacular, do-nothing-but-stare-at-the-water-all-day views.

The gym is certainly not a strong suit of the hotel. While the view is beautiful, the ventilation was poor. Therefore, exercise was hard to maintain for any extended period of time without being smoking hot.

My husband and I had relaxation massages at the spa that were very nice. I also had an Organic facial. The massages were great, the facial just ok. The sun was blazing in my eyes during the facial so it wasn’t the most relaxing. Our massages also started an hour late and although I asked, no one seemed to acknowledge it or provide an explanation. I attributed the lack of communication to the language barrier. Did I just complain about my spa day in paradise? My apologies.

The clientele of the hotel while we were there was mostly young professionals. While we made some friends, for the most part people were quiet and kept to themselves.

One of the biggest strengths of this hotel is the people. The hotel manager has done a great job of staffing the property with genuinely nice and accommodating people and it shows.

We look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KittyHemlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

If you can, enjoy or upgrade to a bungalow ...breakfast outstanding ..ambience ...peaceful serene....walk to Playa del Carmen. Downtown. An hour away down the coast ..a gem of a property ..cons...wifi. weak...unavailable sometimes...great pickup/dropoff set up online..do it...

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

My wife and I recenty returned from our honeymoon at Le Reve and both agree that our trip could not have been better. Everywhere you look, there's another postcard. Also the staff were more than helpful in arranging trips, etc. The food was absolutely wonderful! I would recommend this to anyone! as I said before, this is the best kept secret on the riviera maya.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mwilliams3501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2011

We just returned from a getaway at Le Reve, and our stay was amazing. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful with every request. The rooms are beautiful, each seemed to have an amazing view of the beach. We did have a few tiny lizards in our rooms, which we honestly didn’t mind at all! (They eat the bugs, so win win!) The beach is very quite, which we truly liked. The shoreline does have some rocks which makes it hard to swim right out from of the hotel but there are water shoes available for quest to use. We spent most of the time swimming in the pool, which was lovely and always clean. Yes, the road leading to the hotel is a dirty road which is bumpy, not really a big deal, I would hope at some point the hotel puts a little money into filling the holes. I would recommend the Master Suite, they are the largest rooms, having an amazing view and extremely huge/private balcony. I would for sure visit the hotel again!!

Room Tip: Master Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wishful-traveler-23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Having just returned from my 5 night stay at Le Reve for a wedding it's best to share my experience while I'm still depressed about being back home in San Francisco. As I've attended many, many weddings in various locations around the world over the last 20+ years I can honestly say the Le Reve without a doubt tops my list. From the charm of the hotel (no tv's or clocks to be found anywhere) to the courteous and friendly staff you cannot beat this place.

There are 25 rooms which were all rented out by the wedding party so essentially for the 5 days it became our home. The great part about taking over the hotel is I did not know too many people attending the wedding but by the end of my stay I not only had a chance to chat with most of the people but could not help but really get to know everyone and share some great stories, laughs, etc. The staff was great! Extremely friendly, attentive to everyone's needs but not overbearing.

A couple of items to note to avoid any disappointment. I stayed in a Horizon Suite which was very nice but if you're expecting a full ocean view you might want to double check which room you're staying in because there are definitely partial views. The other downside was the lack of sand in the ocean directly in front of the hotel. It is almost all coral and wearing some protective shoes is a must if you go swimming or snorkeling. Now you can walk a couple hundred yards down the beach and find a sandy spot to swim in the ocean. However, you will not find a nicer, more relaxing pool with an incredible view than at the Le Reve.

The rehearsal dinner, wedding and reception were all held on the beach and the backdrop could not have been nicer. I normally take these things for granted having never been married myself but to watch how hard Arlenis and Mariana worked to make sure everyone was happy and having a good time while getting their work done was downright incredible. These ladies always had an upbeat and friendly attitude while probably being stressed out from time to time but you would never had known it. Everything was always very well organized with amazing attention to detail from the table settings to the layout of the wedding itself.

The bottom line is if you want a relaxing, quaint and memorable place to have a wedding or vacation where the staff makes you feel welcome and spoiled Le Reve is definitely the place. I'll definitely be back...sooner than later hopefully.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfishsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

My husband and I went to Le Reve in April '11. We were longing to get away from daily routines, kiddos, and work, and we were able to do exactly that at Le Reve. The name really does say it all-- upon entering the hotel and walking around the gorgeous (and beautifully manicured) grounds, it feels dreamlike.

The driveway-- I get why other reviewers had complaints about this, but my husband and I completely agree that the approach takes you off the beaten path and reminds you that you are away from all the tourism of the area...the hotel is so peacefully secluded. Upon arriving, we were brought delicious iced tea with lime while checking in-- delicious!

The rooms--For the first two nights, we stayed in a Garden Suite as the Master Suite was unavailable until our third day. The Garden Suite was very nice, although somewhat small for our taste. There was easy access to the pool and grounds from the Garden Suite. We had the first suite near the pool, and on one occasion, we could hear a loud girl (a guest) at the pool and dishes in the kitchen while we were trying to nap-- this was definitely not routine though. Now, for the Master Suite- if you are trying to make a decision between rooms, the Master is AMAZING!!! It was so roomy with high thatched ceilings, gorgeous blowing curtains, a huge private balcony, and the shower in our suite overlooked the ocean and grounds (not to mention it was huge!). The Bungalows were not in our budget, so I can't speak to those, but the Master Suite may even be a better option with it's gorgeous view from the top of the hotel, plus you feel especially secluded from the other guests.

The service-- Perfect. I agree with other reviewers that it was just enough-- not checking on you every minute, yet not keeping you waiting. All staff were very cordial and professional. We especially thank Roberto, Freddy (who carried an enormous & heavy breakfast in bed all the way up to our suite one morning), Jacqueline, and also the hotel manager-- but we never got his name unfortunately. They really went out of their way to make sure we were happy, and they very much succeeded.

The restaurant-- Breakfast was AMAZING, the kind that makes you not want to get in your bathing suite afterwards... but we were on vacation! After eating that breakfast, we were good to go until dinner. We ate at the restaurant for dinner most nights and enjoyed the food. There were so many layers of flavor in the dishes-- loved them. I would like to see even more local/ traditional entree options on the menu. I know that you can ask for them, but if you're a foreigner and don't speak much Spanish (thus don't know what to ask for), it can be kind of tough.

We would definitely go back to Le Reve. If you are looking for a big, touristy resort getaway, this is NOT the place for you.... If you prefer a luxurious and peaceful getaway, then I highly recommend Le Reve.

Room Tip: Huge deals regularly posted on hotel website!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leedeedav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
2.8 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,700 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#48 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,559 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,436 reviews
3.3 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#35 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,359 reviews
3.0 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#43 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Reve Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Reve Hotel & Spa

Property: Le Reve Hotel & Spa
Address: Playa Xcalacoco, Fraccion 2A Playa Del Carmen Quintana Roo, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#54 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#57 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#57 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#68 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Reve Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Rêve Hotel & Spa is a luxury and modern boutique hotel in Playa del Carmen. With a unique collection of 28 rooms overlooking the Caribbean Sea with the perfect blend of nature, peace, gastronomy and mexican hospitality. Our guests are able to book just the hotel room or they can indulge with our unlimited food & beverages "Gourmet All Inclusive A la Carte" . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Reve Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Reve Hotel And Spa
Le Reve Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Le Reve Playa Del Carmen
Le Reve Hotel & Spa Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing