We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Want To Stay Here”
Review of Hotel Julamis

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Merida
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Julamis
Ranked #4 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“You Want To Stay Here”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

If looking for a place to stay in Mérida stay here. if not for Chef Alex, the rooftop view, the Flycatchers at dawn. perhaps for being in solitude with all at a moment's call.
no worries wrt sleep. 1. tempurpedic at home is as compfortable as our room 2.Julamis is blessedly off the beaten track(no noise) ~~a close few minutes by foot put you in a quiet place.~~ we enjoyed watching the family celebrations at the restaurant below from the rooftop yet we were enclosed, no noise inside Jalmais.
not sure what to say about Chef Alex, in a short phrase "if there's ever an inn then it's Jalamis. if anyone's meant to be an innkeeper it's Chef Alex."
you'll want to go to the market...the flamingos...and don't miss Mérida on Saturday ....Sunday is spectacular [open air music in all the squares, the chocolate shop, the park chairs my wife and I could sit, truly wrapped around each other in conversation. the bicycles are free along the shut-off city streets. or stroll.] IT IS EXCELLENT.

oh, one thing. the food, breakfast is provided. take half of it with you for lunch. we shied at asking but we were afraid not to consume it all. no reasonable person can consume this; no reasonable person will leave this. You Will Remember this excellent place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Breccia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    59
    4
    3
    9
See reviews for
51
447
65
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Our first stop in Mexico, and Alex has made our trip perfect. Small, cozy hotel, with clean room, I had my first good night sleep after 2 days of travelling from Asia.

Not to mention Alex is wonderful, he share where to find good food, navigate us to shop around for the best ice-cream in town.

Last but most importantly, Alex made awesome breakfast that you will never forget. I had cold sore in my throat, but the crossiants are had to resist that I have to always "beg" for extras. Thank you Alex for making the stay so perfect that traveling to other places in Mexico still make me think of your breakfast that you have made.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geektravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This is not the typical hotel, with many rooms, that you are just any guest. This hotel is different to every single hotel I ever stayed, with outstanding service and amazing breakfasts, so if you are looking for a typical hotel with buffet, many guests, this is not the place for you. This hotel offers you the most important for any traveler, service and attention from the owner how is the one in charge of everything , Alex (Sasha) who has this special humor and will always recommend what is best to visit around Mérida and Yucatán, he will tell you where to shop and you can have wonderful and interesting conversations with him. The hotel is completely clean, the rooms have everything you need for a good rest, no TV at the rooms, there is one at the lobby, but who wants a TV when you have Yucatan to discover? Only a few rooms, not crowded, with delightful and beautiful (yes beautiful) breakfast made by its Chef and owner Sasha, who is always available for any inquiry you may have. The hotel is just five blocks away from the main plaza, and a couple to Paseo de Montejo, everything is walking distance. On the rooftop there is a jacuzzi where you can enjoy a drink at the sunset.
Need a place a great place to stay to just rest after walking all over Merida? Stay at Julamis, you will not regret it. It is price quality totally value!!!! Thank you for everything Sasha, we had an amazing trip and thank you for all your recommendations.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarthaVas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Wow, what a terrific place to stay! Our room "Corazon" was comfortable and nicely done with a roomy patio outside. The gourmet breakfast that host/owner Alex served in the courtyard each morning was wonderful adventure. Kay still is talking about the homemade croissants. Thank you Alex for making us feel welcome at Hotel Julamis and in Merida.

Tom and Kay McConnell
Glenwood Springs, CO

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Our stay was truly memorable, only in the best of ways. This was our first time visiting Hotel Julamis and Merida. My husband and I wanted to celebrate our first anniversary in Merida. From the first day of our stay, till the very last, the owner of Hotel Julamis (Alex), made us feel very at home and welcome. From champagne and strawberries for our anniversary, to gourmet breakfast freshly cooked every morning. Alex pulled out all of the stops. We went on a few excursions while we were there that were all arranged by Alex. The tours we went on were the Cenote/Hacienda tour, and the Uxmal Ruin tour. We also visited Progresso, and extensively toured the city. He is a wealth of knowledge about Merida, and when you leave Hotel Julamis you feel like not only did you have a great experience, but you made a friend as well.
The hotel is a boutique hotel in the city of Merida. Each room unique to the place, together creating a wonderful stay for us. Architecturally impressive as well.The court yard in the center of the hotel is a delightful gathering place, and is where breakfast is served every morning. There is no typical continental breakfast here! Everything is made from scratch, and everything is done perfectly. At the end of the evening, the rooftop deck was a wonderful place to mingle with other guests, try some different tequilas, and take in the beauty of the city. Did I mention there is also a Jacuzzi? Yes, there is indeed.
One week is simply not enough time to spend in the city of Merida. Merida is a city rich with history and a welcoming warmth that will embrace you during your stay. We truly enjoyed every moment of our visit, and cannot wait to return! Visit Merida, take it all in, and say hello to Alex for us!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahcs09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

If you are looking for a hidden gem in Merida, then this is the place for you! Walking distance from the town centre & paseo de montejo, this beautiful colonial home oozes class all round. Alex was an amazing host & character - from sharing his stories & local suggestions, rooftop oasis (incl spa with city views, great for sunset!) & even his tequila & hat collection we felt right at home. Breakfast was gourmet, surrounds were majestic & little touches splendid. I was sick & he made me hot tea with incredible local honey & we had to leave early morning, and Alex prepared a goodie bag for our travels. Looking forward to visiting next time were in Merida!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Musoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Alex was a wonderful, thorough host. He started off by giving me maps, (homemade) of the city, and another great one that was very thorough. He listed anything/everything that you could want on it! The breakfast, yes, gourmet, and always entertaining with his banter and jokes. It's amazing that he runs the place himself. Yes, he has a fascinating life history, and his quite humble about his hand that touches most of the Yucatan/Quintana Roo tourist industry! It's quite amazing that he even has time to run the hotel.

The room and bed were super comfortable and ultra clean. I felt so comfortable there, and would love to lay on the rooftop and read and just daydream. It was in the perfect locale, a quiet street, but still easy walking distance to everything you need.

He went out of his way to book things for me and bargain as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.2 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 103 in Merida
1,000 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 103 in Merida
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#8 of 103 in Merida
456 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julamis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julamis

Property: Hotel Julamis
Address: Calle 53 #475B x Calle 54, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Merida
#1 Best Value Hotel in Merida
#10 Business Hotel in Merida
#21 Family Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Julamis is an urban affordable retreat located within Merida’s Historic District where its personalized service will meet up your expectations and guide your daring explorations throughout Yucatan’s Mayan world, ecological reserves and tranquil beaches. The hotel is composed of two floors accommodating one master suite and 6 standard guest rooms, each with private bathrooms, A/C and mini bars. There is a central courtyard with a lush garden where a complementary… ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Julamis Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing