We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further, stay here!”
Review of Hotel Julamis

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Merida
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Julamis
Ranked #4 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Look no further, stay here!”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We have just left Hotel Julamis after an excellent 4 night stay. The rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean, bathrooms are immaculate and look brand new. Beds are very comfortable, with top quality mattress and pillows... Needless to say we slept really well throughout our stay. Breakfast was great, bowl of fresh fruits, fruit juice, great coffee, scrambled eggs with homemade bread.

The best part about hotel Julamis is the excellent service provided by the owners... We wanted to do a trip to Uxmal and stop off at the smaller temples and end at the caves. Mel couldn't have been more helpful. When we decided to hire a car, he called the car hire place, gave us maps and marked the best routes. When the car hire guy arrived in the morning, Mel was on standby to make sure everything went smoothly, and off we went!

He also gave great recommendations to eat out and the best places to visit. Wifi facility in the rooms was good and the nice touch of including drinks in the fridge free of charge was an added bonus. 2 beers, 2 pepsi, 2 lemonades, 2 waters re stocked daily.

Whilst we don't write many reviews here I can honestly say the service at Hotel Julamis was so exceptional I had to write a review. Book it, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Intrepid_dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    59
    4
    3
    9
See reviews for
51
446
65
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sumter, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Best vacation we have had in years. Mel and Erid were the consummate hosts, from the welcoming tequila sunrise to the assistance with all our travel, dining, and shopping needs. When my wife became ill Mel insisted on taking us to the hospital in his car and acting as our interpreter. We would have been lost without him. They have the perfect blend of costumer service and value for money. They could not do enough to help us while allowing us to experience Merida on our own terms. We plan to visit again soon. I would highly recommend a stay at Hotel Julamis.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joycelsoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

The good: Helpful host, free breakfast (but the same every day), nice decor, convenient to Calle Montejo and the Centro
The so-so: Can't flush toilet paper down the toilet (really not that bad though), busy street, not easy to find on your first night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gibbowolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, WA
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We first discovered Hotel Julamis on TripAdvisor and made a reservation from the reviews. A week later, we read a travel article in the Seattle Times about Merida, and the writer, who I exchange travel stories with via periodic emails, put Julamis at the top of her recommended lodgings. I started communication with the hotel owners, and Diosmel ("Mel") became our advisor on transportation, restaurants, and security of our rental car while parked downtown. By the time we arrived in Merida weeks later, we drove right to the hotel, parked in Mel's "reserved" on-street parking stall at the entrance to the hotel, and were greeted by Mel and ushered to our 2nd-floor room. Everything was as advertised on the web site, and our room - El Corazon - was large, comfortable and modern. Unlike the bath in the 4-5 star Cancun resort we had just left, even the shower worked as it should. The A/C was very effective, which is critical for Merida where the average daily high is 92, and the mini-refer was stocked with some complementary icey beverages to salve the four-hour drive from Cancun and early-PM heat. We stayed two nights, but other distractions in the evening and heat during the day kept us from enjoying the huge, private roof terrace that comes with El Corazon.

We were amazed at the breakfast that greeted us in the small courtyard the next morning. Fresh-squeezed juice, good, strong coffee, a large bowl of fresh fruits, and, fully unexpected, a large plate of egg scramble and excellent bread. It was almost too much to finish.

When we were ready to strike out on the streets for a lunch, Mel gave us advice for a lunch cafe less than 10 minutes away at the end of Paseo de Montejo and recommendations for two restaurants in the Centro that we could also walk to our two evenings in Merida. He also got us on the direct route to the highway to Uxmal the next morning and offered advice about the local housing market and real estate claims. We couldn't have had a better travel resource to accompany our great accommodations.

The hotel is so well located that you can walk easily (well, except for the heat at mid-day) to the central plaza, the public market and the Paseo. You won't really need a car unless you're planning on trips outside the central area, and even then, you can find local transport and guides.

Although this is a boutique hotel and lacks a pool, it does have a large roof terrace accessible to all units. There is a covered bar area, fixed lounge sitting, a hot tub (!?!) and chaise recliners for basking in nature's oven. It's all quite nice after the sun sets.

Hotel Julamis is a bargain, but don't let the price fool you. The facilities are modern, well-managed, and operated by helpful, friendly owners who you will learn to rely on during your stay. You really can't do better in Merida.

Room Tip: El Corazon is large and quiet, and the bath is modern. The large, private roof terrace is an added...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spyder3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012 via mobile

Really nice place! The suite Colonial is beautiful!! The jakuzi on the roof is amazing!! Really good vacation!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derouard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Hotel Julamis is nothing short of exceptional. In short, this is a world-class example of what a small independently owned hotel should be and is fantastic value for money.

The hotel has been beautifully decorated with a perfect balance between respect for the Mexican colonial character of the building and modern hotel comforts which make for a great stay.

We were really impressed with the value for money of our room/stay. We had a comfy king size bed, air conditioning and spacious bathroom. It had a private terrace and included a mini bar which was stocked daily with beers, water and soft drinks – all included.

The roof top terrace: it’s as amazing as it looks on the website. Infact, the whole property is just as it looks online – it really is that good.

A daily breakfast was included which was substantial and tasty. Fresh fruit juice, fruit, coffee and eggs was included and made a great start to the day.

Mel and his business partner speak English fluently and were very helpful in organising reservations/activities and offering advice for sightseeing and onward travel from Merida. They couldn’t have done more to be helpful!

The location is perfect in my opinion. It is far enough out of the centre to be away from the touristy tat and busy streets which can be pretty noisy – you will be assured of a good night’s sleep here. It's only a few blocks walk – maybe 10-15 minutes from the centre – well placed for easy walking to the zocolo and south and attractions north of the centre such as Montejo’s Palace. It’s a prefect base to explore Merida.

We would definitely stay again next time we’re in Merida and have recommended to relatives travelling to Mexico later in the year.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Omeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Julamis this past January and loved everything about it! We've been to the lovely City of Merida several times, but found this jewel on Trip Advisor just this last year. I have never been inspired to leave a hotel review until now. The price is amazingly low at about $65 a night and the service from all the staff is excellent. You feel like you are staying with good friends or family that are incredibly helpful but never intrusive. The free breakfast is wonderful, unlike most, and the coffee is very good.

The hotel has been thoughtfully renovated by the owners, Mel and Erid, and the photos on their website don't mislead. You really feel like you are in a beautiful Mexican colonial city. One of the best things about the hotel, apart from the owners and staff, is the roof top terrace. It's like a little oasis in the bustling City of Merida. We spent several late afternoons/evenings soaking in the sunset. We highly recommend this little hotel to anyone who wants to feel relaxed and well cared for.

Did I mention the mini fridge is stock with 2 complimentary beer and two bottles of water every day!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Room Kabah with a beautiful mural, very comfortable king size bed, great shower, mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AGRSaskatchewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.2 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 103 in Merida
998 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 103 in Merida
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#7 of 103 in Merida
453 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#15 of 103 in Merida
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julamis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julamis

Property: Hotel Julamis
Address: Calle 53 #475B x Calle 54, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Merida
#1 Romantic Hotel in Merida
#10 Business Hotel in Merida
#21 Family Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Julamis is an urban affordable retreat located within Merida’s Historic District where its personalized service will meet up your expectations and guide your daring explorations throughout Yucatan’s Mayan world, ecological reserves and tranquil beaches. The hotel is composed of two floors accommodating one master suite and 6 standard guest rooms, each with private bathrooms, A/C and mini bars. There is a central courtyard with a lush garden where a complementary… ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Julamis Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing