We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“bueno bonito barato ! god, clean and cheap !”
Review of Hotel Alux

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alux
Ranked #158 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Mérida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“bueno bonito barato ! god, clean and cheap !”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I reccomend this for rest only, it´s fine, poeple friendly, cheap and clean :)

i stayed for a couple of nights and I pay single room only 40 dolalrs per nights which it was good
and of course people are friendly they have security box at the reception.

Room Tip: security box at the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank onn_toi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corporativo H, General Manager at Hotel Alux, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Google Translation
Gracias por su recomendación. Estamos ubicados en un área de Playa del Carmen donde ciertamente uno puede caminar a varios lugares como la playa, la 5ta Avenida, restaurantes, tiendas y oficinas. Esta ubicación también nos deja en una calle, que no es principal, y asi uno puede descansar con mayor tranquilidad, Esperamos verle en su siguiente visita.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    39
    12
    0
    4
See reviews for
13
35
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
berlin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We where looking for a nice place to spend a couple of days in playa del carmen. After checking in we where told that we would get a kitchen. After a while we´ve been told that we only get a kitchen (grill, plates etc.) if we would pay the whole amound of our stay. That wasnt mentioned before. Well anyway we payed and left the key for them to insert the grill etc. into the room. After coming back nothing has changed in the room. They told us that we wouldnt get a grill etc. because they dont provide that and that we wont get breakfast included because we didnt booked online. That was really dissapointing for us as the kitchen was the main reason why we choose this hotel. The conversation wasnt as polite as it should be.

Besides of that the AC and the hot shower and specially Internet wasnt working. The best thing of all, one of the stuff knocked on our door like 5 times while we where sleeping -even having a "please dont disturb sign" on the door- to tell us to pay more because she has forgotten to add the tax and some other fees. She just entered the room without permission. Fix price which I and they agreed on was 500Pesos incl. tax now we where wondering why they wanted more money.

As all of the stuff where not able to speak nor to understand english I insist to speak with the owner. After that request I was told, that they dont have the owners number because of security reasons and that they would be responsible for everything.

This was a very unpleasant stay for us. Very very noisy as it seem that the stuff bring theire kids to work every day.

At the end they told us to leave because we didnt agree to pay something on top for no reason. We where really dissapointed and couldnt believe theire behavor. We decided to leave immediately and wanted our money back which we payed for the next night in advanced. They resist to gave us the money back.

Very agressiv and unpolite stuff and nobody seem to care about the guests. Even our neighbours had a complainmend to make.

We are long travellers on a worldtrip for 1,5 year and never had such a bad experience with a hotel like this.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank expedition w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AXPHOTEL, Manager at Hotel Alux, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you,

As we all know, tripadvisor works as an outstanding source for travelers to decide for accomodations. Competition and sales make it even more important to provide an excellent service.
We are sorry that in your personal experience, as you expressed in your review, your stay was not favorable. We would had like to address the issues you describe mainly because we find inconsistencies between what you describe and the services we provide.
We would like to comment the following:
Taxes are included in all rates given in Mexico
We were unable to find in our records the refund mentioned in your review.
The place you describe in your review seems to be a very unpleasant and unfriendly hotel. Most of our reviews picture a different kind of lodging.
We do not offer kitchenette services, we do not mention this in our web page nor is the hotel prepared for those kind of facilities.
Again, we appreciate your review and we are grateful for the time you took to write it. We approach it with a very objective view since we know that experiences are different for every traveler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The place is well located: a walking distance from the beach and right nearby the main street, yet far enough to avoid the noise at night. The staff was very nice and welcoming. The hotel is charming also simple. The room was clean and comfortable. The only negative element are the thin walls; we could hear the people next room when they were talking a bit loud or showering for instance. Still, we found that this was a minor inconvenient considering the price of the room and the hotel's location. We would recommend to anyone looking for a not too expensive but clean place to sleep in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 426Kiwi426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AXPHOTEL, Manager at Hotel Alux, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. Like cold water in a warm day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mérida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Hi GUys, I used to go to Playa del Carmen twice per year
I am mexican and like to visit different hotels and resorts with all inclusive service.

Let me tell you this time I wanted to do something more personal. I went in December for 4 days to Playa del Carmen, and found this hotel close tot the 5th Avenue HOTEL ALUX,
I want to keep simple my review CLEAN, FRIENDLY STAFF, CLOSE TO THE 5TH AVENUE( where all the bars, rest, discos are located) and CHEAP!!!!

Yes, even thougth it was December, this htl keep their rates always, that´s why always is fully booked, but you can make reservations by email and they respect everything. You should try this, rates are 2 people in standard double 65 dollars approx.

I will definitevely will go back when I want a place where to stay and if you want continental breakfast you pay 3 dollars more ( coffe, juice, butter, toast, milk) I like this kind of stays as I can have lunch or dinner wherever I want. You should try :) any question do not hesitate to ask me !

Room Tip: security box at the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onn_toi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AXPHOTEL, Manager at Hotel Alux, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thanks!

Your review is encouraging because it represents we fulfilled our goal at providing good and affordable accomodation and an alternative to the more expensive hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

The almost hidden Alux hotel has extremely nice people working there, always willing to help. The structure is peculiar, having all the rooms overlooking a small central patio. When we stayed there it rained, and all the water was disappearing on a hole on the ground :) it's very cheap for the huge and super clean rooms it offers. Only pity is that breakfast is a bit poor, but with the savings you will do with their price, you can afford a good coffee somewhere else and some fresh fruit from the supermarket.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panxio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2011

I stayed here in December 2010 while I was taking scuba lessons in Playa. Alux was a great little hotel off the main strip, so it's very quiet at night but close enough to the town center that I felt very safe walking back and forth by myself every night. The accommodations were simple and very clean, and a great price! A nice range of restaurants nearby, including a really good hole-in-the-wall steak place around the corner.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, California
Level Contributor
1,323 reviews
220 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 786 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

This was actually May 2010, my sister, my husband and I flew into Cancun, and were en route to Sarteneja, Belize. I'd heard so much about Playa we stopped here at Aluz. Reservations were made in advance and the service was excellent. The building was charming, spotless but inviting and it comes with a resident peacock. The hotel is very close to the downtown action with many dining options, great shopping and of course, the beach. Skip Cancun, head south a bit to Playa del carmen, The Alux is a great place to stay, very reasonably priced. Parking available.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ruthandvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
El Secreto Hotel by Bunik
El Secreto Hotel by Bunik
#124 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.8 mi away
Popol Vuh
Popol Vuh
#129 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caracol Suite Hotel
Caracol Suite Hotel
#187 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Maria Bonita
Hotel Hacienda Maria Bonita
#147 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Eclipse
Hotel Eclipse
#150 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.7 mi away
Angelo's Hotel
Angelo's Hotel
#102 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alux

Property: Hotel Alux
Address: Calle 14 Norte | Entre Avenidas 10 y 15, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Alux 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Alux Playa del Carmen is a small hotel built in a Mexican hacienda style. The guest rooms are spacious and comfortable with ironwork details, colorful tiles and original floors. All of the rooms are located around an open veranda. These small details can also be seen throughout the hotel. The hotel offers modern commodities at affordable rates. Therefore, ideal for the independent traveler, either for business or pleasure, because it allows him/her to maximize his/her budget without sacrificing quality or service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Alux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alux Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing