We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with awesome owners”
Review of Hotel Julamis

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Merida
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Julamis
Ranked #4 of 105 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for four nights. The hotel is attractive, clean and comfortable, in a good location and with great breakfasts, and all really well priced – all that gives it a 4, with an extra star for the awesome owners and the enormous amount of help they gave us to make our time in Merida great.

We stayed in two different rooms, Kabah and Ixil, both a great size, with lots of storage, good a/c (less good in Kabah), fridges (stocked daily with beers and soft drinks), clean bathrooms with fine showers, and lovely hand-painted murals. I preferred Ixil for its lovely firm beds, convenient seating area (two armchairs and a small table) and strong a/c; my husband preferred Kabah for its beautiful mural and bright outlook. Breakfast was excellent – very good fruit salad, scrambled eggs cooked to order with chaya and optional chilli, fresh bread or croissant, butter and jam, juice and great coffee. The hotel’s location is very good, too – just far out enough that the traffic lessens at night so you can sleep (and it’s off the route of the processions when there are festivals, which are very noisy), but close enough to be within walking distance of both the southern entrance to the Paseo Montejo (5mins) and the town centre (10-15mins).

But where Julamis really shines is in the owners. They know the best way to see every sight you might want to – by tour, taxi, bus, hire car or collectivo – and will find out timetables and prices and make bookings for you. We chose to go to both Mayapan and Dzibilchaltun by taxi, arranged by owner Mel – this was great in terms of both cost and flexibility, plus we had both sites to ourselves. Mel also knows lots of other invaluable bits and pieces, like the best spot for a cocktail, how to book the Puuc route bus (and the fact that it’s still running!), and that the tiny museum at Dzibilchaltun is better for Mayan artefacts than the massive new Mundo Maya museum, and much cheaper. My advice would be to book your room and arrange tours, transport and everything else through Mel by email or in person after you arrive – we had a good holiday, but we would have had a much better one if we’d done that!

Room Tip: For firm beds, and strong a/c, we liked Ixil. For a brighter room and slightly softer double bed, Ka...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LondonAlicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (717)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 717 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

We couldn't have been more pleased with our stay here, the moment we walked in we felt at home. The warm welcome from Mel, our wonderfully spacious and quiet accommodations. The tasty breakfasts in the open courtyard, surrounded by beautiful foliage and the sound of bubbling water were a great way to start the day. The roof top evening tequila bar was a relaxing get away, to sit and ponder the night sky.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monica m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel, located close to all the best features of Merida, is run by Mel, Erid, 2 delightful dogs and a cat. Clean, friendly, good food, great advice respecting the attractions of Merida and how to get there, The prices are more than fair and the hosts go out of their way to welcome guests and make them feel at home. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barnaclebob154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

It hardly seems necessary posting a review when everything has already been said by other reviewers. To find a place where nothing is too much trouble was a treat. Thank you Tripadvisor.

Best hotel, best value, best host.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank galtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Two weeks ago, my friends and I finally arrived at Hotel Julamis after a long drive and Mel couldn't have been more welcoming! He was warm and friendly even though it was midnight when we arrived. The hotel is warm and inviting and as many reviews have already stated...the rooms are clean and the fridge well stocked...breakfasts are filling but mostly I have to say that it's Mel that makes the hotel such a wonderful place to stay at. His knowledge of Merida and his suggestions of where to go and what to do...including his favorite little restaurant that was absolutely delicious...are what make it special. And when were off to our next destination and found out we had a flat tire...it was Mel that patiently and persistently helped us get another car from the rental company who wasn't being too helpful! He made an unfortunate situation a little easier to deal with...I can't wait to go back to Merida..and maybe buy a property there one day...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victory333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I first visited Merida in November 2012, and loved it so much that I bought a retirement house here. Hotel Julamis was just as good this time as last. The consistency is admirable, from the wonderful hospitality of Mel and Erid, to the cleanliness of the rooms and the delicious breakfast prepared to order while you sit on the central courtyard under the bougainvillea blossoms. Whatever you need, from directions to the nearest ruins or where to get the best prices on appliances, Mel has the answer. Both hosts are gracious and accommodating to the extreme. We needed to spend our last few nights at another hotel because Hotel Julamis was fully booked. My friend was worried that the coffee would not be as good as Mel's and she was told, don't worry, we open the doors at 7am, come back and have coffee with us any time. Hotel Julamis' roof top deck is fabulous for daytime sun, reading in a shady corner or for drinking the free tequila in the evening whilst enjoying the cool breeze. No swimming pool, but a rooftop jacuzzi is available if you need to dip. I'm almost sad that I won't need to stay there again, because I have my own house down the street. Stay here, you'll be glad you did, because you will feel like returning family.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank audain49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

It's been said before, this place is the best!
We have just returned from Merida, our third time around and our second time at the Julamis, a tiny inn with a big heart. Everything looks nicer from our previous visit 4 years ago, the stonework throughout in hallways and stairs looks amazing. The rooftop is a nice bonus with spectacular vistas. The owners keep on adding more amenities and little touches that make you feel appreciated, and the complimentary breakfast keeps on getting better.
This little B&B style hotel is a no-brainer, a good value for money, and an excellent service. We highly recommend it. Gracias chicos!

Room Tip: Room tikit is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tralunya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.2 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#2 of 105 in Merida
1,025 reviews
0.9 mi away
Merida Santiago hotel boutique
1.1 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
0.5 mi away
Koox Casa de las Palomas Boutique Hotel
1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julamis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julamis

Address: Calle 53 #475B x Calle 54, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Merida
#1 Romantic Hotel in Merida
#10 Business Hotel in Merida
Price Range: $39 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Julamis is an urban affordable retreat located within Merida’s Historic District where its personalized service will meet up your expectations and guide your daring explorations throughout Yucatan’s Mayan world, ecological reserves and tranquil beaches. The hotel is composed of two floors accommodating one master suite and 6 standard guest rooms, each with private bathrooms, A/C and mini bars. There is a central courtyard with a lush garden where a complementary… ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Julamis Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing