We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place to stay in Merida !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Julamis

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Merida
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Julamis
Ranked #4 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Campeche, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The place to stay in Merida !”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

perfectly situated just a few blocks away from Merida main square, this lovely little boutique hotel is an ideal place to stay and within walking distance of all the downtown sights. Far enough away from the hustle and bustle to sleep soundly and enjoy a superb breakfast of fresh fruit and eggs. Mel and Erid have created a professional, smart boutique hotel with a helpful, relaxed atmosphere .........at very affordable prices. We'll certainly be back to stay soon.

Room Tip: for a romantic stay with private balcony...ask for Corazon.....perfect !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    59
    4
    3
    9
See reviews for
51
443
65
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Union City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed here in late Dec for four nights, and have to say it was the best hotel, or the only one worth recommending in our entire trip to the Yucatan.
Our big room had a large living area, a well-appointed bathroom and a big firmed mattress.
To top it all off, room came with a mini fridge daily stocked with complementary beers and refreshments at no extra cost. What a nice touch, clearly you don't find this at 5 star hotels.
The two owners running this petit hotel do a great job and provide a heck of a personal service. They served a lavish dinner for guests on New Year´s Eve at no extra cost. They truly deserve their hard earned reputation.

We highly recommend it as a base to explore Yucatan less traveled Mayan sites.

Room Tip: They are all beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean B&B, very conveniently located a few blocks from the main square in Merida. Breakfast of fresh fruit and eggs is served by Mel the owner/manger in a cool leafy central courtyard. All the hotel comforts you would expect - ensuite, A/C, big beds, but in a small boutique place. Mel speaks very good English and helped us with taxs and impartial recommendations (we wouldn't have found the Chaia Maya restaurant otherwise), he even rustled up a pot of tea in the afternoon! Merida is a lovely city but after a morning's sightseeing we found ourselves hot, dusty and tired - siestas at Hotel Julamis were exactly what we needed to recover. Good value too.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank getmeoutofthedrizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Recently my partner and I decided to spend our honeymoon in Mexico and wanted to really live the authentic experience and not be bombarded by Americanized items and lifestyle. After reading the reviews on this site we settled on Merida and more specifically Hotel Julamis. Before we left I contacted Mel, one of the owners and asked him many questions about Merida, Mexico and the hotel. Not only was he wonderfully kind and honest in his answers, but he was also a very welcoming person who encouraged conversations. I quickly grew to love him over email.

When we arrived they waited up for us to welcome us with open arms, give us a tour and take us to our room. Mel and Erid made us feel so wonderful. The hotel is amazing, I can't even begin to describe the beauty and authenticity of this wonderful place. They have both done a great job making it theirs. We spent the following days getting to know them both and learning all about Merida and Mexico. They guided us on where we should visit and places we should avoid due to commercialization.

When we returned we asked each other the best part of the trip and both of us said "getting to know Mel and Erid" They love animals, have a great dog and cat.

I highly recommend anyone interested in learning more about Mexico visit Merida, and when there stay at Hotel Julamis.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful and beautiful, we stayed in the Colonial room, top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DawnDelCastillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Mel & Erid have setup a nice boutique hotel with a great location near Centro Merida - walk to restaurants etc but far enough that the traffic doesn't bother! Mel speaks English fluently and can help with directions, roads, restaurants, ATM machines and anything else you can think of. Erid even helped us with police (minor mishap)! We stayed at the Colonial Suite - quite large. Breakfast is in a cute little setting and the rooftop is a bit of a surprise (especially at night).

Room Tip: For a larger room, COlonial Suite works with a living room and a bed room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2011

What a find was the Hotel Julamis in Merida. After a few days in Cancun, the peace and quite of Merida was a refreshing change and the perfect place to be based to explore the Yucatan. This charming boutique hotel only has 6 rooms, but each has its own name and individual charm. We had the Corozon Room which included a private tce. Two charming guys own and run this establishment, it is spotlessly clean and includes breakfast. From the warm welcome - to the very early morning "on the go" breakfast on our last day, we had a remarkable stay in Merida. The hotel is very centrally located and we had no issues with security, either at the hotel or walking the streets of this beautiful City.

Room Tip: All room had ensuites, the Corozan had a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraaAnneMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights and was a great choice. Staff were extremely helpful, they organised rental cars, taxis etc... would definetely come back.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RHaddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
1.1 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#9 of 103 in Merida
438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#14 of 103 in Merida
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 103 in Merida
431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 103 in Merida
983 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julamis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julamis

Property: Hotel Julamis
Address: Calle 53 #475B x Calle 54, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Merida
#1 Best Value Hotel in Merida
#10 Business Hotel in Merida
#21 Family Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Julamis is an urban affordable retreat located within Merida’s Historic District where its personalized service will meet up your expectations and guide your daring explorations throughout Yucatan’s Mayan world, ecological reserves and tranquil beaches. The hotel is composed of two floors accommodating one master suite and 6 standard guest rooms, each with private bathrooms, A/C and mini bars. There is a central courtyard with a lush garden where a complementary… ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Julamis Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing