We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Merida”
Review of Hotel Julamis

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Merida
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Julamis
Ranked #5 of 106 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Julamis is a wonderful place to stay. Alex is a fantastic host, makes the best breakfast in town and unwinding on the roof terrace at the end of the day is a perfect way to unwind. If I'm ever in Merida again, this would be the only place I would want to stay. Five stars all the way.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank BrettMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (707)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Julamis
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 707 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014

We spent 3 nights at Julamis and really enjoyed our visit. Alex is a real character. He went out of his way to ensure that we enjoyed our stay. The breakfasts are fantastic!! We stayed in the Kabah Room. The room is large and airy but the small A/C battled to keep it cool. Overall this place is a gem!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anewdayanewplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

This charming Hotel and our experience here were both outstanding! Our compliments to the owner and our new friend Alex Rudin, who would do any and everything to make sure you are happy and "on vacation". We stayed in the"El Ramon" room which was very comfortable, I would have preferred a king sized bed but we booked late and I felt fortunate to have a spot at the Inn during the Easter Holiday season. Alex was our tour guide, host, and our restaurant expert during our first stay in Merida. He was a delight to chat with up on the rooftop where my husband and I sat each evening and read & sipped wine for hours enjoying the Mexico breezes. But, Alex's specialty is in the kitchen...oh I can still taste those breakfasts! The handmade croissants, handmade cinnamon rolls, fresh fruit with yogurt, and egg dishes with healthy vegetables. Of course coffee, teas, and fresh juice. All this is why we can't wait to return to Hotel Julamis! Thank you, Alex!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill123439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

As noted in so many other reviews, what makes the Hotel Julamis so special is it's owner: Alex Rudin. The hotel is lovely and the breakfasts in the courtyard were perfect - but what my wife and I appreciated most of all was Alex's effort to insure that we would have a wonderful vacation in Merida. He is truly an ambassador of goodwill and seems hell bent on making sure his guests are accommodated in every way. Alex even offered us a ride to the Museo Mundo Maya since he was going that way (no doubt to procure some hard to find ingredient for a breakfast dish planned for the next day!). We stayed in the Corazon suite which had it's own private patio. The room was simple but spacious and clean; the bed comfortable. I imagine that there are more luxurious spaces in Merida but I can't imagine finding a more suitable place for people like us. We loved our experience at the Hotel Julamis!!!

Room Tip: Ask for the Corazon suite with the private patio!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madwhip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Hotel Julamis was my first experience at a bed and breakfast, and I have to say, my taste has been change forever. I loved it! The breakfasts were divine and shots of tequila were served under the starts nightly. Hotel Julamis is quaint and intimate, with a flair for romance. Alex, the owner, is exceptional, personable, and accommodating. I consider Alex to be a friend after my 8 days stayed at the Hotel Julamis. I'm looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Hotel Julamis is owned by Alex Rudin, an internationally renowned chef! He will make you the most fabulous breakfast that you have ever eaten! The hotel is a hidden gem! Alex makes sure all of his guests have a first class experience. I can't wait to go there again!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I don't think there is anything more that I could add to what has already been said about Hotel Julamis other than to tell you that I have enjoyed my visits there so much that I've been back more than once. I say "visit" because you're not just staying there, Alex makes you feel as he's known you for years and that you are there to visit him.

I was travelling with a friend who usually stayed elsewhere when in Merida but since I was the one making our reservation...Hotel Julamis was where we were visiting for 3 nights in January before making our way to Sisal, where we would be living the next 2 months for me and 3 months for my friend.

Since my previous visit in 2012, there had been an ownership change so of course I wondered if my visit in January would be as enjoyable...let me assure you, it was even better! Alex is a wonderful host who goes out of his way to make sure you are taken care of. Each morning you will be amazed at the wonderful creations that Alex has prepared, a perfect way to start the day!

The day we were leaving, Alex even offered to drive us to Sisal if our pre-arranged transportation didn't show up...how many people would do that!?!?

I could go on and on but really all you need to know is that you won't have to worry about a thing once you decide to go visit Hotel Julamis, Alex will take care of everything!

Almost forgot to tell you that during my 2 months in Sisal, I had to come back into Merida just so that I could visit Hotel Julamis again!

Thanks again Alex, I'll be back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doodle1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.2 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#2 of 106 in Merida
1,003 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#3 of 106 in Merida
442 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
0.2 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#8 of 106 in Merida
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julamis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julamis

Address: Calle 53 #475B x Calle 54, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Merida
#1 Best Value Hotel in Merida
#10 Business Hotel in Merida
#21 Family Hotel in Merida
Price Range: $39 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Julamis is an urban affordable retreat located within Merida’s Historic District where its personalized service will meet up your expectations and guide your daring explorations throughout Yucatan’s Mayan world, ecological reserves and tranquil beaches. The hotel is composed of two floors accommodating one master suite and 6 standard guest rooms, each with private bathrooms, A/C and mini bars. There is a central courtyard with a lush garden where a complementary… ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Julamis Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing