We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, Picturesque, and Peaceful”
Review of Hotel Julamis

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Merida
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Julamis
Ranked #4 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Woodside, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant, Picturesque, and Peaceful”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

What a charming and quaint hotel! The hotel is conveniently located minutes away from the Historic District. At the same time, Hotel Julamis is such a pleasant contrast to the city's sounds and sights. One immediately feels a sense of tranquility and calmness as you enter the hotel. But perhaps it's the detailed touches that make this place such a nice stay. From the hand-painted artwork on the room walls, to the candle-light foyer, stairwells, and rooftop deck, the array of plants and flowers, to the 2-course breakfast (that was actually tasty! and the neat and clean presentation of the food!), organic and eco-friendly soaps and shampoo, this hotel is artful and romantic. Furthermore, the host, Alex, is what gives this place its pleasant character. Alex was more than accommodating. For instance, when the A/C died, he replaced it in a day. Also his restaurant and sight-seeing suggestions were spot on. If it were not for his suggestions, our stay in Mérida would not have been as memorable. We really did not want to leave! This hotel made our stay in Mérida the picturesque one that it was! Thank you, Alex!! :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    59
    4
    3
    9
See reviews for
51
444
65
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We arrived on Mon, 28 April and departed Fri, 2 May 2014 and stayed for 4 nights. We arrived in Cancun and didn’t make the departure time from the airport directly to the bus station at Fiesta Americana (Merida). We had to take a transfer bus to downtown Cancun bus station. We choose the ADO Platinum bus from downtown to Merida, MX (Fiesta Americana) as recommend by Alex. Alex will email you assisting you with your travel routes. The ride was $550Peso per person.

When we arrived at the bus station in Merida. The folks at the bus station even waved down a taxi for us. I gave the driver the cross streets of the hotel and it was a quick 5 minute ride. The ride cost $60Peso with tip.

Alex greeted us at the hotel when we arrived around 8pm. He had a map and highlighted all the attractions around us. We pretty much walked everywhere, as we like to explore the neighborhood by foot on our travels. Alex mentioned that the people of Merida are very engaging, nice, friendly and helpful. It was all true everyone we encountered wanted to help.

Alex checked us in even though we had a balance on our account I asked Alex if he wanted to settle. He said, “No, you’ve been traveling all day. We’ll settle up later. Go relax.” He gave us a quick tour of the hotel and showed us where breakfast would be served in the morning. Showed us the upstairs patio where happy hour would start in the evening.

We got into our room (Room Corazon) and started to unpack. Our room had air conditioning and no ceiling fan. As hot, as it had been the last couple of days in Merida it took a little while for the room to cool down. After the first initial day, it kept up just fine. This room was awesome, very nice, and the entire hotel was quite. Even though there is a street right outside the room, the walls are thick enough but even street traffic was light. We had a private patio, which was nice. We didn’t use it at all as it was really hot during the day and we crashed at night after exploring all day. If you went with a group of friends, I would highly recommend this room, as you would have your own private gathering spot.

Breakfast was unbelievable; I’m not much of a breakfast person except when we go on vacations. Presentation was neat, simple and the food was tasty. Alex will ask what you like and don’t like. Tell him your likes and dislikes so he can customize your breakfast for you. If you’re lucky enough he will treat you to some of his homemade sausage links for breakfast. He found out I was a sausage carnivore and the game was on!

It was unusually and extremely hot about 115 – 118 during the first couple of days during our stay before the temperature finally dropped down to around mid 90s. Alex took us swimming which was a nice break from the weather.

The only bad experience we had was the day tour Alex booked for us. Cost was $550Peso per person to be picked up at the hotel and transported to swim in a cenote. He arranged for pickup at the hotel. The driver took us to a National Park where we had to pay another $220Peso to enter the park and take a dip in the cenote. I asked the driver if there was a changing room at the park so my wife could change into her swimming suit. He advised no, but when we arrived at the park, there was a nice restroom where she could have changed. Instead she left her swimming suit in the van. We spent about 30 minutes touring the park and hour in the cenote.

The second portion of the trip included a ride to Progresso, which was not in our plans at all. To be fair, I was glad we went to Progresso just to see what it was like. It’s a beach town set up for the cruise ships that come there twice a week. It’s not on the top of our list to ever return.

When we returned Alex asked about the trip. He said you don’t sound too happy. He called the driver and pretty much asked him “What happened?” Alex immediately offered to pay for our trip the next day to go swim in a cenote. We decided to do other things, but it was certainly a nice gesture on his part.

Overall our trip and experience in Merida was fantastic. We will certainly be returning and staying at Hotel Julamis again. It is all within a 5 – 8 city blocks of everything you wanted to explore from Cathedrals, shopping, food, city market, museums, cultural events and festivities. Every night in Merida there was some type of cultural activity. We walked to all of the restaurants except for seafood one night, which Alex gave us a 5-minute ride to. And the owners brought us HOME! That’s how friendly Merida really is.

One thing I’ve learned with all of our travels outside of the US. The bank ATM’s always for us give the best rates. There are plenty of banks near the hotel. However at Scotiabank there is a $3000Peso daily limit. So for dollar cost average if you are spending any amount of time, I would withdrawl a larger amount since you will be paying an ATM fee and International fee. (All the fees included its still the best rate. We average 12.5 – 12.9 conversion per $1USD).

We can’t wait to return to Merida and Hotel Julamis again. Thank you for everything Alex. Good times, great memories and full belly!

Room Tip: We selected Room Corazon with a private patio! You're not going to go wrong with any room! Our h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThaiTank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

This hotel is fantastic - the rooms are lovely and the building itself is beautiful - particularly the courtyard where breakfast is served and the roof terrace. Breakfast was delicious and made fresh by Alex each day.

Alex is a fantastic host - welcoming, helpful with directions and great at giving advice. We liked Alex's honesty and preferred this to the blandness you can get in other hotels. It really felt like a B&B with the opportunities to chat and meet other guests.

The location is good - just a short walk to the centre of Merida but easy to get to by car, peaceful, and easy to park.

It was extremely hot when we were there (41 degrees) and the air conditioning in our room did struggle a bit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GDshortbreaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2014

A week in Merida and luckily we found Hotel Julamis and Alex & Mary's amazing personal attention in a romantically charming setting - just what we were looking for! Can't say enough about the surprising and wonderful two-course breakfasts every morning, the tequila tastings on the rooftop deck at sunset, and the lovely way the hotel is decorated. Can't wait to return to Merida and stay again at Julamis in the historical Colonia Centro area. Alex wants to know how he can guide you to the best offerings in Merida, whatever you're interested in. We miss Julamis already! Volveramos....

Room Tip: A dipping tub on the roofdeck welcomes - don't need a big ole swimming pool up there.... We esp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieLeavitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Hotel Julamis has pretty nice rooms and is in a pretty good (not great) location, not in the absolute heart of the best part of the colonial zone but within a 5-minute walk. Tripadvisor correctly has it listed as a hotel rather than a B&B, as it definitely has the feel and layout of a small hotel in addition to having a very good breakfast served by Chef Alex.

Chef Alex, the current owner, is a big man with a bigger personality, a Russian chef who formerly traveled with the circus. He is quite amusing initially, but if you stay long and know Mexico, he can become quite overbearing and ultimately be a detriment to your stay. For example, he has extremely strong opinions about the various restaurants in Merida and does not hesitate to talk extremely negatively about those that are not his favorites. Hundreds of people may have made that restaurant the top rated one on Tripadvisor, but Chef Alex thinks they all are tasteless. Similarly, he disparages any other number of destinations that are not his beloved Merida, making the uninitiated think they are unlikely to make it out alive if they go to, say, Cancun. If you are not a seasoned traveler or not used to dealing with people like this, you may think you were lucky to find such guidance. If you know better, it greatly dampens what would be a nice stay. I'd have had a better experience if I'd just ignored the bloke and minimized interaction from the start.

A couple of people have mentioned the apartment next door, and I can confirm that it is a vast step down in quality. My friends stay there for their last night, and it was not well maintained and was dirty. For this, they had the honor of paying extra.

I would not return to Hotel Julamis, as I tend to prefer a more homey, B&B experience in places like Merida. If you prefer small hotels, then you may enjoy the facility, but I'd recommend waiting until the next change in ownership. It's important to note that many of the reviews here are from when the hotel had different ownership, which can render them invalid with small hotels or B&Bs.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TheContinentHoppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Alex has created the ideal environment to base your travels in Merida and the Yucatan. The hospitality, communication, tips and assistance that Alex provides before and during your stay is invaluable. The breakfasts are amazing, I can't recommend highly enough. Thank you Alex

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LisaABeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
99 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Julamis is a wonderful place to stay. Alex is a fantastic host, makes the best breakfast in town and unwinding on the roof terrace at the end of the day is a perfect way to unwind. If I'm ever in Merida again, this would be the only place I would want to stay. Five stars all the way.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BrettMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.2 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 103 in Merida
997 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 103 in Merida
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#7 of 103 in Merida
449 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#13 of 103 in Merida
507 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julamis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julamis

Property: Hotel Julamis
Address: Calle 53 #475B x Calle 54, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Merida
#1 Romantic Hotel in Merida
#10 Business Hotel in Merida
#21 Family Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Julamis is an urban affordable retreat located within Merida’s Historic District where its personalized service will meet up your expectations and guide your daring explorations throughout Yucatan’s Mayan world, ecological reserves and tranquil beaches. The hotel is composed of two floors accommodating one master suite and 6 standard guest rooms, each with private bathrooms, A/C and mini bars. There is a central courtyard with a lush garden where a complementary… ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Julamis Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing