We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Hotel Julamis

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Merida
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Julamis
Ranked #4 of 105 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This is not the typical hotel, with many rooms, that you are just any guest. This hotel is different to every single hotel I ever stayed, with outstanding service and amazing breakfasts, so if you are looking for a typical hotel with buffet, many guests, this is not the place for you. This hotel offers you the most important for any traveler, service and attention from the owner how is the one in charge of everything , Alex (Sasha) who has this special humor and will always recommend what is best to visit around Mérida and Yucatán, he will tell you where to shop and you can have wonderful and interesting conversations with him. The hotel is completely clean, the rooms have everything you need for a good rest, no TV at the rooms, there is one at the lobby, but who wants a TV when you have Yucatan to discover? Only a few rooms, not crowded, with delightful and beautiful (yes beautiful) breakfast made by its Chef and owner Sasha, who is always available for any inquiry you may have. The hotel is just five blocks away from the main plaza, and a couple to Paseo de Montejo, everything is walking distance. On the rooftop there is a jacuzzi where you can enjoy a drink at the sunset.
Need a place a great place to stay to just rest after walking all over Merida? Stay at Julamis, you will not regret it. It is price quality totally value!!!! Thank you for everything Sasha, we had an amazing trip and thank you for all your recommendations.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarthaVas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (717)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 717 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2013

Wow, what a terrific place to stay! Our room "Corazon" was comfortable and nicely done with a roomy patio outside. The gourmet breakfast that host/owner Alex served in the courtyard each morning was wonderful adventure. Kay still is talking about the homemade croissants. Thank you Alex for making us feel welcome at Hotel Julamis and in Merida.

Tom and Kay McConnell
Glenwood Springs, CO

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Our stay was truly memorable, only in the best of ways. This was our first time visiting Hotel Julamis and Merida. My husband and I wanted to celebrate our first anniversary in Merida. From the first day of our stay, till the very last, the owner of Hotel Julamis (Alex), made us feel very at home and welcome. From champagne and strawberries for our anniversary, to gourmet breakfast freshly cooked every morning. Alex pulled out all of the stops. We went on a few excursions while we were there that were all arranged by Alex. The tours we went on were the Cenote/Hacienda tour, and the Uxmal Ruin tour. We also visited Progresso, and extensively toured the city. He is a wealth of knowledge about Merida, and when you leave Hotel Julamis you feel like not only did you have a great experience, but you made a friend as well.
The hotel is a boutique hotel in the city of Merida. Each room unique to the place, together creating a wonderful stay for us. Architecturally impressive as well.The court yard in the center of the hotel is a delightful gathering place, and is where breakfast is served every morning. There is no typical continental breakfast here! Everything is made from scratch, and everything is done perfectly. At the end of the evening, the rooftop deck was a wonderful place to mingle with other guests, try some different tequilas, and take in the beauty of the city. Did I mention there is also a Jacuzzi? Yes, there is indeed.
One week is simply not enough time to spend in the city of Merida. Merida is a city rich with history and a welcoming warmth that will embrace you during your stay. We truly enjoyed every moment of our visit, and cannot wait to return! Visit Merida, take it all in, and say hello to Alex for us!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahcs09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

If you are looking for a hidden gem in Merida, then this is the place for you! Walking distance from the town centre & paseo de montejo, this beautiful colonial home oozes class all round. Alex was an amazing host & character - from sharing his stories & local suggestions, rooftop oasis (incl spa with city views, great for sunset!) & even his tequila & hat collection we felt right at home. Breakfast was gourmet, surrounds were majestic & little touches splendid. I was sick & he made me hot tea with incredible local honey & we had to leave early morning, and Alex prepared a goodie bag for our travels. Looking forward to visiting next time were in Merida!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Musoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Alex was a wonderful, thorough host. He started off by giving me maps, (homemade) of the city, and another great one that was very thorough. He listed anything/everything that you could want on it! The breakfast, yes, gourmet, and always entertaining with his banter and jokes. It's amazing that he runs the place himself. Yes, he has a fascinating life history, and his quite humble about his hand that touches most of the Yucatan/Quintana Roo tourist industry! It's quite amazing that he even has time to run the hotel.

The room and bed were super comfortable and ultra clean. I felt so comfortable there, and would love to lay on the rooftop and read and just daydream. It was in the perfect locale, a quiet street, but still easy walking distance to everything you need.

He went out of his way to book things for me and bargain as well.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

OK, you can check into one of those big box places and you won't know whether you are in Merida or Minneapolis. Instead, stay at Hotel Julamis. It's in the wonderful historic area of Merida. It has such a great sense of the city. Our room (Corazon) was spotless and the terrace a bonus.

Alex Rudin is a most gracious and competent host, so helpful and thoughtful. I'm sure our experience was better by far because we were wise enough to listen to his advice. And eat his fabulous breakfasts! Yumm.

BTW, just one tiny cautionary note, if you're sensitive to insect bites, do remember to bring along some spray. It's the tropics, people, the insects rule!

When we return to Merida you can take it to the bank that we'll be staying at Hotel Julamis.

Room Tip: Loved Corazon, but I'm sure the others were equally nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cachevalley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This hotel was a highlight in a vacation full of highlights. Can only agree with the other 5 star reviews. Alex Rudin is funny, entertaining, fabulous chef, and the most congenial of hosts. The hotel was lovely, rooms pleasant, comfortable, and very quiet. The breakfasts in the central courtyard spoiled us for all other hotel experiences. Fresh croissants, home made jams, etc.
We split our trip so that we stayed 2 nights, toured out from Merida, and then returned for 5 more nights. Stayed in 2 different rooms because of that...Room Tekit and Room Corazon. Our friends stayed in The Colonial Suite. Be sure to check out the rooms on the hotel web site...they are each lovely and offer different features. We would go back to Merida in a heart beat, but ONLY if we can stay in Alex's lovely hotel.

Room Tip: We especially liked Room Corazon with its large private patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara2129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.2 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#2 of 105 in Merida
1,024 reviews
0.9 mi away
Merida Santiago hotel boutique
1.1 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
0.5 mi away
Koox Casa de las Palomas Boutique Hotel
1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julamis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julamis

Address: Calle 53 #475B x Calle 54, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Merida
#1 Romantic Hotel in Merida
#10 Business Hotel in Merida
Price Range: $39 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Julamis is an urban affordable retreat located within Merida’s Historic District where its personalized service will meet up your expectations and guide your daring explorations throughout Yucatan’s Mayan world, ecological reserves and tranquil beaches. The hotel is composed of two floors accommodating one master suite and 6 standard guest rooms, each with private bathrooms, A/C and mini bars. There is a central courtyard with a lush garden where a complementary… ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Julamis Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing